There is 3 page(s) Previous Page Page : 1 2 Page : 3 Next page 

> Windows7 as source?

MedEvil
post Dec 19 2008, 01:03 PM
Post #11

Platinum Member

Group: .script developer
Member No.: 2,192

Well i can build from win2k3, which is free to download.
Also the nforce thing i don't quite get, do you mean really one driver for all lan or would a set of nforce drivers be good enough. Cause the later works quite well.

Your other points seem to be valid, but then i have no experience with Vista. (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)

(IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Go to the top of the page

Nuno Brito
post Dec 19 2008, 01:42 PM
Post #12

Platinum Member

Member No.: 1

Portugal

Don't forget about FBWF features which are so handy to use or the differences between NTFS versions that *might (?)* corrupt your file systems.

Also, Windows PE 2.x comes ready out of the box for RAM boot which is easier to use at CD/DVD, USB pendisks or PXE LAN boot.

----------

Would be fun to give a shot at building "our" Windows 7 from source.

MedEvil
post Dec 19 2008, 04:43 PM
Post #13

Platinum Member

FBWF has worked for PE 1.x long before it worked for VistaPE! (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/tongue.gif)
And for NTFS 6.0 in XP is a patch available, as far as i know.

Ramboot is really a drawback for XP based builds, but not for Win2k3 based builds. Though, i still don't understand, why it won't work with XP, especialy since it was planed for as one can read in ntldr and setupldr. (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/confused1.gif)

Nuno Brito
post Dec 19 2008, 06:09 PM
Post #14

Platinum Member

Portugal

Yes, I know it worked but I meant working as an out-of-the-box feature instead of joining several pieces of software from other MS developments.