IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Recommended
BootDisk.com

Active Users

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Diskpart Error with VistaPE, Error using command "Create Partition Primary"
lills1
post Sep 3 2008, 02:45 PM
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 3-September 08
Member No.: 17,882


United Kingdom


Hi,

I am having a problem using diskpart in VistaPE. I have checked device manager, and the hard disk and chipset drivers are installed OK. What I am trying to do is delete the partition of the hard disk and recreate it using the following commands in diskpart

select disk 0
clean
create partition primary

at this point diskpart hangs for about 5 minutes and then I get the following error:-

Virtual Disk Service Error:
The operation timed out
Dispart has referenced an object which is not up-to-date.

I then tried using the suggested rescan command, but still no joy. The version of Diskpart.exe I am using is 6.0.6001 and I am using a physical PC, not a VM. Any ideas?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ctmag
post Sep 3 2008, 02:53 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 337
Thank(s): 14
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 15,320


Germany


do you use vistape12? if yes did you build from waik or from vista dvd?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lills1
post Sep 3 2008, 02:58 PM
Post #3


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 3-September 08
Member No.: 17,882


United Kingdom


Yes, I am using VistaPE12 beta 3 and Vista SP1 as the source.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ctmag
post Sep 3 2008, 03:05 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 337
Thank(s): 14
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 15,320


Germany


did you include mmc support and did you try doing this from the gui ? Does this work?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lills1
post Sep 3 2008, 03:13 PM
Post #5


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 3-September 08
Member No.: 17,882


United Kingdom


Yep, I included MMC support. I also tried using the Disk Partioner GUI tool. When I select the disk, I manually delete the partition and click Add to recreate it, it just hangs. On the status bar of Disk Partitioner it says:

"Creating Primary Partition of maximum remaining size on disk 0, Please wait....."

Then it just hangs in the same as as using the command line diskpart.

The data on the disk is readable on C: before I delete the partition.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ctmag
post Sep 3 2008, 03:38 PM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 337
Thank(s): 14
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 15,320


Germany


just to prevent missunderstanding, did you try the gui for diskparted which is part of vpe or did you try the mmc gui under computermanagment, called diskmanagment (the one that also comes with xp or vista)?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ludovici
post Sep 4 2008, 01:00 AM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 58
Thank(s): 2
Joined: 1-November 07
Member No.: 11,607


France


You have not the Virtual Disk service:
QUOTE
Virtual Disk
Windows Vista Service Details

Description:
Management services for disks. You can leave it on manual to run only when you need it.

Service Description:

Provides management services for disks, volumes, filesystems, and hardware array objects such as subsystems, controllers, and so on.

Consequences of Stopping:

.
All services listed in 'Required For' will be unable to function


Depends on:

DCOM Server Process Launcher, Plug and Play, Remote Procedure Call (RPC)

Required for:

None

Source : http://www.speedyvista.com/services/Virtual_Disk.php

And the additions of one script is :
CODE
RegHiveLoad,WB-System,%RegSystem%
RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds","DisplayName","@%SystemRoot%\system32\vds.exe,-100"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x2,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds","ImagePath","%SystemRoot%\System32\vds.exe"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds","Description","@%SystemRoot%\system32\vds.exe,-112"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds","ObjectName","LocalSystem"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds","ErrorControl","1"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds","Start","3"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds","Type","16"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x7,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds","DependOnService","RpcSs","PlugPlay"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds","ServiceSidType","1"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x3,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds","FailureActions","78","00","00","00","00","00","00","00","00","00","00","00","03","00","00","00","14","00","00","00","01","00","00","00","60","ea","00","00","01","00","00","00","c0","d4","01","00","00","00","00","00","00","00","00","00"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds\Alignment",,"Alignment Settings in Bytes"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds\Alignment","Between4_8GB","1048576"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds\Alignment","Between8_32GB","1048576"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds\Alignment","GreaterThan32GB","1048576"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds\Alignment","LessThan4GB","65536"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x3,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds\Security","Security","01","00","14","80","90","00","00","00","9c","00","00","00","14","00","00","00","30","00","00","00","02","00","1c","00","01","00","00","00","02","80","14","00","ff","01","0f","00","01","01","00","00","00","00","00","01","00","00","00","00","02","00","60","00","04","00","00","00","00","00","14","00","fd","01","02","00","01","01","00","00","00","00","00","05","12","00","00","00","00","00","18","00","ff","01","0f","00","01","02","00","00","00","00","00","05","20","00","00","00","20","02","00","00","00","00","14","00","8d","01","02","00","01","01","00","00","00","00","00","05","0b","00","00","00","00","00","18","00","70","00","00","00","01","02","00","00","00","00","00","05","20","00","00","00","27","02","00","00","01","01","00","00","00","00","00","05","12","00","00","00","01","01","00","00","00","00","00","05","12","00","00","00"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds\SoftwareProviders\{A86AE501-EF73-4C8D-827E-98BA5046B05F}",,"Microsoft Virtual Disk Service Dynamic Provider"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds\SoftwareProviders\{A86AE501-EF73-4C8D-827E-98BA5046B05F}","Clsid","{02A3586C-D264-40BF-97F7-FE40F7E3A882}"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds\SoftwareProviders\{A86AE501-EF73-4C8D-827E-98BA5046B05F}","Version","2.0.0.1"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds\SoftwareProviders\{A86AE501-EF73-4C8D-827E-98BA5046B05F}","VersionId","{61CBC199-5CCA-4214-BBA8-BFBFCE740CFD}"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds\SoftwareProviders\{CA7DE14F-5BC8-48fd-93DE-A19527B0459E}",,"Microsoft Virtual Disk Service Basic Provider"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds\SoftwareProviders\{CA7DE14F-5BC8-48fd-93DE-A19527B0459E}","Clsid","{DE010DA1-289B-4232-8CD0-5112DCA6A7B3}"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds\SoftwareProviders\{CA7DE14F-5BC8-48fd-93DE-A19527B0459E}","Version","2.0.0.1"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,"WB-System\ControlSet001\Services\vds\SoftwareProviders\{CA7DE14F-5BC8-48fd-93DE-A19527B0459E}","VersionId","{f5a11d0a-cd5d-43f9-b6a1-9e4ff8cfee7a}"
RegHiveUnLoad,WB-System
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ctmag
post Sep 4 2008, 05:57 AM
Post #8


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 337
Thank(s): 14
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 15,320


Germany


normally this service should e running...check under computermanagement-> services if it is installed and running before you add the above...
@ludovici: please change you post it is is far too wide...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jaclaz
post Sep 4 2008, 11:06 AM
Post #9


Finder
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 2,966
Thank(s): 115
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 2


Italy


QUOTE (ctmag @ Sep 4 2008, 06:57 AM) *
@ludovici: please change you post it is is far too wide...


I fixed it. (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

@ludovici
When pasting loooooooong lines in [ code ] [ /code ] tags, the thread is displayed according to the length of the longest line.
In this cases please use the [ codebox ] [ /codebox ] tags that provide horizontal and vertical scrolling bars.

jaclaz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Following 1 Users Say Thank You to jaclaz For This Useful Post:
ctmag
ludovici
post Sep 4 2008, 02:19 PM
Post #10


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 58
Thank(s): 2
Joined: 1-November 07
Member No.: 11,607


France


sorry (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/merc.gif) I understand (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/dubbio.gif)
Thanks Jaclaz, where is the [ codebox ] [ /codebox ] tags that provide horizontal and vertical scrolling bars? (Wrap in code tags, insert list or other...)
lills1, Have you resolved your problem ? (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/idea.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · VistaPE · Next Newest »
 

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 9th October 2008 - 03:55 AM

W3C XHTML • © 2008 Boot Land • All rights reserved • W3C CSS