Hello dear guest!

Boot Land is a community driven pc software site established since 2006 and focused on recovery/backup boot disks, research of Microsoft Windows 2000/XP/2003/Vista/7 install/deployment/lease/antivirus/antispam tools, customizing Microsoft Windows PE administration systems and even learning how to recover computer data from disaster situations!

How about joining our boot disk community? So do it. Life's short!

  - You get free access to our newsletter with all the interesting buzz about boot disks
  - We share publicity revenue with everyone who wishes to participate at the forums
  - Publicity is never, never, never displayed to members (along with many other cool things)
http://boot-land.net/register


 
Reply to this topic
 ISO Boot
post Jun 29 2009, 02:45 PM
Post #1
wyefye
Newbie   *
Group: Members

  Joined: 17-February 08
Posts: 18
Thank(s): 0


United States


Okay, Maybe I'm nuts.. or just blind.

I'm trying to be fancy and use Grub4dos on my disc... for multiboot on things like memtest, acronis, dos ghost, live xp... etc...

I understand how to edit the menu.lst file...

the issue i have here is: Where do i put the ISO Images that is want to boot so they are included in the disc?

I mean.. i can write my own script to include these isos, but it seems like this should already be done.


Thanks,
-Ryan


+Quote Post
post Jun 29 2009, 05:32 PM
Post #2
was_jaclaz
Finder   ******
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 14-July 06 From: Gone in the mist

Posts: 7,227
Thank(s): 561


Italy


Well, NOT connected to grub4dos.

It all depends on WHAT you are using, like:
  • a Winbuilder project
  • a batch file of some kind
  • whatever else


WHAT do you use to create the disk/.iso, like:
  • a Winbuilder project
  • a batch file of some kind
  • "plain" command line with mkisofs.exe
  • whatever else


Or you mean WHERE "can" you put the .iso's?

If the latter, anywhere, as long as grub4dos can find them, and this may depend on the options of mkisofs you are using.

jaclaz


--------------------

Light Blue Ribbon Campaign for Freedom of Skin

But ... then, why?
+Quote Post
post Jun 30 2009, 12:53 PM
Post #3
wyefye
Newbie   *
Group: Members

  Joined: 17-February 08
Posts: 18
Thank(s): 0


United States


so, jaclaz,

I know i can put them anywhere on the disc, that's fairly obvious.

im just curious... Wouldn't it be nice if there were a script to point to the ISO''/bin's w/e you want to include, and it copies for you? than maybe auto configs grub4dos menu.lst based on the image type? this would be really helpful for newbs like me! ::blushes::

i just thought there would be a script like this.

guess not. sad.gif

+Quote Post
post Jun 30 2009, 03:37 PM
Post #4
was_jaclaz
Finder   ******
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 14-July 06 From: Gone in the mist

Posts: 7,227
Thank(s): 561


Italy


You understand how each and every .iso has it's own "way" to be booted through grub4dos emulation?

And that apart the (few) ways to boot PE's, and anyway different for PE 1.xx and 2.xx, every single Linux distro has it's own and often this changes at each (very frequently puplished) new release?
unsure.gif

Mantaining a .script would be a lot of work, and anyway most probably the .script wouldn't be up to date at any time, or wouldn't do exactly what the user wants....happy22.gif

I guess the most that can be done is the "list" thread:
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=5041
to which everyone is kindly invited to add his/her successfule experience.

After all it is not that difficult copying a single file to the source used by mkisofs and edit, by copying and paste an entry published on the said thread, the menu.lst.

cheers.gif

jaclaz



--------------------

Light Blue Ribbon Campaign for Freedom of Skin

But ... then, why?
+Quote Post
post Jun 30 2009, 04:40 PM
Post #5
wyefye
Newbie   *
Group: Members

  Joined: 17-February 08
Posts: 18
Thank(s): 0


United States


laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif


Sorry Jaclaz, i was being dumb huh.gif .

i read through the Grub4DOS readme, and i saw nothing about having to use another script to pull files to the disc. i just used the BootSDI script to pull my ISO's to the disc.

Now it works.

-Ryan
+Quote Post

Reply to this topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic ()



Collapse

  Topic Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No New Posts ISO mapped as C: or barking up wrong tree?
0 Technotika 1 Yesterday, 11:43 PM
Last post by: Technotika
No new Boot windows from extended partition
48 xpt 2,525 Yesterday, 05:30 PM
Last post by: xpt
No New Posts Boot-loader for INT 0x13 mapping non-contiguous files
8 supaJ 359 18th June 2010 - 08:01 PM
Last post by: sebus
No New Posts Boot with SYSLINUX
9 mrt_doulaty 641 16th June 2010 - 07:04 AM
Last post by: mrt_doulaty
No New Posts Boot Grud4dos from SARDU
3 Wile.E.Warrigal 299 15th June 2010 - 10:40 AM
Last post by: Wile.E.Warrigal







  
Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum