Hello dear guest!

Boot Land is a community driven pc software site established since 2006 and focused on recovery/backup boot disks, research of Microsoft Windows 2000/XP/2003/Vista/7 install/deployment/lease/antivirus/antispam tools, customizing Microsoft Windows PE administration systems and even learning how to recover computer data from disaster situations!

How about joining our boot disk community? So do it. Life's short!

  - You get free access to our newsletter with all the interesting buzz about boot disks
  - We share publicity revenue with everyone who wishes to participate at the forums
  - Publicity is never, never, never displayed to members (along with many other cool things)
http://boot-land.net/register


 
Reply to this topic
 Run Windows XP in RAM., Boot in RAM save changes and work like in ordinary OS
post Jun 13 2010, 02:34 PM
Post #1
mrgloom
  
Group: Members

  Joined: 13-June 10
Posts: 2
Thank(s): 0


Russia


Hello!
I want to boot Windows XP in RAM and work in it like in ordinary OS(install programs, save changes and etc.) and have compatibility with DirectX, .Net Framework and other features.
Do you have any suggestions how can I do it?
If it possible I want to upgrade my PC and buy 12-16 Gb of RAM and SSD Now V+ for this proposition.


+Quote Post
post Jun 13 2010, 03:09 PM
Post #2
MedEvil
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 29-December 06
Posts: 5,105
Thank(s): 145


Basicly you will need to load the image of the OS into ram for booting and write it back after shutdown.
The first part is done regularly here with our PE. No idea how to do the second part.

cheers.gif


--------------------
NaughtyPE - The Multimedia PE!
Requirements: WinBuilder080, XPSP2/W2k3SP1 source, Pentium CPU, 128MB RAM (256MB to use video players)
+Quote Post
post Jun 13 2010, 06:09 PM
Post #3
Wonko the Sane
Gold Member   *****
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 8-January 10 From: The Outside of the Asylum

Posts: 1,433
Thank(s): 154


Italy


Since you are from Russia, you could take over where euhenio left:
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?...ic=1218&hl=
http://euhenio.mam.by/
(the google English translation of his pages are a bit tough to understand), with the use of one of the new drivers we have now available (firadisk and winvblock).

Check this also:
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?...ic=9830&hl=

cheers.gif
Wonko


--------------------

Light Blue Ribbon Campaign for Freedom of Skin

But ... then, why?
+Quote Post
post Jun 13 2010, 06:20 PM
Post #4
mrgloom
  
Group: Members

  Joined: 13-June 10
Posts: 2
Thank(s): 0


Russia


QUOTE (MedEvil @ Jun 13 2010, 03:09 PM) *
No idea how to do the second part.

sad.gif

Maybe use very small linux booted in ram and virtualbox on it to run windows? smile.gif

+Quote Post
post Jun 13 2010, 08:25 PM
Post #5
MedEvil
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 29-December 06
Posts: 5,105
Thank(s): 145


Not the best idea.
Since you insist on DirectX, i guess you wanna use the XP for gaming. Usually not the kind of software, during which one wants to waste computing power on other things, like emulation.

cheers.gif


--------------------
NaughtyPE - The Multimedia PE!
Requirements: WinBuilder080, XPSP2/W2k3SP1 source, Pentium CPU, 128MB RAM (256MB to use video players)
+Quote Post
post Jun 14 2010, 12:08 PM
Post #6
dog
Frequent Member   ***
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 18-July 06
Posts: 145
Thank(s): 16


You can use robocopy and vss to update a disk image that was booted to ram:
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?...ost&p=88320
+Quote Post
post Jun 14 2010, 12:55 PM
Post #7
MedEvil
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 29-December 06
Posts: 5,105
Thank(s): 145


You mean write the booted image to the USb-Stick, shortly before shutdown?
Wouldn't that corrupt the image?

cheers.gif


--------------------
NaughtyPE - The Multimedia PE!
Requirements: WinBuilder080, XPSP2/W2k3SP1 source, Pentium CPU, 128MB RAM (256MB to use video players)
+Quote Post
post Jun 14 2010, 03:24 PM
Post #8
dog
Frequent Member   ***
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 18-July 06
Posts: 145
Thank(s): 16


Nah, VSS takes care of that, works fine here.
+Quote Post
post Jun 14 2010, 04:55 PM
Post #9
MedEvil
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 29-December 06
Posts: 5,105
Thank(s): 145


Great solution!

cheers.gif


--------------------
NaughtyPE - The Multimedia PE!
Requirements: WinBuilder080, XPSP2/W2k3SP1 source, Pentium CPU, 128MB RAM (256MB to use video players)
+Quote Post
post Today, 04:15 PM
Post #10
Wonko the Sane
Gold Member   *****
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 8-January 10 From: The Outside of the Asylum

Posts: 1,433
Thank(s): 154


Italy


Just for the record, as demonstrated in the given thread:
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?...ic=9830&hl=

strarc (by our friend Olof thumbup.gif ) can do the same as robocopy.

cheers.gif
Wonko


--------------------

Light Blue Ribbon Campaign for Freedom of Skin

But ... then, why?
+Quote Post

Reply to this topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic ()



Collapse

  Topic Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No New Posts Install grub4dos from within grub4dos
1 xpt 111 Yesterday, 07:25 AM
Last post by: Icecube
No new Pinned: Topic has attachmentsInstall XP from USB
Prepare Bootable USB-drive with USB_MultiBoot.cmd
38 wimb 617,906 14th June 2010 - 03:03 PM
Last post by: FinalBoot
No New Posts Installing Grub4dos to MBR
1 xpt 145 14th June 2010 - 07:53 AM
Last post by: tinybit
No New Posts Windows 7 Setup + BackTrack 4 Refuses to boot.
sources folder causes crash on bootup.
0 Coniferous 109 13th June 2010 - 09:37 PM
Last post by: Coniferous
No New Posts Windows 7 SP1 Beta release date | RemoteFX demo | Download Exchange SP1 Beta
0 Michael Pietroforte 137 7th June 2010 - 08:22 PM
Last post by: Michael Pietroforte





    

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum