IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Recommended
BootDisk.com

Active Users

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
EWF-Like FBWF in LiveXP?, Need help with build . . .
Squid
post Sep 10 2008, 06:12 PM
Post #1


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 7-June 07
Member No.: 8,331


United States


Hello folks!

This post represents the latest step which I am taking to allow for "Run Anywhere" Ethernet via hostNIC in my LiveXP build.

In order to do this, I have learned (from my previous post) that we need writeback capability in the PE filesystem. Of course, this is neatly possible by using the BootSDI option at build; but that avenue will necessarily entail larger amounts of RAM being tied up during deployment upon a target; not good for older systems.

So, the journey has finally landed me here, through the gracious tips provided by posters in the last thread. Thanks again to all who helped here (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Now, having downloaded Thuun's FBWF script (which incorporates an EWF-like RAM-write feature); I placed the file on my WinBuilder LiveXP directory structure under Projects\LiveXP\Apps\System. Running WinBuilder, I opened the "FBWF with Cache Threshold Adjust" script on the UI; brought the % RAM level used down to 10; and agreed to the EULA. Simple!

Build time.

All went normally until the incorporation of the FBWF script into the final build. At that point, the build process politely exited with the appended error message (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)

For the record, I seem to have satisfied the gist of this message before commencing with the build; as I left the default pCheckBox2's value as True, "Set %Temp% and %RamDrv% variables to X:"

Really stoked to try this, and all looks good; so what could be wrong here???

Thanks again for all of the help!






Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Sep 10 2008, 06:29 PM
Post #2


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 5,404
Thank(s): 83
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (Squid @ Sep 10 2008, 07:12 PM) *
For the record, I seem to have satisfied the gist of this message before commencing with the build; as I left the default pCheckBox2's value as True, "Set %Temp% and %RamDrv% variables to X:"

Really stoked to try this, and all looks good; so what could be wrong here???

Congratulations for your research! This can be a good entry to new fatures.

I think that you use a nativeEx based project. In this case, try to set
  • Basic > !WBManager > Define Fundamentals: SettingsDrive to 'System Drive'
    Forget 'RAM Drive Letter'
  • Basic > Build > TempPE: Check 'SystemDrive' and clean the 'Subdirectory' text box.
If that does not help, post all info here. I'm sure that we can find a 'universal' solution to use EWF in nativeEx based projects.

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Squid
post Sep 10 2008, 06:41 PM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 7-June 07
Member No.: 8,331


United States


@psc:
QUOTE
Basic > !WBManager > Define Fundamentals: SettingsDrive to 'System Drive'
Forget 'RAM Drive Letter'
Done.
QUOTE
Basic > Build > TempPE: Check 'SystemDrive' and clean the 'Subdirectory' text box.
Does not seem to be available in my release [074]. I cleared the temp files on the main UI (as I always do); if that helps?

I'll give it a spin; and get back soon...

(IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Squid
post Sep 10 2008, 06:45 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 7-June 07
Member No.: 8,331


United States


@psc:

Here's the error which was generated this time:
QUOTE
Generated by psc program 'WBVerify' version 2.0.0
Date: 2008-Sep-10 11:40:23

[Counts]
Missing=0
Obsolete=0
Errors=1
Warnings=0

Errors:
"For Standard ISO Settings w/o FBWF Drive must be RAM Drive"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Sep 10 2008, 07:03 PM
Post #5


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 5,404
Thank(s): 83
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (Squid @ Sep 10 2008, 07:45 PM) *
@psc:

Here's the error which was generated this time:

For a test it is no problem to uncheck Verify.

But there seems to be a serious issue with WB 074.

Here the Temp environment variable is defined to be the RAM drive Letter, usually R: No change to X: provided.

A quick and dirty solution (I don't know whether it works) could be:
Edit the GUI and add X: to the RAM drive letters combo box.
Then in the script itself, choose X:

Suggestion: Try the latest WB 075 beta (URL nativeEx_barebone_075 in my signature below) and be patient with the usual beta issues.

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Squid
post Sep 10 2008, 07:12 PM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 7-June 07
Member No.: 8,331


United States


@psc:

OK. I'll work with 074 for right now; unless it be becomes evident that it simply won't work (I'll switch then).

On the "Define Fundamentals" script, I changed line #101 to read:

pScrollBox1=X:,1,4,162,70,42,21,--,B:,R:,X:

and selected the new value, "X:" from the dropdown list on the main UI.

Retrying the build . . .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Squid
post Sep 10 2008, 07:40 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 7-June 07
Member No.: 8,331


United States


@psc:

Complaint from "Verify Project" this time (for the record):
QUOTE
Generated by psc program 'WBVerify' version 2.0.0
Date: 2008-Sep-10 12:32:39

[Counts]
Missing=0
Obsolete=0
Errors=2
Warnings=0

Errors:
"For Standard ISO Settings w/o FBWF Drive must be RAM Drive"
"RAMDrive needs letter B: or R: defined in !Fundamentals"

I disabled "Verify Project" (unticked Basic > !WBManager > Verify Project on the WinBuilder LiveXP lefthand tree pane); and the build completed without error from FBWF.

I'll be trying the new CD next >>
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Sep 10 2008, 07:48 PM
Post #8


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 5,404
Thank(s): 83
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (Squid @ Sep 10 2008, 08:40 PM) *
Complaint from "Verify Project" this time (for the record):

The Verify errors are theoretically correct. The constellation is off the standard project build.

But when I wrote the Verify, I could not see your new trials ...

Tell us about your ISO boot (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/ok.gif)

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Squid
post Sep 10 2008, 08:03 PM
Post #9


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 7-June 07
Member No.: 8,331


United States


@psc:

Boot time:

Got all the way through to the wallpaper stage; and crapped out with a series of error messages --
  1. Windows Update complained that browseui.dll and shdocvw.dll were missing or corrupted.
  2. Windows stated that it couldn't find hiderun (on several occasions) or (yikes) FBWFldr.exe
After I acknowledged all of the dialogs in turn, Windows simply went back around again for a reboot.

Methinks the gazoogeler is piped around to the framice hole right now (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/blink.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Sep 10 2008, 08:07 PM
Post #10


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 5,404
Thank(s): 83
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (Squid @ Sep 10 2008, 10:03 PM) *
@psc:

Boot time:

Got all the way through to the wallpaper stage; and crapped out with a series of error messages --
  1. Windows Update complained that browseui.dll and shdocvw.dll were missing or corrupted.
  2. Windows stated that it couldn't find hiderun (on several occasions) or (yikes) FBWFldr.exe
After I acknowledged all of the dialogs in turn, Windows simply went back around again for a reboot.

Methinks the gazoogeler is piped around to the framice hole right now (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/blink.gif)

The browseui.dll and shdocvw.dll error issue is known if in an emulator you do not have enough memory.

But in a CD boot into a real Pc ???

How much memory has your system?

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · nativeEx & LiveXP · Next Newest »
 

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th October 2008 - 08:57 AM

W3C XHTML • © 2008 Boot Land • All rights reserved • W3C CSS