IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Recommended
BootDisk.com

Active Users

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Need help in doing recovery install on Asus Laptop, RecoveryDVD boots but always errors out
ctmag
post Sep 25 2008, 03:42 PM
Post #1


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 364
Thank(s): 14
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 15,320


Germany


Hi all,

I need to use the original Asus Recovery DVD that came with the notebook to reinstall windows vista, as the original HD failed and i had to replace it by a new one.

This should be no problem, but it is:-(
I boot up and the disc asks me if i just want to recover to the first partition or the whole disk or to create two partitions.

No matter what i select i always get a white screen after a few seconds with a big fat ERROR on it and in the top left corner i can read " cannot load imagex 0 from src wim file"

I asked Asus about that and they told me they are not giving any gurantues on software and i could buy a new disk from some online store. But the disk has no scratches or such, it is just fine...

Here is the filetree of the disk:
CODE
Auflistung der Ordnerpfade für Volume VISTA_10_A
Volumenummer: 000007C0 A14A:751E
E:.
| ASUS.SWM
| ASUS2.SWM
| BOOTMGR
|
+---BOOT
| | BCD
| | BOOT.SDI
| | ETFSBOOT.COM
| |
| \---FONTS
| CHS_BOOT.TTF
| CHT_BOOT.TTF
| JPN_BOOT.TTF
| KOR_BOOT.TTF
| WGL4_BOOT.TTF
|
+---EFI
| \---MICROSOFT
| \---BOOT
| | BCD
| |
| \---FONTS
| CHS_BOOT.TTF
| CHT_BOOT.TTF
| JPN_BOOT.TTF
| KOR_BOOT.TTF
| WGL4_BOOT.TTF
|
\---SOURCES
BOOT.WIM


As you can see there are two SWM files which seem to be regular WIM files (can be seen from the fileheader)

So my question:

Did anybody try to install Vista from wim files by hand? Any tips how this could be done...
or
Does anybody know of a way to fix the problem?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PaPeuser
post Sep 25 2008, 05:54 PM
Post #2


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 31-August 08
Member No.: 17,811


United States


Does CMOS see new HD?

This is a new HD right? have you formated it first?

You are trying to do a recovery disk install - try installing WinXP with a full new version, Just to see if it will let you

Are you sure HD was the only thing bad????
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jaclaz
post Sep 25 2008, 06:31 PM
Post #3


Finder
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 3,001
Thank(s): 120
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 2


Italy


Hmmm, (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/dubbio.gif)

LOW google-fu today? (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/unsure.gif)

Here:
http://www.msfn.org/board/Question-on-Asus...es-t109293.html

(IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)

jaclaz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ctmag
post Sep 26 2008, 05:17 AM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 364
Thank(s): 14
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 15,320


Germany


Well yes, the hd was the only thing broken and i can install vista from a normal dvd.
In the asus forum there are many other users with the same problem, but still no solution

I also already found jaclaz link, but it does not work completely and so i was wondering if someone ever unpacked a wim to hd to install vista by hand...

I believe i will have to send the laptop in to warrenty repair...just wanted try other things first...

Maybe i can extract the asus certificate and the key from the wim file (anyone got something on this?) and then reinstall from a normal vista dvd...oh man i hate vista:-(

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jaclaz
post Sep 26 2008, 07:48 AM
Post #5


Finder
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 3,001
Thank(s): 120
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 2


Italy


QUOTE (ctmag @ Sep 26 2008, 07:17 AM) *
I also already found jaclaz link, but it does not work completely....

In what does it not work? (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/unsure.gif)
Maybe posting there some details someone who made it can help you.


QUOTE (ctmag @ Sep 26 2008, 07:17 AM) *
...oh man i hate vista:-(

Sure, but I guess that in this particular case it's the OEM to be blamed rather than the (otherwise ALWAYS guilty (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif) ) good guys at MS.

jaclaz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jaclaz
post Sep 26 2008, 07:55 AM
Post #6


Finder
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 3,001
Thank(s): 120
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 2


Italy


QUOTE (ctmag @ Sep 26 2008, 07:17 AM) *
I also already found jaclaz link, but it does not work completely....

In what does it not work? (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/unsure.gif)
Maybe posting there some details someone who made it can help you.


QUOTE (ctmag @ Sep 26 2008, 07:17 AM) *
...oh man i hate vista:-(

Sure, but I guess that in this particular case it's the OEM to be blamed rather than the (otherwise ALWAYS guilty (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif) ) good guys at MS.

jaclaz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · Windows 2K/XP/2003 and Vista · Next Newest »
 

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th October 2008 - 09:03 AM

W3C XHTML • © 2008 Boot Land • All rights reserved • W3C CSS