Hello dear guest!

Boot Land is a community driven pc software site established since 2006 and focused on recovery/backup boot disks, research of Microsoft Windows 2000/XP/2003/Vista/7 install/deployment/lease/antivirus/antispam tools, customizing Microsoft Windows PE administration systems and even learning how to recover computer data from disaster situations!

How about joining our boot disk community? So do it. Life's short!

  - You get free access to our newsletter with all the interesting buzz about boot disks
  - We share publicity revenue with everyone who wishes to participate at the forums
  - Publicity is never, never, never displayed to members (along with many other cool things)
http://boot-land.net/register


 
Reply to this topic
 Grub4dos and PXE booting ISO images, Let's start testing this newish feature!
post Nov 10 2008, 10:02 AM
Post #1
was_jaclaz
Finder   ******
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 14-July 06 From: Gone in the mist

Posts: 7,227
Thank(s): 561


Italy


Tinybit has just posted here:
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?...=2936&st=10

that this is possible. thumbsup.gif

Rather obviously ONLY the .iso's that would normally boot from "local" :
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=5041

can possibly work.

We do need some reports and howto's on the use of grub4dos with PXE (both for "normal" PXE booting and for "PXE .iso" booting).

Any taker? unsure.gif

jaclaz


--------------------

Light Blue Ribbon Campaign for Freedom of Skin

But ... then, why?

The revenue from clicking on publicity at this post is helping was_jaclaz
Boot Land shares publicity revenue with its members.

.
+Quote Post
post Aug 3 2009, 11:16 AM
Post #2
ktp
Silver Member   ****
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 16-February 07
Posts: 598
Thank(s): 29


Following are my findings:

Environment:
============
tftpd32 version 3.34 from XP SP3 using grldr from grub4dos-0.4.4-2009-03-31 as (PXE) boot file
PXE boot client: from VMware virtual machine

Successes:
==========
Various floppy disks images (DOS, Win98...)
Various iso:
WinPE 2.x (VistaPE) or WinPE 2.x-based (Easeus Partition Master)
UBCD 50b12
R-DriveImage 4.5
Paragon Hard Disk Manager 2009
Paragon Drive Backup Free Edition
Acronis products (True Image, Disk Director...)
Super Grub Disk
plpbt 5.03
hdat2 4.53

Failures:
==========

CD-konboot-v1.1-2in1.iso
Load segment: 0x0 System type: 0x0 Sector count: 0x1
Load RBA: 0x14 Boot Type: 2 = 1.44M floppy
chainloader (hd32)
Error 25: Disk Read error

FD0-konboot-v1.1-2in1.ima
Autodetect number-of-heads failed. Use default value 2
Autodetect sectors-per-track failed. Use default value 18
root (fd0)
Error 17: Cannot mount selected partition

pmagic-4.3.iso
pmagic.sqfs could not be found
+Quote Post
post Aug 3 2009, 12:26 PM
Post #3
was_jaclaz
Finder   ******
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 14-July 06 From: Gone in the mist

Posts: 7,227
Thank(s): 561


Italy


With all due respect wink.gif it doesn't make any sense reporting that a given build works (or fails to work) unless you ALSO and MAINLY post the menu.lst entries that you used. sad.gif

QUOTE (ktp @ Aug 3 2009, 01:16 PM) *
FD0-konboot-v1.1-2in1.ima
Autodetect number-of-heads failed. Use default value 2
Autodetect sectors-per-track failed. Use default value 18
root (fd0)
Error 17: Cannot mount selected partition

Try rootnoverify. unsure.gif

QUOTE (ktp @ Aug 3 2009, 01:16 PM) *
pmagic-4.3.iso
pmagic.sqfs could not be found


With which entry in menu.lst?

Did you try using quotes?
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=6042

cheers.gif

jaclaz


--------------------

Light Blue Ribbon Campaign for Freedom of Skin

But ... then, why?
+Quote Post
post Aug 3 2009, 01:53 PM
Post #4
ktp
Silver Member   ****
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 16-February 07
Posts: 598
Thank(s): 29


@jaclaz

Here are my used menu.lst.

The entries are modeled after this tutorial:
http://diddy.boot-land.net/grub4dos/files/pxe.htm

Notes :
1) for floppy disk Kon-boot, rootnoverify (fd0) as you suggested works!
So diddy's tutorial should be changed since it uses root (fd0) for the example.
2) Problem remains with Parted magic 4.3 as reported (I chose first line from Parted magic boot menu).

CODE
# color foreground/background normal, foreground/background selection
color black/cyan yellow/cyan
timeout 30
default 0

################################################################################
######

title Load DOS.img
map --mem (pd)/win98big.ima (fd0)
map --hook
rootnoverify (fd0)
chainloader +1

#
title Vista PE
map --mem (pd)/VistaPE-Core.iso  (hd32)
map  --hook
chainloader  (hd32)

#
title ParagonDriveBackupFreeEdition
map --mem (pd)/ParagonDriveBackupFreeEdition.iso  (hd32)
map  --hook
chainloader  (hd32)

#
title R-DriveImage45
map --mem (pd)/R-DriveImage45.iso  (hd32)
map  --hook
chainloader  (hd32)

#
title CD-konboot-v1.1-2in1 (iso)
map --mem (pd)/CD-konboot-v1.1-2in1.iso  (hd32)
map  --hook
chainloader  (hd32)

title FD-konboot-v1.1-2in1 (ima)
map --mem (pd)/FD0-konboot-v1.1-2in1.ima (fd0)
map --hook
rootnoverify (fd0)
chainloader +1

#
title EaseusPartitionMasterPro
map --mem (pd)/EaseusPartitionMasterPro.iso  (hd32)
map  --hook
chainloader  (hd32)

#
title ParagonHardDiskManager2009
map --mem (pd)/ParagonHardDiskManager2009.iso  (hd32)
map  --hook
chainloader  (hd32)


#
title UBCD50b12
map --mem (pd)/ubcd50b12.iso  (hd32)
map  --hook
chainloader  (hd32)

#
title Parted Magic 4.3 (iso)
map --mem (pd)/pmagic-4.3.iso  (hd32)
map  --hook
chainloader  (hd32)

#
title Super Grub Disk
map --mem (pd)/sgd.iso  (hd32)
map  --hook
chainloader  (hd32)

#
title plpbt
map --mem (pd)/plpbt.iso  (hd32)
map  --hook
chainloader  (hd32)

#
title hdat2453
map --mem (pd)/hdat2453.iso  (hd32)
map  --hook
chainloader  (hd32)

#
title Return to PXELinux
pxe keep
chainloader --force --raw (pd)/pxelinux.0

#
title Load grub.exe with PXE support
pxe keep
terminal console
kernel (pd)/grub.exe

#
title Load grldr with PXE support
pxe keep
terminal console
chainloader --force --raw (pd)/grldr

#
title BartPE
# Chainload BartPE (RAM loading image using Windows Server 2003 SP1 files ramdisk.sys,
# setupldr.exe (renamed as ntldr) and startrom.n12 (renamed as startrom.0)).
pxe keep
chainloader --raw (pd)/startrom.0

#
title WinPE 2.1
pxe keep
chainloader --raw (pd)/Boot/pxeboot.0
+Quote Post
post Aug 3 2009, 02:07 PM
Post #5
Icecube
Silver Member   ****
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 7-September 08
Posts: 581
Thank(s): 147


Belgium


@ ktp
Use the files from the PXE version of Parted Magic directly.

or you can build an iso from the files of the PXE version (important to use these files if you want to use PXE booting):
See post 5 at http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=8258.


--------------------
Use Parted Magic for handling all partitioning task. Download Parted Magic 4.11.
Parted Magic and grub4dos iso emulation

Ultimate Boot CD V5 forum for features and suggestions. Download Ultimate Boot CD v5.0.2 with grub4dos support.

The Syslinux Project: Stable releases: download link. Last test builds: download link.
ISO booting capable MEMDISK
+Quote Post
post Aug 3 2009, 02:23 PM
Post #6
was_jaclaz
Finder   ******
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 14-July 06 From: Gone in the mist

Posts: 7,227
Thank(s): 561


Italy


QUOTE (ktp @ Aug 3 2009, 03:53 PM) *
Notes :
1) for floppy disk Kon-boot, rootnoverify (fd0) as you suggested works!
So diddy's tutorial should be changed since it uses root (fd0) for the example.

You are missing a point, i.e. the difference between root and rootnoverify.
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?...c=7587&st=5

root is in my view "better" generally AND very useful when troubleshooting.
In other words:

  • if you use "rootnoverify" and chainload the bootsector of the device +1 you have more probabilities to boot (but you have no way to know HOW and WHY it boots, when it boots, nor when it fails to)
  • if you use "rootnoverify" and chainload a file, if the filesystem is not an accessible one, you fail.
  • if you use "root" you have feedback for the device which you set as root, AND you are able to chainload files in it, if root command is successful.


The KON-BOOT floppy image is NOT a "normal" floppy image, and thus you need to use rootnoverify and chainloader +1.


QUOTE (ktp @ Aug 3 2009, 03:53 PM) *
2) Problem remains with Parted magic 4.3 as reported (I chose first line from Parted magic boot menu).

Which is? unsure.gif

Search for posts by Icecube, try with something similar to the referenced thread, check this:
http://partedmagic.com/documentation/124-g...so-booting.html

cheers.gif

jaclaz

P.S.: Edit, no need to search for Icecube, he found you already. thumbsup.gif


--------------------

Light Blue Ribbon Campaign for Freedom of Skin

But ... then, why?
+Quote Post
post Aug 3 2009, 02:35 PM
Post #7
ktp
Silver Member   ****
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 16-February 07
Posts: 598
Thank(s): 29


@icecube and jaclaz

Thank you for your guidance. I rebuild Parted Magic PXE iso version.

CODE
#
title Parted Magic PXE 4.3 (iso)
map --mem (pd)/pmagic-pxe-4.3.iso  (hd32)
map  --hook
chainloader  (hd32)


With this code, the boot process goes further but then, a lot of lines are displayed:
cp: write error: No space left on device
Then the system appears to hang, no more output :-(

Edit: my RAM size is 512 MB, and the iso size is less than 100MB, so the ram disk should be sufficient. The repeated error messages appear after the progression message: "Copying files to RAM...." with progressive dots added to the message.
+Quote Post
post Aug 3 2009, 02:46 PM
Post #8
Icecube
Silver Member   ****
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 7-September 08
Posts: 581
Thank(s): 147


Belgium


It means that you don't have enough RAM.
Thats why using the iso with PXE is a bad idea.
You have the whole iso in memory (100MB)
Then ISOLINUX loads the kernel and initrd from this memory mapped ISO (again 100MB).
Then Parted Magic extracts the pmagic.sqfs in RAM (if you use option 1) and the tmpfs isn't big enough.
You need 480MB of RAM if you run Parted Magic directly from CD (without memory mapping).

Try the second menu entry.

Or better, don't make the iso and load the kernel and initrd directly.
Modify the grub4dos.lst a bit so it points to the right files (if you want all files of pmagic in a special folder) and use the configfile command to load this config file.


--------------------
Use Parted Magic for handling all partitioning task. Download Parted Magic 4.11.
Parted Magic and grub4dos iso emulation

Ultimate Boot CD V5 forum for features and suggestions. Download Ultimate Boot CD v5.0.2 with grub4dos support.

The Syslinux Project: Stable releases: download link. Last test builds: download link.
ISO booting capable MEMDISK
+Quote Post
post Aug 3 2009, 03:01 PM
Post #9
ktp
Silver Member   ****
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 16-February 07
Posts: 598
Thank(s): 29


@Icecube

Your diagnostic is exact. It's a RAM size problem.

Option 1 = Default settings (Runs from RAM / CDROM usable)
Option 2 = Live with default settings (CDROM not usable)

Even with 512 MB RAM, option 1 is not sufficient to boot.
Under VMware, I redo the test by increasing the RAM to 700 MB, then no problem so far (maybe 600 MB etc.. could be sufficient, but just for the proof of conceipt).
I reset back the RAM size to 512 MB, then try option 2, and of course it boots correctly too.

> Thats why using the iso with PXE is a bad idea.
Maybe, however the subject of this topic is for jaclaz's request (Grub4dos and PXE booting ISO images)
(> We do need some reports and howto's on the use of grub4dos with PXE (both for "normal" PXE booting and for "PXE .iso" booting).)

Again thank you all.
+Quote Post

Reply to this topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic ()



Collapse

  Topic Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No New Posts ISO mapped as C: or barking up wrong tree?
0 Technotika 1 Yesterday, 11:43 PM
Last post by: Technotika
No New Posts Grub4Dos and floppy image size
13 xpt 644 Yesterday, 05:06 PM
Last post by: xpt
No New Posts grub4dos multiboot (dir+files) (link updated) MU
My 8GB configuration files and dir directories for downloading
6 KAOZ23 1,126 16th June 2010 - 06:25 AM
Last post by: KAOZ23
No New Posts Booting iso from 2nd USB partition
2 flok3r 309 14th June 2010 - 05:05 PM
Last post by: flok3r
No new Pinned: grub4dos, .iso images and (hd32) or (0xFF) mapping
Post here ONLY reports of working setups!
62 was_jaclaz 166,713 14th June 2010 - 03:23 PM
Last post by: Chaos_Cubed







  
Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum