IPB

There is 3 page(s) Previous Page Page : 1 2 Page : 3 Next page 
 
> WB how to add other scripts to my project?, ...and how to save a project for later usage?
 
 psc
post Sep 13 2008, 07:26 PM
Post #11


Guru
******

Group: .script developer
Posts: 6,558
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (john3voltas @ Sep 13 2008, 07:25 PM) *
Truth is, when I look at my logs I see lots of errors and other minor stuff that apparently didn't go as according.

Oops!

Errrors in the log shouldn't appear. They tell you that there something serious is wrong with your project.
And you cannot assume that a project with errors (maybe with warnings, too) will produce the wanted result.

First you MUST try to find the root of the errors and fix them (to fix warnings, too, is recommended)
It does not make some sence to try new things (like above: add scripts from other projects) as long as your project has unsolved or unexplained issues.

If you cannot detect the issues' root from the log, post the log here. Here are a lot of people suited and willing to help you.

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 psc
post Sep 13 2008, 07:58 PM
Post #12


Guru
******

Group: .script developer
Posts: 6,558
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (john3voltas @ Sep 13 2008, 02:02 PM) *
What I mean is, I have always deleted everything except for wb.exe whenever I restart my project for whatever reason.
Do you mean that if I already downloaded all my needed scripts I can always use my previously downloaded base?
What about my config options? Do I keep them this way too?

Sorry that I dir not recognize this question in the first view.

Appearently you are working with LiveXP, a nativeEx based project.

Here it usually is not necessary to delete anything for a new build.
Usually nativeEx based projects manage that internally (e.g. when a new script version came from download)
If you are not sure you can delete
  • %Basedir%\Temp
  • %BaseDir%\Workbench\<your project>\Cache
To delete anything else will not affect the build, but only bring you some more time in waiting for the build beeing completed.

BTW: Sometimes (really only 'sometimes'!) it can help to start fom ZERO: Do a download into a new directory etc. ...

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 john3voltas
post Sep 14 2008, 11:17 AM
Post #13


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 17-November 07
Member No.: 11,961


Portugal


I see, that should be the same as pressing the "Clean temporary files" on the main wb page, right?
I think I may have hit a bug :?
I downloaded my scripts and now I am setting their options.
WB 075 has a cool function for that, the blue left/right arrows on the top/right corner of WB.
These have a tooltip saying "previous selected scrip..." and "next selected script...".
So, I set up one of the scripts and the I use "next selected script..." to go to the next one and I set it up too, the 2nd one.
Then all of a sudden I forgot what I've set up on the 1st script or I just wanna take another look at it.
So I hit the "previous selected script..." button and I get shocked: my settings didn't get stored.
And I hit the "next selected script..." button and my 2nd script looks exactly with the default settings.
If I browse the scripts on the scripts tree this doesn't happen.
Is this a bug?
I'm on WN 075 beta 4.
Cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 Nuno Brito
post Sep 14 2008, 11:31 AM
Post #14


Platinum Member
******

Group: .script developer
Posts: 7,008
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


You've might have stumbled on a beta version bug indeed.

Will check.

(IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 john3voltas
post Sep 14 2008, 11:47 AM
Post #15


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 17-November 07
Member No.: 11,961


Portugal


Baaad luck hoola lol.
That's me, I always find a few bugs on things I use.
I am a great beta-tester and a good asset to WinBuilder, you know? (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/tongue.gif)
Cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 Nuno Brito
post Sep 14 2008, 05:53 PM
Post #16


Platinum Member
******

Group: .script developer
Posts: 7,008
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


QUOTE
That's me, I always find a few bugs on things I use.

eheh..

QUOTE
I am a great beta-tester and a good asset to WinBuilder, you know?


Great to hear this, we do need people with a sharp eye for catching these annoyances.

(IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 psc
post Sep 14 2008, 06:25 PM
Post #17


Guru
******

Group: .script developer
Posts: 6,558
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (john3voltas @ Sep 14 2008, 01:17 PM) *
So I hit the "previous selected script..." button and I get shocked: my settings didn't get stored.
...
Is this a bug?

Confirmed: It is ...
I promise you that the remaining life time of this bug is rather short...

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 john3voltas
post Sep 14 2008, 06:58 PM
Post #18


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 17-November 07
Member No.: 11,961


Portugal


QUOTE (psc @ Sep 14 2008, 07:25 PM) *
Confirmed: It is ...
I promise you that the remaining life time of this bug is rather short...

Peter

lol
One thing I still didn't understand.
Is beta 4 the latest wb beta?
Because I read in another thread about another releases (like in svn or something).
So which one is the latest most up-to-date (possibly less reliable) version of wb?
Cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 Nuno Brito
post Sep 14 2008, 07:23 PM
Post #19


Platinum Member
******

Group: .script developer
Posts: 7,008
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


The "less reliable" versions are the alphabet series. (075 beta 4a, 075 beta 4b, etc)

They are found on the bottom of Peter's (PSC) signature on his posts.

Numbered beta are published on a particular topic: http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=4654.

We have stable and beta releases.

For example, 074 is stable and 075 is beta.

Next is 076 as stable and 077 as beta.

(IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 john3voltas
post Sep 14 2008, 08:07 PM
Post #20


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 17-November 07
Member No.: 11,961


Portugal


QUOTE (Nuno Brito @ Sep 14 2008, 08:23 PM) *
The "less reliable" versions are the alphabet series. (075 beta 4a, 075 beta 4b, etc)

They are found on the bottom of Peter's (PSC) signature on his posts.

Numbered beta are published on a particular topic: http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=4654.

We have stable and beta releases.

For example, 074 is stable and 075 is beta.

Next is 076 as stable and 077 as beta.

(IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Pretty clear, even numbers are stable and odd numbers are beta which is a very popular way of working.
But Peter's sig only links to a nativeEX project.
I don't see any 075 alphabet releases in his sig.
Never mind, what I wanna know is if 075b4 will be updated due to that bug.
If I want to test a bug-"next/prev"-free version which one should I use?
Which one is Peter going to update/fix?

But back on topic, I have not successfully built a project out of wb 075b4.
This time I will use the minimum version and if it fails I will post my log for others to see.
Though I have a feeling that it is JonF's McAfee scanner script that is blowing my project.
Apparently the superdat update is not working.
Cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 
 

There is 3 page(s) Previous Page Page : 1 2 Page : 3 Next page
 
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Collapse

>

  Topic Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No New Posts Howto start my Batchfile at Booting?
2 Duselbauer 48 Today, 12:14 PM
Last post by: ludovici
No New Posts How to boot directly into Windows from kexec+Grub4DOS
6 shuss 94 Today, 04:48 AM
Last post by: shuss
No new Posts How can i run XP in SAFEMODE from USB (on any pc) ??
ms virtual drivers, safemode, small xp with explorer/desktop
42 AlexData 914 23rd February 2009 - 07:18 PM
Last post by: cdob
No New Posts Topic has attachments My Assistant Last 20 Posts?
5 allanf 86 21st February 2009 - 10:25 AM
Last post by: allanf
No New Posts Adding to the search path
How do I add a folder on the end of the system search path
9 situs 139 19th February 2009 - 07:36 AM
Last post by: Galapo


 
menu_build_menu( "topicreferrals", new Array( img_item + " http://search.msn.com/res...s.aspx?q=member   1 clicks", img_item + " http://search.msn.com/res....aspx?q=project   1 clicks" ) );

RSS "Boot-Land.net", "WinBuilder" Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th February 2009 - 04:16 PM