Hello dear guest!

Why not join our boot disk community? So do it. Life's short!

  - You get free access to our newsletter with all the interesting buzz about boot disks
  - We share publicity revenue with everyone who wishes to participate at the forums
  - Publicity is never, never, never displayed to members (along with many other cool things)
http://boot-land.net/register

184 Pages V  « < 123 124 125 126 127 > »   
Reply to this topic
 LiveXP -- Anything & Everything, Look only Post #1 and Last Posts of this topic
Rating 3 V
post Mar 26 2009, 05:24 AM
Post #1241
Lancelot
Frequent Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 8-May 08 From: Turkiye/Izmir

Posts: 3,520
Thank(s): 380


Turkiye


@Galapo
QUOTE (Galapo @ Mar 26 2009, 12:55 AM) *
Well, so long as ntfs image is correctly sized, then everythink works fine and we don't need fat. I don't know, maybe there isn't an advantage in using ntfs in this case.
i know i wrote "no need to write more" but ah sorry i forgot answering this smile.gif ,

We can not use junction on FAT but we dont use junction on this case. smile.gif
From my point of view we dont have considerable advantage in this case:

using ntfs on this case:
Advantages:
+can write bigger than 4GB file (a "program files.wim" with 4GB)
Disadvantages:
-requires more space for vmdk file
-requires more more space for vmdk file when vista is hostos

using FAT(16/32) on this case:
+- cant write bigger than 4GB file (we have option for packing individually selected default which i guess we wont have such a proglem for a long while)
+ requires less space
+ requires less less space when vista is hostos


if the option was avaible, i would use fat on wimpack all the time smile.gif.

now , no need to write more smile.gif cu


--------------------
+Quote Post
post Mar 26 2009, 06:00 AM
Post #1242
Galapo
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 16-July 06
Posts: 3,136
Thank(s): 256


Australia


OK, I'll add the option back in.

In the meantime please: a) work out what the ntfs vista size increase should be; and b) manually alter the script to prepare a fat32-formatted image and whether this results in WimPack working for you (just curious is all).

Thanks,
Galapo.


--------------------
galapo.boot-land.net
------
Recommended steps to build LiveXP:
1) Download suitable WinBuilder.exe from here and run it;
2) Update through the Download Center by clicking the 'Download' button; and
3) Then build LiveXP by pressing the 'Play' button.
+Quote Post
post Mar 26 2009, 08:00 AM
Post #1243
Lancelot
Frequent Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 8-May 08 From: Turkiye/Izmir

Posts: 3,520
Thank(s): 380


Turkiye


Peter (psc)

is it possible to see what is going on with Finalize Batch script when processing?!

when using wimpack+bootsdi, on the screen there is only "Does all steps to create a 'booting item' from current Target Directory" but with lots of scripts enabled by using wimpack, takes a loooong time to wait. With a doupt of having an error i stop and start building again smile.gif


--------------------
+Quote Post
post Mar 26 2009, 09:12 AM
Post #1244
psc
Guru   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 14-July 06 From: Korschenbroich

Posts: 8,443
Thank(s): 441


Germany


I'm sorry. That is not possible.

The code, generated by !Fundamentals.Script:
CODE
[Finish]
If,%pScrollBox1%,Equal,"Undo UPX",Begin
   If,EXISTSECTION,%ProjectDir%\Tools\processUPX.Script,Process-Undo,Exec,%ProjectDir%\Tools\processUPX.Script,Process-Undo
   If,EXISTSECTION,%ProjectDir%\Tools\processUPX.Script,Process-Undo,IniDeleteSection,%ProjectDir%\Tools\processUPX.Script,Process-Undo
End
If,%pScrollBox1%,Equal,autoUPX,Exec,"V:\WB\wb debug\Projects\nativeEx_core\Finish\1 Optimizations\autoUPX.Script",Process
If,%pScrollBox5%,Equal,"Undo Compress",Begin
   If,EXISTSECTION,%ProjectDir%\Tools\processCompress.Script,Process-Undo,Exec,%ProjectDir%\Tools\processCompress.Script,Process-Undo
   If,EXISTSECTION,%ProjectDir%\Tools\processCompress.Script,Process-Undo,IniDeleteSection,%ProjectDir%\Tools\processCompress.Script,Process-Undo
End
If,%pScrollBox5%,Equal,autoCompress,Exec,"V:\WB\wb debug\Projects\nativeEx_core\Finish\1 Optimizations\autoCompress.Script",Process
If,%pScrollBox6%,Equal,regCompact,Exec,"V:\WB\wb debug\Projects\nativeEx_core\Finish\1 Optimizations\regCompact.Script",Process
If,%pScrollBox2%,Equal,"Create ISO",Exec,"V:\WB\wb debug\Projects\nativeEx_barebone\Finish\2 Create Image\CreateISO.script",Process
If,%pScrollBox2%,Equal,"Boot from RAM",Exec,"V:\WB\wb debug\Projects\nativeEx_barebone\Finish\2 Create Image\RAMBoot.script",Process
If,%pScrollBox2%,Equal,"Test VMDK in VirtualBox",Exec,"V:\WB\wb debug\Projects\nativeEx_barebone\Finish\2 Create Image\testVirtualBox.script",Process
If,%pScrollBox3%,Equal,"Run ISO in qEmu",Exec,"V:\WB\wb debug\Projects\nativeEx_barebone\Finish\3 Emulation\qEmu.Script",Process
If,%pScrollBox3%,Equal,"Run ISO in VirtualBox",Exec,"V:\WB\wb debug\Projects\nativeEx_barebone\Finish\3 Emulation\VirtualBox.script",Process
If,%pScrollBox3%,Equal,"Run ISO in VMware",Exec,"V:\WB\wb debug\Projects\nativeEx_barebone\Finish\3 Emulation\VMWare.script",Process
If,%pScrollBox4%,Equal,"Burn CD",Exec,"V:\WB\wb debug\Projects\nativeEx_barebone\Finish\4 Burn Image\CDRecord.Script",Process

As you see, the script starts up to 6 other scripts.

Every user information can only be given by the individual scripts using the Echo command.

Peter


--------------------
Build the house starting with the basement rather than with the roof! But always have in mind how the roof should be made!

There are very rarely problems, in most cases there are issues.

There are never stupid questions, there can be only stupid answers.

+Quote Post
post Mar 26 2009, 11:15 AM
Post #1245
Lancelot
Frequent Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 8-May 08 From: Turkiye/Izmir

Posts: 3,520
Thank(s): 380


Turkiye


@Peter
QUOTE (psc @ Mar 26 2009, 11:12 AM) *
I'm sorry. That is not possible.
sad.gif
QUOTE (psc @ Mar 26 2009, 11:12 AM) *
Every user information can only be given by the individual scripts using the Echo command.
this is what i wanted but picture shows different, maybe reason is the error i am getting with wimpack, will look more.

@Galapo
after some trials with increasing 10 and 20 etc i changed line
CODE
StrFormat,INC,%IMGSize%,30
to
CODE
StrFormat,INC,%IMGSize%,130
still got the same error huh.gif (ps: the build is full, with createiso i get 700MB) , further i will check fat dry.gif but need time....


--------------------
+Quote Post
post Mar 26 2009, 12:14 PM
Post #1246
psc
Guru   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 14-July 06 From: Korschenbroich

Posts: 8,443
Thank(s): 441


Germany


QUOTE (Lancelot @ Mar 26 2009, 12:15 PM) *
this is what i wanted but picture shows different, maybe reason is the error i am getting with wimpack, will look more.

What can I do to reproduce / see your issues?

Peter


--------------------
Build the house starting with the basement rather than with the roof! But always have in mind how the roof should be made!

There are very rarely problems, in most cases there are issues.

There are never stupid questions, there can be only stupid answers.

+Quote Post
post Mar 26 2009, 08:29 PM
Post #1247
Galapo
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 16-July 06
Posts: 3,136
Thank(s): 256


Australia


QUOTE (Lancelot @ Mar 26 2009, 09:15 PM) *
CODE
StrFormat,INC,%IMGSize%,30
to
CODE
StrFormat,INC,%IMGSize%,130
still got the same error huh.gif (ps: the build is full, with createiso i get 700MB) , further i will check fat dry.gif but need time....

I was wondering as much, which is why I also wanted you to check with fat/fat32. It may be that it won't build with it either and that the problem lies elsewhere and not actually with Vista ntfs sizing.

Regards,
Galapo.


--------------------
galapo.boot-land.net
------
Recommended steps to build LiveXP:
1) Download suitable WinBuilder.exe from here and run it;
2) Update through the Download Center by clicking the 'Download' button; and
3) Then build LiveXP by pressing the 'Play' button.
+Quote Post
post Mar 27 2009, 06:30 AM
Post #1248
Lancelot
Frequent Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 8-May 08 From: Turkiye/Izmir

Posts: 3,520
Thank(s): 380


Turkiye


Galapo, Peter (psc)

still need time (too tired yesterday wink.gif ) to start wimpack tests again, if again failure i will write a reproducable way.


Galapo,

meawhile i got this with new opera script (regfactory not selected)
http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/9523/20090327081006.png


Peter (psc),

it will be nice to see version number of scripts during build, will be helpful for us when others report error with picture (i know errors must be reported with log files which is excellent, this is only a minor thing if you like)

and a question/demand, is it possible (/if not can we make it possible for future wb) to write the partition of log file just before iso created, i would like to have log file on cd's i build to have future reference,
ex: X:\i386\log_20090325_125530.7z
ps: with an option on bootsdi and createiso, probably unselected default.
I hope you like the idea


--------------------
+Quote Post
post Mar 27 2009, 06:45 AM
Post #1249
Galapo
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 16-July 06
Posts: 3,136
Thank(s): 256


Australia


QUOTE (Lancelot @ Mar 27 2009, 04:30 PM) *
Galapo,

meawhile i got this with new opera script (regfactory not selected)
http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/9523/20090327081006.png

Sorry about that -- seems I made a typo. Fixed script is now slowly uploading.

Regards,
Galapo.


--------------------
galapo.boot-land.net
------
Recommended steps to build LiveXP:
1) Download suitable WinBuilder.exe from here and run it;
2) Update through the Download Center by clicking the 'Download' button; and
3) Then build LiveXP by pressing the 'Play' button.
+Quote Post
post Mar 27 2009, 08:04 AM
Post #1250
psc
Guru   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 14-July 06 From: Korschenbroich

Posts: 8,443
Thank(s): 441


Germany


QUOTE (Lancelot @ Mar 27 2009, 07:30 AM) *
it will be nice to see version number of scripts during build, will be helpful for us when others report error with picture (i know errors must be reported with log files which is excellent, this is only a minor thing if you like)

and a question/demand, is it possible (/if not can we make it possible for future wb) to write the partition of log file just before iso created, i would like to have log file on cd's i build to have future reference,
ex: X:\i386\log_20090325_125530.7z

Two nice ideas, but not so easy top realize.

Let me think about that!

Peter


--------------------
Build the house starting with the basement rather than with the roof! But always have in mind how the roof should be made!

There are very rarely problems, in most cases there are issues.

There are never stupid questions, there can be only stupid answers.

+Quote Post

184 Pages V  « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » 
Reply to this topic
3 User(s) are reading this topic ()





Collapse

  Topic Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No New Posts LiveXP shutdown process
4 Arjun 382 9th November 2009 - 01:43 AM
Last post by: TheHive
No new Topic has attachmentsLiveXP Troubleshooting
Various questions and answers
92 JohnBug 8,397 29th October 2009 - 02:25 PM
Last post by: amalux
No New Posts Topic has attachmentsLiveXP WB078 Slow Load
64.4Mb ISO Slowly loading....*VIDEO*
11 dsolomon 941 20th October 2009 - 06:56 PM
Last post by: psc
No New Posts LiveXP Adding Driver?
6 Furgy 696 13th October 2009 - 11:30 AM
Last post by: Lancelot
No new Topic has attachmentsLiveXP not detecting Raid Controller
39 pantner 2,330 7th October 2009 - 04:22 AM
Last post by: Galapo


Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum