IPB

There is 4 page(s) Previous Page Page : 1 Page : 2 3 Page : 4 Next page 
 
> Standard USB Keyboard and Mouse in VistaPE 12
 
 theGressier
post Jan 20 2009, 09:04 AM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 19-January 09
Member No.: 22,398


France


I'm still searching which files are mandatory, I've rebuild a vistape 12 image with all in ram option and all integrated drivers. I'm know trying to add some files.

Could somebody tell me if I should copy the .dat files from vista disk or if these files can be built depending on the inf files you put inf the windows\inf directory.

Second question: does somebody know why the driverstore directory is no more present in vistape12?
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 ctmag
post Jan 20 2009, 09:41 AM
Post #22


Silver Member
****

Group: .script developer
Posts: 678
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 15,320


Germany


i do not know if the dat files can be built, maybe by peimg?

Nightman removes a lot of file to slim down vistape...while doing this he sometimes removed too much...no we have to find out what to add.-))
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 ctmag
post Jan 25 2009, 01:21 PM
Post #23


Silver Member
****

Group: .script developer
Posts: 678
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 15,320


Germany


OK, i tried some things and this should work:

add the following lines at the end of the [Process] section of 04-additional.script

CODE
DirCopy,"%BootSRC%\Windows\inf","%TargetDir%\Windows"
DirCopy,"%BootSRC%\Windows\system32\drivers","%TargetDir%\Windows\system32"
DirCopy,"%BootSRC%\Windows\system32\driverstore","%TargetDir%\Windows\system32"
FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\Windows\inf\*.pnf"
DirDelete,"%TargetDir%\Windows\inf\BITS"
DirDelete,"%TargetDir%\Windows\inf\RemoteAccess"


it will need some more space on the disc and also in RAM, but it fixes the USB Mouse/Keyboard issue and it also fixes a bug where when you booted from an USB drive the USB drive was not visible (only the X drive was visisble..)

Please report if it works for you...thanks !

Edit: Added info to make clearer
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 PaPeuser
post Jan 25 2009, 05:09 PM
Post #24


Frequent Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 106
Joined: 31-August 08
From: Earth USA Pa.
Member No.: 17,811


United States


Edited Never mind

END very end of script - Sorry this was my fault, builds fine
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 DaveXP
post Jan 26 2009, 10:12 AM
Post #25


Frequent Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 196
Joined: 11-October 08
Member No.: 19,191


United States


Is "end of the script" the right place where to insert this? I added it at the end of the [AddDrivers] sections.

Dave
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 PaPeuser
post Jan 26 2009, 12:25 PM
Post #26


Frequent Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 106
Joined: 31-August 08
From: Earth USA Pa.
Member No.: 17,811


United States


Hello Dave

I added them to Drivers then looked at what section
[AddDrivers_SP0]? SP2?
And had a few errors on build,

So i put it dead last,, I notice files are copied over and build size increased

I donít know if this is correct and I am not saying this fixed problem
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 ctmag
post Jan 26 2009, 12:42 PM
Post #27


Silver Member
****

Group: .script developer
Posts: 678
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 15,320


Germany


i edited my post...it now says "end of section process"...

hope this helps...

Yes, it copies more files and so iso/wim will increase in size...but it fixed the problem for me in all cases...
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 2good4you
post Jan 26 2009, 02:47 PM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 13-March 08
Member No.: 13,768


Germany


Greetings ctmag!

I modified the 04-additioal.script as metioned by you and had a 50% success ;-)

An later attached Logitech wireless mouse works now like a charm but the Cherry keyboard could not be convinced to play with me.

The checkd system was the DELL PowerEdge 2950 III Server with Intel 5000X Chipset.
Later this week I've the ability to test the ASUS system mentioned in my first post of that topic.

At least: Thank you very much for your investigative work!


Ralf
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 ctmag
post Jan 26 2009, 02:57 PM
Post #29


Silver Member
****

Group: .script developer
Posts: 678
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 15,320


Germany


if you can, please try skipping the hardware detection (press end) (just in case it disables the keyboard and it was working before the hardware detection)

also, if possible, test if the keyboard works when booting a normal vista install dvd....

Thanks !!
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 2good4you
post Jan 26 2009, 03:19 PM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 13-March 08
Member No.: 13,768


Germany


QUOTE (ctmag @ Jan 26 2009, 02:57 PM) *
if you can, please try skipping the hardware detection (press end) (just in case it disables the keyboard and it was working before the hardware detection)

also, if possible, test if the keyboard works when booting a normal vista install dvd....

Thanks !!


Hey ctmag!

I'll drain out the server and then give the keyboard a try - takes about one or two hours.

The keyboard worked very well on a normal Server 2008 installation and the grub boot menu - that indicates that it is not broken in general.

I'll report back asap.

Thanks too :-)
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 
 

There is 4 page(s) Previous Page Page : 1 Page : 2 3 Page : 4 Next page
 
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Collapse

>

  Topic Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No new Posts Topic has attachments VistaPE 12 and Virtual PC Additions, Works 100% (minus sound)
15 madhopsman 426 Today, 08:27 AM
Last post by: TheHive
No New Posts Topic has attachments VistaPE - WIMCaptureImage ErrorCode 2
Finalizando VistaPE (MapNetwork Drive.exe)
0 Paulo Figueiredo 18 Yesterday, 10:19 PM
Last post by: Paulo Figueiredo
No new Posts Topic has attachments VistaPE and Wireless - Update - 3/5
Work in progress with screenshots
49 TheFro 9,582 Yesterday, 12:10 AM
Last post by: marpszon
No new Posts Topic has attachments Install XP from USB AFTER Booting with PE from HDD or USB
139 wimb 30,927 29th January 2009 - 03:10 PM
Last post by: Lancelot
No New Posts VistaPE and PointSec
Encounter problem and need advise
2 PJW 112 29th January 2009 - 04:35 AM
Last post by: PJW


 
menu_build_menu( "topicreferrals", new Array( img_item + " http://boot-land.net/foru...s/wb_server.php   17 clicks", img_item + " http://boot-land.net/foru...s/wb_server.php   4 clicks", img_item + " http://search.msn.com/res....aspx?q=vistape   3 clicks" ) );

RSS "Boot-Land.net", "WinBuilder" Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st January 2009 - 08:30 PM