Digg this topic Add to my del.icio.us Submit to SlashDot 2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> [project] ReactOS Live CD, Tweaking ReactOS..
Nuno Brito
post Dec 1 2006, 07:42 PM
Post #1


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,279
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


This project will create a boot disk ISO image based on a ReactOS Live CD.

More informations about ReactOS can be found here along with some screenshots.

At this moment the goal is to demonstrate how to automate the process of extracting all files from the ISO that is automatically downloaded onto a folder, apply scripts to tweak user settings and add programs - followed by the recompilation of this folder into ISO format again.


Attached Image

Attached File  ReactOS_ScriptProject.zip ( 358.63K ) Number of downloads: 175
version 002

The resulting ISO is not tweaked yet, but should be a good starting ground to make improvements or just to try out other options. I really like the idea of using a free operative system and perhaps this way more people can get to know and use it..


How to install?

- If you're using Winbuilder 052 or smaller, follow the minimum requirements
- Download the above file and extract all contents as a sub folder on the Projects folder inside WinBuilder
- Add the project on winbuilder - how to..
- Press the run button



Minimum Requirements:

If you're using WinBuilder 052 you'll need to add cdmake inside your Tools folder on winbuilder - download link

As an alternative you don't need to use cdmake and can always use mkisofs to produce your ISO, just place it inside the ReactOS\Create folder and remove or disable "CDMake.Script"
Attached File  MkISOfs.zip ( 6.05K ) Number of downloads: 60


It's also adviced to use WinBuilder 053 beta 4, otherwise it will still work but you won't see the download progress..



Hope you have fun and enjoy this OS.. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)

This post has been edited by Nuno Brito: Dec 4 2006, 01:34 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
edborg
post Dec 4 2006, 10:02 AM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 259
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 4



I've downloaded the project and run it in WB053 beta5 with no changes, and got the attached error. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)
I haven't looked into it yet, to try and see what's wrong. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/blink.gif)
edborg

ADDED: I've run it againg, and it works!!!
One has to be quick enough to hit a key when in qEmu, to have it boot from CD...
Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nuno Brito
post Dec 4 2006, 10:14 AM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,279
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


Still need to figure where to remove the option to "Press any key.." (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/roll1.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheHive
post Dec 4 2006, 12:21 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,887
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 5



THe process to download seems to occur but when it goes to running it in qemu nothing happens. Qemu doesnt come up. Using Winbuilder 53 build 5 and added cdmake inside Tools folder.

Directory structure in Wuilbuilder projects.
ReactOS.7z
script.project
Build
Create


Log
Attached File  log.htm ( 7.1K ) Number of downloads: 14
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
edborg
post Dec 4 2006, 12:57 PM
Post #5


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 259
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 4



@Nuno

The mistery goes on! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/blink.gif) (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/blink.gif) (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/blink.gif)
I thought everything had been made clear, as reported here, but now, working with the files in the folder generated by the project, I can't make a bootable ISO with MkISOfs. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)

As you succeeded re-creating an ISO with CDMake and MkISOfs, could you add a script which uses MkISOfs to create it?
I'd like to examine it to definitely understand what happens.
This is not a top priority, of course! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
edborg
Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nuno Brito
post Dec 4 2006, 01:08 PM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,279
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


Looking at your log I see that the files were not extracted to reactos\ReactOS-liveCD, on the project folder unpack ReactOS.7z into a folder called ReactOS-LiveCD. Keep the the 7zip file to avoid downloading a new one.

This should get your ISO built - but doesn't explain the reason why the files aren't expanded from 7z.exe in the first place. Anyone has any more ideas?

QUOTE
Directory structure in ReactOS project:
ReactOS.7z
script.project
Build
Create
ReactOS-LiveCD



btw: Looking better at reactOS, the hive files are simple INF files wich can be compiled whenever we wish, this is very usefull to avoid all the hassle of loading/unloading hives, I include a sample of my files - it really has potential.. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbup.gif)

Attached File  Tools.zip ( 52.06K ) Number of downloads: 53



I'll post some ISO's when I get more familiar with this OS, ROS has the advantage of being open source so we're free to publish them as well.. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/what.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nuno Brito
post Dec 4 2006, 01:18 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,279
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


QUOTE (edborg @ Dec 4 2006, 11:57 AM) *
@Nuno

The mistery goes on! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/blink.gif) (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/blink.gif) (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/blink.gif)
I thought everything had been made clear, as reported here, but now, working with the files in the folder generated by the project, I can't make a bootable ISO with MkISOfs. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)

As you succeeded re-creating an ISO with CDMake and MkISOfs, could you add a script which uses MkISOfs to create it?
I'd like to examine it to definitely understand what happens.
This is not a top priority, of course! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
edborg


It really seems that your files are not being extracted as necessary, inside ReactOS.7z is the whole file structure - I've noticed that a few unzip program will ignore empty folders, but we need those empty folders to be placed inside the ISO otherwise an error like this will occur.

The syntax I've used for mkisofs was:
CODE
mkisofs -v -J -R -D -A "LiveCD" -V "LiveCD" -no-emul-boot -b isoboot.o -c isoboot.boot -o ros.iso ReactOS-LiveCD


Please note that I'm using isoboot.o as boot sector placed inside the root of target folder.

I haven't yet scripted this syntax, but you should be able to do it yourself using the command line to see what goes wrong - I'm guessing your troubles are actually coming from the folder structure.

I hope this helps, good luck with ROS.. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nuno Brito
post Dec 4 2006, 01:36 PM
Post #8


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,279
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


Added a mkisofs.script for ROS on the first post.. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
edborg
post Dec 4 2006, 05:42 PM
Post #9


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 259
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 4



QUOTE (Nuno Brito @ Dec 4 2006, 02:18 PM) *
It really seems that your files are not being extracted as necessary, inside ReactOS.7z is the whole file structure - I've noticed that a few unzip program will ignore empty folders, but we need those empty folders to be placed inside the ISO otherwise an error like this will occur.

The syntax I've used for mkisofs was:
CODE
mkisofs -v -J -R -D -A "LiveCD" -V "LiveCD" -no-emul-boot -b isoboot.o -c isoboot.boot -o ros.iso ReactOS-LiveCD


Please note that I'm using isoboot.o as boot sector placed inside the root of target folder.

I've finally found the reason of the mistery that was making me crazy! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/what.gif)
The problem was neither with the extraction, nor with the bootsector, everything was right.

The problem was MkISOfs syntax.
In the script, you haven't used the one posted above, but the following:
CODE
mkisofs -iso-level 4-force-uppercase -volid LiveCD -b isoboot.o -no-emul-boot -boot-load-size 4 -hide isoboot.o -hide boot.catalog -duplicates-once -o ros.iso ReactOS-LiveCD

and this way it works. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbup.gif)

edborg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
edborg
post Dec 4 2006, 05:49 PM
Post #10


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 259
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 4



QUOTE (Nuno Brito @ Dec 4 2006, 11:14 AM) *
Still need to figure where to remove the option to "Press any key.." (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/roll1.gif)

This also is a matter of syntax, which is solved with this change:
QUOTE
[process]
if,%pCheckBox1%,equal,True,set,%usb%,"#$s-usb"
if,%pCheckBox2%,equal,False,set,%kqemu%,"#$s-no-kqemu"
if,%pCheckBox2%,equal,True,set,%kqemu%,"#$s-kernel-kqemu"
if,%pCheckBox3%,equal,True,set,%fullscreen%,"#$s-full-screen"
if,%pCheckBox4%,equal,True,set,%uselocaltime%,"#$s-localtime"
if,%pCheckBox5%,equal,True,set,%audio%,"#$s-soundhw#$ses1370"
echo,"Running %burnISO% in qEmu.."
ShellExecute,"hide",#$q%Tools%\qEMU\qEmu.exe#$q," -boot d -m %pNumberBox1% -hda #$q%Tools%\qEMU\hdd.img#$q -L #$q%Tools%\qEMU#$q -cdrom #$q%ISOfile%#$q%usb%%fullscreen%%uselocaltime%%kqemu%%audio%"

edborg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · Projects · Next Newest »
 

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic

Members Who Viewed Topic Today ()

 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th October 2007 - 11:48 AM

MKPortal ©2003-2006 mkportal.it