Digg this topic Add to my del.icio.us Submit to SlashDot 2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> [project]64-bit XP as source, almost done
smiley
post Sep 9 2006, 12:04 PM
Post #1


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,020
Joined: 11-August 06
Member No.: 149


Greece


I have created a new project that uses xp-64 pro as source .My only problem is that the ramdisk is 32 bit and so incompatible with the 64 bit os.Do you know any 64 bit ramdisk? I will release the projet only if i find one ,because curently explorer needs a read-write media(hard disk or SDI image) and any other shell are 32 -bit
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nuno Brito
post Sep 10 2006, 11:14 AM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,279
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


Good going smiley!! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbup.gif)

SDI suppor *should* be possible to add, and this is likely a good time to do it. Perhaps using the same method from the winrar discussion topic - downloading the package from MS, unpacking it and then placing all the contents of the target onto this SDI file..

There is also the possibility of recompiling Qsoft's free Ramdisk - the author provides the source code and it can be likely recompiled for 64bit, here's the link:
http://home.scarlet.be/~tsd59392/RAMDisk/ramdiskfree.htm

I don't use the compilers in wich the code is provided, so my experience is limited..

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smiley
post Sep 10 2006, 11:40 AM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,020
Joined: 11-August 06
Member No.: 149


Greece


Thanks Nuno! I'll give it a try (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smiley
post Sep 10 2006, 07:52 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,020
Joined: 11-August 06
Member No.: 149


Greece


I don't know how to compile it. Can someone do it? (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif) This is esntial for the project
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
muratkars
post May 29 2007, 09:31 PM
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 8-May 07
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 6,819


United States


QUOTE (smiley @ Sep 10 2006, 07:52 PM) *
I don't know how to compile it. Can someone do it? (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif) This is esntial for the project


Hi Smiley,

I just saw your entry and decided to join this great forum. I'm new on Winbuilder and trying to understand how to use 64bit XP or Server 2003 as source and create a 64-bit Live CD. Which script should I use for it? I will really appreciate your suggestions.

Actually my real question was how to support more than 4GB on WinPE mode. I have tried everthing (/PAE switch and renaming kernel files) and could not find any real solution for 32bit OS to support above 4GB. That is why I decided to try 64-bit version. By the way, if you are still looking someone to compile 64-bit version of ramdisk, i can do it.

Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nuno Brito
post May 30 2007, 08:42 AM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,279
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


I think there are more conditions to update this project.

Sherpya has just compiled a 64bit version of imdisk: http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=2289

Holger also mentions that vmware supports x64 emulation: http://www.boot-land.net/forums/WinBuilder...work-t2126.html

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hooovahh
post May 30 2007, 12:27 PM
Post #7


Member
**

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 21
Joined: 20-July 06
Member No.: 49



QUOTE (Nuno Brito @ May 30 2007, 04:42 AM) *
I think there are more conditions to update this project.

Sherpya has just compiled a 64bit version of imdisk: http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=2289

Holger also mentions that vmware supports x64 emulation: http://www.boot-land.net/forums/WinBuilder...work-t2126.html

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Slightly unrelated to 64-bit XP, but I know that VMWare also supports having more than one virtual processor. So like if my host is a quad core computer, I can have the virtual machine have 1 to 4 cores virtualized.

I don't own a 64-bit computer but hope you make progress in using 64-bit XP as the source good luck to you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
muratkars
post May 30 2007, 06:56 PM
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 8-May 07
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 6,819


United States


QUOTE (hooovahh @ May 30 2007, 12:27 PM) *
Slightly unrelated to 64-bit XP, but I know that VMWare also supports having more than one virtual processor. So like if my host is a quad core computer, I can have the virtual machine have 1 to 4 cores virtualized.

I don't own a 64-bit computer but hope you make progress in using 64-bit XP as the source good luck to you.


Hi everybody,

I'm new in this forum, but i really liked your WB project and it helped me a lot. I just want you to know that I have all kind of hardware (32bit, 64bit newest CPU's and different brand controllers, motherboards, etc.) and I'll be happy to help you to test your projects. Just send me a link for your project and write me the system configuration that you want to test it on. I'll test it and let you know the result. I really want to be part of this project.

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Holger
post May 30 2007, 10:40 PM
Post #9


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 231
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Munich
Member No.: 120


Germany


I think it's not (easy) possible cause I saw on their website that 64bit is only possible to use in the 'Enterprise' version of this Ram driver.
Comment/link form their website:
"A fully free , but unsupported version for the 32-bit OS's ( with source code ) is available at : www.freeramdisk.com"
So, the QSoft-Ramdrv will not help here...
Another 64bit ramdrv I don't know at the moment...don't know if it is possible to use the ramdrv from MS itself...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Holger
post May 31 2007, 12:11 AM
Post #10


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 231
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Munich
Member No.: 120


Germany


I recompiled the Microsoft WinDDK-sample-ramdriver for 64bit.
The changed inf is not really needed.
Just did a small test under XP64 and it works here.
The biggist problem is the ramsize which is limited to 31,999 MB (so 32MB are to much (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif) )
However, maybe you can something do with it - maybe it's enough to start the 64bit env.

Some infos:
the possible parameters are in the screenshot.


More infos here:
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=257405

Greets (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Holger
Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
 

Attached File(s)
Attached File  ramdisk64.zip ( 6.36K ) Number of downloads: 15
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · Projects · Next Newest »
 

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic

Members Who Viewed Topic Today ()

 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th October 2007 - 11:49 AM

MKPortal ©2003-2006 mkportal.it