Hello dear guest!

Boot Land is a community driven pc software site established since 2006 and focused on recovery/backup boot disks, research of Microsoft Windows 2000/XP/2003/Vista/7 install/deployment/lease/antivirus/antispam tools, customizing Microsoft Windows PE administration systems and even learning how to recover computer data from disaster situations!

How about joining our boot disk community? So do it. Life's short!

  - You get free access to our newsletter with all the interesting buzz about boot disks
  - We share publicity revenue with everyone who wishes to participate at the forums
  - Publicity is never, never, never displayed to members (along with many other cool things)
http://boot-land.net/register


2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topic
 BootSDI to HDD a Success!!!, Booting SDI.img to HDD
Rating 5 V
post Jan 30 2009, 10:35 AM
Post #1
Ariom
Member   **
Group: Members

  Joined: 14-July 07
Posts: 95
Thank(s): 11


Philippines


Hi to all Builders...

First of all I just want to THANKS to people who runs or responsible for this GREAT SITE...
Is is in here where I learn so much about computers "How To" in terms of software.
I also wants to give THANKS to some peps who responded about my problems (To many to mentions),just mention a few..
First to Nuno, of course for this GREAT Site, to Zhirin (for his "Golden" tutorial), Amalux, (his BootSDI, LiveXP in RAM Tutorial), Jaclaz, yyadrasil (Sorry I forgot the spelling), to Wimb (for this site about "Install XP from USB AFTER Booting with PE from HDD")
and before I forgot..to Lancelot.

Last week I read this post..Here by wimb.
I downloaded all the necessary files. I realy eager to apply it to my Hard drive, so I bought a 2nd hand 40gig of HD.
I format it and install a fresh new OS which is an XPRO sp2 sliptream with some drivers from "Driverpacks.net". I give full credit to this useful site!!!

After the installation of the new XPRo OS, I copied then the whole contents of XPRO CD installer to "Drive D: of my HD. And I copied the "RAM" folder..see pic1..to drive D:
Note: I only need the "BootSDI.img" file.
(This version of winbuilder "lx101408cxs" is from Amalux tutorial site before. I just updated the "Winbuilder.exe" files to version 075beta5k)
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=4111

I run the "Boot_img.exe" from wimb site ..(see from the preceeding paragraph).See pic2..just take note where I point to the desired path. Then click the "GO" button. Then I waited for a minute or two. When it finishes it task I rebooted my machine..
And voilaaaaa....I got the Three option from the boot.ini...when I booted to ramdisk, the 2nd option, it works flawlessly in just almost 8seconds in 1.5gb of memory. The size of my build image (BootSDI.img) is 123.904kb to be exact. see pic3 & Pic4.

To my curiousity, I browse to drive C: and observed what files does it adds. And I found the following seven files see pic4. So I copied it to drive D: inside a folder name "Img2HDD".

So again (this was my painfull task, but I have to this for I know this might be usefull to me, which it is indeed..),while I am on Windows mode booted in Ram of course..I formated again my Drive C:\ (Note; only drive c:) by this Progs see attached Pic below...to make sure nothing remains in drive c:.
(I like this progs only because I made it portable, I didn't include this in my build to make the image size small. Anyway it runs in "BootSDI" mode in 384mb of physical memory). see Pic6.
I don't have Acronis, very expensive.

After I formated my drive c:.. I copied the seven files including BootSDI.img. and copied also the "NTDETECT.COM & ntldr" files (extracted from my Ghost backup from other HD).
Note;..I rename the BootSDI.img to "LiveXP.ini" so nobody will touch it. And of course I changed in the boot.ini & in the menu.lst to "LiveXP.ini". see..Pic8.

Then I reboot again. It booted successfully.."Oh my gosh". it works as I expected.
I tried to hide drive c: if it still works..again it still works when I rebooted to BootSDI.img.

Hey guys.. I know It's not the BEST WAY..but IT"S THE ONLY WAY as my knowledge is concern cuase I'm not a programmer of course. I did it for curiousity. But it works anyway.

And My Humble Question..Is

Is it possible that in Booting time, it will not prompt me the Boot menu? I mean..when I boot to drive C:, it will bypass the boot menu, directly booting to BootSDI.img.
What should I put or edited in Boot.ini file?
Meaning I will not boot to normal "Windows" anymore.

I HOpe SOMebody could HELP. biggrin.gif And Happy New Year to all Chinese peps. cheers.gif


ARIOM

P.S. I did not include pics..3, & 7. It's 1.2mb each..
Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
 

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Pics.7z ( 132.1K ) Number of downloads: 237
 


+Quote Post
post Jan 30 2009, 11:06 AM
Post #2
was_jaclaz
Finder   ******
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 14-July 06 From: Gone in the mist

Posts: 7,226
Thank(s): 561


Italy


QUOTE (Ariom @ Jan 30 2009, 12:35 PM) *
Is it possible that in Booting time, it will not prompt me the Boot menu? I mean..when I boot to drive C:, it will bypass the boot menu, directly booting to BootSDI.img.
What should I put or edited in Boot.ini file?
Meaning I will not boot to normal "Windows" anymore.


Not sure to have got right the question. unsure.gif

You want to NEVER boot anything else but the PE build?

Post contents of your current BOOT.INI.

jaclaz


--------------------

Light Blue Ribbon Campaign for Freedom of Skin

But ... then, why?
+Quote Post
post Jan 30 2009, 11:12 AM
Post #3
Ariom
Member   **
Group: Members

  Joined: 14-July 07
Posts: 95
Thank(s): 11


Philippines


QUOTE (jaclaz @ Jan 30 2009, 11:06 AM) *
Not sure to have got right the question. unsure.gif

You want to NEVER boot anything else but the PE build?

Post contents of your current BOOT.INI.

jaclaz


Thanks for the quick reply..

Yes.. it is what I want. In my Boot.ini, it has 3 options. And I want that when I booted to my Drive C: it will boot directly to PE (BootSDI.img), without displaying the "Boot option" menu.. I hope I made it clear. THANKS to you. heh.gif

Ariom..
+Quote Post
post Jan 30 2009, 11:20 AM
Post #4
was_jaclaz
Finder   ******
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 14-July 06 From: Gone in the mist

Posts: 7,226
Thank(s): 561


Italy


QUOTE (jaclaz @ Jan 30 2009, 01:06 PM) *
Post contents of your current BOOT.INI.


Read this:
http://www.msfn.org/board/BOOTINI-hard-drive-t25365.html

jaclaz


--------------------

Light Blue Ribbon Campaign for Freedom of Skin

But ... then, why?
+Quote Post
post Jan 30 2009, 11:24 AM
Post #5
Ariom
Member   **
Group: Members

  Joined: 14-July 07
Posts: 95
Thank(s): 11


Philippines


QUOTE (jaclaz @ Jan 30 2009, 11:20 AM) *
jaclaz


THANKS..

HERE...see attachment plz


[boot loader]
timeout=10
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
C:\btsec\RMLD1.bs="AriomXP = Boot from RAMDISK"
C:\grldr="Start GRUB4DOS Menu"


Ariom..
Attached File(s)
Attached File  boot.7z ( 335bytes ) Number of downloads: 156
 
+Quote Post
post Jan 30 2009, 11:29 AM
Post #6
was_jaclaz
Finder   ******
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 14-July 06 From: Gone in the mist

Posts: 7,226
Thank(s): 561


Italy


QUOTE (Ariom @ Jan 30 2009, 01:24 PM) *
THANKS..

HERE...see attachment plz


No attachments around w00t.gif why don't you open BOOT.INI in Notepad and copy and paste it's contents, they will be a few lines of plain text.

Found, here it is:
CODE
[boot loader]
timeout=10
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
C:\btsec\RMLD1.bs="AriomXP = Boot from RAMDISK"
C:\grldr="Start GRUB4DOS Menu"



Try changing it to this:
QUOTE
[boot loader]
timeout=10
default=C:\btsec\RMLD1.bs
[operating systems]
C:\btsec\RMLD1.bs="AriomXP = Boot from RAMDISK"


What happens? unsure.gif

Still, this booting goes like this:
BIOS->MBR->bootsector->NTLDR->BOOT.INI->modified bootsector->PE

You could change it to:
BIOS->MBR->modified bootsector->PE

Get MakeBS.cmd here:
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=2362


jaclaz


--------------------

Light Blue Ribbon Campaign for Freedom of Skin

But ... then, why?
+Quote Post
post Jan 30 2009, 12:01 PM
Post #7
Ariom
Member   **
Group: Members

  Joined: 14-July 07
Posts: 95
Thank(s): 11


Philippines


QUOTE (jaclaz @ Jan 30 2009, 11:29 AM) *
Try changing it to this:


THANKS..

I'll try it now..I'll be off line for 5minuntes.
Reboot my machine now if it will works then..
I'll just update you!!!! tongue.gif
+Quote Post
post Jan 30 2009, 12:27 PM
Post #8
Ariom
Member   **
Group: Members

  Joined: 14-July 07
Posts: 95
Thank(s): 11


Philippines


QUOTE (jaclaz @ Jan 30 2009, 11:29 AM) *
No attachments around w00t.gif why don't you open BOOT.INI in Notepad and copy and paste it's contents, they will be a few lines of plain text.

Found, here it is:
CODE
[boot loader]
timeout=10
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
C:\btsec\RMLD1.bs="AriomXP = Boot from RAMDISK"
C:\grldr="Start GRUB4DOS Menu"



Try changing it to this:


What happens? unsure.gif

Still, this booting goes like this:
BIOS->MBR->bootsector->NTLDR->BOOT.INI->modified bootsector->PE

You could change it to:
BIOS->MBR->modified bootsector->PE

Get MakeBS.cmd here:
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=2362


jaclaz


Yahoooooo......

It works!!! thumbup.gif

THANKS Jaclaz.. It's really x5 GREAT.

Now I want a Hard disk only dedicated to this task.
When I repair a PC.. I'll just slave this Hardisk and boot to this as the Host OS to repair the Guest Hard disk.

Before.. I used the CD booting LiveXP (Normal), and LiveXP_RAM.
But now I like to implement this by booting BootSDI to HDD.
It is because it boots so fast..
I hope someone might find it useful.

THANK You so much Jaclaz. clap.gif It really helps me a lot.

Ariom.
+Quote Post
post Jan 30 2009, 01:53 PM
Post #9
was_jaclaz
Finder   ******
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 14-July 06 From: Gone in the mist

Posts: 7,226
Thank(s): 561


Italy


QUOTE (Ariom @ Jan 30 2009, 02:27 PM) *
THANK You so much Jaclaz. clap.gif It really helps me a lot.


No prob. smile.gif

jaclaz


--------------------

Light Blue Ribbon Campaign for Freedom of Skin

But ... then, why?
+Quote Post
post Feb 2 2009, 12:17 AM
Post #10
Shirin Zaban
Frequent Member   ***
Group: Tutorial Writer

  Joined: 15-February 08 From: Tehran

Posts: 357
Thank(s): 362


Iran


Hi Dear Ariom and welcome

Thank you for talking about me

I am happy that you have got your answers (By nice helps of jaclaz as always)

hope you will get more exprements and will send them here

thanks again
have nice times

shirin zaban


--------------------
من به ایرانی بودن خود افتخار میکنم
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic ()



Collapse

  Topic Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No New Posts TOPIC REMOVED
6 Saragosa Silvano 1,006 8th June 2010 - 02:00 PM
Last post by: Nuno Brito
No New Posts Total "Sardu information"
3 Pasquale 497 24th May 2010 - 08:35 PM
Last post by: davidecosta
No New Posts Tools or tricks to find missing registry keys?
5 MedEvil 530 18th May 2010 - 11:26 PM
Last post by: MedEvil
No new Topic has attachmentsToshiba recovery image to USB
15 teebee 2,272 12th May 2010 - 04:11 PM
Last post by: steve6375
No new votes Poll: BootSDI vs Wimboot ?
Pros and cons
11 agni 4,863 5th May 2010 - 12:08 PM
Last post by: soy





    

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum