Digg this topic Add to my del.icio.us Submit to SlashDot 4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> patchman for nuno
sanbarrow
post Jan 6 2007, 01:13 AM
Post #1


Advanced Member
***

Group: Developer
Posts: 154
Joined: 13-October 06
From: Germany - Sauerland
Member No.: 755



Please move to where it fits ...
quoting pm from 911 - Nuno - sanbarrow

See the series of 5 screenshots on my site to understand what this is about
http://sanbarrow.com/




QUOTE
QUOTE
Hi Nuno

I saw that you replied to my moapatchman-post - it's a pity that this post is lost now.
I'd like to hear your comment on that stuff ...
see some screenshots here
http://sanbarrow.com

Regards Ulli


I really liked your works, would you mind posting it also on boot-land.net?

Here's the link:
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/Member-pos...ograms-f18.html

I'm sure more people will take interest in it once they see how it can be used - it's really a nice idea to make things so acessible this way.


I was concerned about support for qemu althought I figure that few people oughta have tried it - but this would be an awesome addon since qemu is very small sized (1Mb) and it's free to be distributed.

Some time ago I've exchanged talks with Fabrice Bellard the author of qemu when I was working on batcher and asked his permission to distribute qemu - he was very interested in helping with testing at the time. If needed I can ask his assistance to help on this task, what do you think?

Keep it up! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)


Hi Nuno

I forgot one thing - I will have to do an automatic patch translation when the offline -windows does not use controlset001 but a different one.
When I implemented that I will show it to you.

I am afraid I did first not understand your talk about quemu - maybe you missinterpretated the bunch of VMware related entries in the screenshot I thought ...
Then I realized that you must have related to the 5 screenshots on my site.
Damn - Nuno (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbup.gif) (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)

- you got it - why not do that stuff with quemu as well ???


Doing things like described in that 5 screens is quite new grounds - I often feel bored cause nobody gets it and pushes me a little bit.

If you want to help in making this easier - maybe even with quemu - hey you are very welcome.

At the moment I want to get the patchman going soon.


Here is what it works like:


The patchman is so to say a frontend for xcopy and regedit.
When you start it - it reads a ini-configured directory for subdirs 0 -99.

Depending on the stuff you put in the subdirs patchman runs thru 2 upto about 12 stages and runs predefined actions.
If your subdir 37 exists - patchman reads a ini you put in that dir to desplay a description.
If you add a files dir to subdir 37 all files in that dir will be xcopied to targetroot.
If you add a expand.cmd into that dir patchman will launch this expand.cmd that can be used to extract files from cabs in targetroot.

If you add a system dir to subdir 37 - patchman will load the system-hive in a copy try to run delreg1-3.cmd and merge addsystem1-3.reg

If you add a software dir to subdir 37 - patchman will load te software hive as a copy, try to run ....

If you add a sam dir - patchman will ...
If you add a security dir - patchman will ...
...

If you add a cmd2run dir - patchman will excute some cmds while all needed hives are still loaded

When patchman has run thru all options it will either copy all edited hives from a scratchdir to targetroot or will abort and clean up

This procedure is in no way VMware-related - so I can't follow your quemu-sorrows.


I think I will start patchman with a small limited patchset like

patch 14: this loads hives and disables automatic reboot after a BSOD
patch 15: this loads hives and sets back the pagefile to systemcontrolled on C:

just examples - maybe you already see the pattern

Nuno - suggestions are welcome

Ulli
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jaclaz
post Jan 6 2007, 11:21 AM
Post #2


Finder
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 1,185
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 2


Italy


Well, well the world is really small! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/rolleyes.gif)

I just came here to PM nuno about sanbarrow's post on the 911CD forum to invite him to Bootland, and here he already is.

Welcome Ulli. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Nice little thingie you have going. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)

jaclaz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nuno Brito
post Jan 6 2007, 01:22 PM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,280
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


Welcome sanbarrow!

After wb053 is completed I will proceed with testings to see if it possible to boot the installed OS using patchman and qEmu.

Good luck with the patchs and thank you for posting! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbsup.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sanbarrow
post Jan 6 2007, 04:23 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Developer
Posts: 154
Joined: 13-October 06
From: Germany - Sauerland
Member No.: 755



Hi Nuno and Jaclaz

I'm not so involved into quemu - can you use REDOlogs similar to VMware ?

That's the thing that makes this so interesting : you can start the local system as a VM but you do not actually change anything on the local disk.
From what I know about quemu this is not possible - though I would like to hear that I am wrong with this assumption.

Anyway - thanks for that friendly welcome (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbsup.gif)

Ulli
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nuno Brito
post Jan 6 2007, 06:50 PM
Post #5


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,280
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


I'm also not sure about qemu using something like a "sandbox", I've found this reference here about bochs speaking about a bxcomit.exe wich is described as "tool for committing redologs to flat disk images":
http://fresh.t-systems-sfr.com/unix/src/mi...k/user/user.dbk

Also stumbled on a blog about P2V (physical to virtual) convert methods here:
http://www.rtfm-ed.co.uk/?cat=4

vmware seems to be the prefered method but I think we can still use qemu through direct disk acess to trace diagnostics and understand why it won't boot - or even try to fix it and see if it will boot.. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)


Reading more on the qemu forums I've found this:
http://qemu-forum.ipi.fi/viewtopic.php?t=2417

Wich led to this patch that allows qemu to use "raw" drives:
http://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/qemu-dev...9/msg00243.html

Later I've noticed that this was already added on qemu and more info can be found on section 3.2 of this manual:
http://www.h7.dion.ne.jp/~qemu-win/HowToFl...ml#realharddisk


Strange enough that I've been googling also for scsi drivers to use on qemu but I get no findings unless when comparing against vmware wich seems really dependent of them.

Perhaps it's not even needed to inject these scsi drivers using qemu? (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/blink.gif) (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/rolleyes.gif)


Still trying to find more resources, stumbled on a page wich showed how to freely create .vmx files to allow using vmware player without needing to buy the retail/trial vmware version:
http://www.hackaday.com/2005/10/24/how-to-...tion/1#comments

Reading the comments found a wizard for this task:
http://rhysgoodwin.orcon.net.nz/vmxwizard/

Funny enough to see that qemu also provides a completely free way to make snapshots from physical drives and save them as either compressed images or even vmware compatible images:
http://fabrice.bellard.free.fr/qemu/qemu-doc.html#SEC15


My experience with p2v is quite limited but I think these are probably good conditions to sucessfully achieve this P2V with qemu, can you please try it?

Good luck and thanks!! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbup.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheHive
post Jan 7 2007, 05:38 AM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,899
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 5



sanbarrow, you have a good project going there and I tried to follow it since you posted it at the 911CD forum. I tried to follow the steps at one time but it over whelmed me and I gave up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jaclaz
post Jan 7 2007, 03:48 PM
Post #7


Finder
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 1,185
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 2


Italy


Though I have no direct experience with REDO images, the info is right on the Qemu doc page:
http://fabrice.bellard.free.fr/qemu/qemu-doc.html#TOC18

The method is slightly different that VMware, but I don't think that this would cause problems:
1) You need a "base" disk image
2) You create with qemu-img another image "linked" to first one
3) You mount the latter in QEMU, where changes ONLY will be written
4) If needed you use the qemu-img commit command to modify the base image with modified contents of the second one

jaclaz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sanbarrow
post Jan 7 2007, 05:17 PM
Post #8


Advanced Member
***

Group: Developer
Posts: 154
Joined: 13-October 06
From: Germany - Sauerland
Member No.: 755



@ all - thanks for the interesting quemu-links

From a quick scan thru them I get the impression that one aspect is missing in the quemu-approach: it looks like you first have to create an image of the physical disk. Once you got that - you can use a similar technic to what I do with VMware.

With VMware I do not need to create a image of the physical disk - I can directly use the raw-disk itself. That makes it possible to attach a REDOlog which I can store in RAMdrive. Imagine this - I go to a box with VIA_IDE ...
I create the raw-disk descriptorfile (which is a small textfile of 1kb), I then attach a REDOlog to this disk and store it in RAMdrive and mount it.
I patch it with IntelIDE-drivers and registry-settings. now the REDOlog maybe about 2MB large - cause only the changed files are stored in the REDOlog.
Next I use this raw-disk - REDOlog chain in a virtual machine and launch it.

Have a look at this link
http://liveview.sourceforge.net/

This is the project in the net that is somehow closest to what I do - though this guys still use an image of the physical disk.
I explained what I do - but they may have found it too freaky (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/frusty.gif)


Nuno - you posted a link to a vmx-file creating wizzard - this vmxwizard is crap - completely outdated and partly wrong ... do not even consider useing it!
If you are looking for a small vmx-building tool have a look at my
http://sanbarrow.com/files/vmx-builder.cmd
The other good tool is this vmx-builder that I made with Rob Petruska:
http://petruska.stardock.net/software/Vmwa...l#VMX%20Builder

Anyway - nowadays even the guys from VMware Inc. - reference my site for details on vmx-files - see
http://sanbarrow.com/vmx.html

@ Jaclaz - you are sometimes called Mr. MBR - if we could work together on a tool that creates a VMware-like raw-disk description we could use the free VMware-player to do this. I already tried to do this but I lack the know-how to extract the necessary details from the MBR ...


about the patchman:
when it launches it does a quick-scan thru the registry of the offline-Windows and detects OS, servicepack level and so on.
Can anybody give me a hint who I can display which driver is used for the mass-storage needed on boot ?
This would help a lot - I simply haven't found how to query the registry for this info ...
Any help on this would be nice (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/rolleyes.gif)

Ulli
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jaclaz
post Jan 7 2007, 06:57 PM
Post #9


Finder
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 1,185
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 2


Italy


I'm a bit rusty with VMware Disk formats, if I am not mistaken they have a header of some kind, and then they are just RAW.

I'll have a look at it.

Do you happen to have any links/specs of the VMware formats?

jaclaz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sanbarrow
post Jan 7 2007, 08:03 PM
Post #10


Advanced Member
***

Group: Developer
Posts: 154
Joined: 13-October 06
From: Germany - Sauerland
Member No.: 755



CODE
# Disk DescriptorFile
version=1
CID=75e3f58b
parentCID=ffffffff
createType="fullDevice"

# Extent description
RW 72303840 FLAT "\\.\PhysicalDrive0" 0

# The Disk Data Base
#DDB

ddb.virtualHWVersion = "4"
ddb.geometry.cylinders = "16383"
ddb.geometry.heads = "16"
ddb.geometry.sectors = "63"
ddb.geometry.biosCylinders = "1024"
ddb.geometry.biosHeads = "255"
ddb.geometry.biosSectors = "63"
ddb.adapterType = "ide"


Jaclaz - that is the raw-disk description for a 34,74 GB raptor-ide-disk.
Only thing I need is a way how to read the value for the extent description - in this case it is 72303840 - from the MBR.

VMware has published the specs for their disks - I'll look up the link or can send you the pdf directly if you do not want to register on the VMware-site.
I can also send you a couple of MBRs together with the descriptorfiles if that helps.
I plan to use the dsfok-tools to read that value - just don't know which bytes I have to read

Ulli
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · Submit your program · Next Newest »
 

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic

Members Who Viewed Topic Today ()

 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd November 2007 - 11:43 PM

MKPortal ©2003-2006 mkportal.it