IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Recommended
BootDisk.com

Active Users

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
[WB075beta4 Bug] Title ImgBurn not allowed
MichaelZ
post Aug 26 2008, 08:55 AM
Post #1


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 124
Thank(s): 1
Joined: 8-March 07
From: Braunschweig, Germany
Member No.: 4,049


Germany


Hi,

after some (very time consuming (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif) ) research I found out that there must be some special handling of Win Builder 075 beta 4 concerning the Title entry in the Main section. I wanted to add the program ImgBurn to my VistaPE project, but that script never showed up in Win Builders project tree. Using Process Monitor I noticed that the script file was found and that the first 256 bytes of the script file were read, but nevertheless it was not listed.

When I changed the title from
CODE
[Main]
Title=ImgBurn

to
CODE
[Main]
Title=ImgBurn_

or
CODE
[Main]
Title=Img Burn

everything was fine. (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbup.gif)

Have I overseen in Win Builder's documentation that this title is a reserved word and shall not be used, was it forgotten to document it (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif) or is it simply a bug? (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)

Many Greetings
MichaelZ
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Aug 26 2008, 09:17 AM
Post #2


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 5,404
Thank(s): 83
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (MichaelZ @ Aug 26 2008, 09:55 AM) *
Hi,

after some (very time consuming (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif) ) research I found out that there must be some special handling of Win Builder 075 beta 4 concerning the Title entry in the Main section. I wanted to add the program ImgBurn to my VistaPE project, but that script never showed up in Win Builders project tree. Using Process Monitor I noticed that the script file was found and that the first 256 bytes of the script file were read, but nevertheless it was not listed.

When I changed the title from
CODE
[Main]
   Title=ImgBurn

to
CODE
[Main]
   Title=ImgBurn_

or
CODE
[Main]
   Title=Img Burn

everything was fine. (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbup.gif)

Have I overseen in Win Builder's documentation that this title is a reserved word and shall not be used, was it forgotten to document it (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif) or is it simply a bug? (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)

Many Greetings
MichaelZ

As far as I know: Nowhere in WB there is a special title handling. The title is just read and later displayed in the tree.

By changing the title, the file is re-written completely.
Did you try to change back to the original title?
Is it then still not shown?

Maybe, but not very propably that the Vista project treates this title specially.
Put the question into the Vista forum. Maybe Nightman can answer on that.

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nuno Brito
post Aug 26 2008, 09:48 AM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 6,137
Thank(s): 127
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


Very strange indeed.

On liveXP we have a script called "ImgBurn ISO": http://livexp.boot-land.net/LiveXP/Finish/...gBurnISO.script

(IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MichaelZ
post Aug 26 2008, 09:53 AM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 124
Thank(s): 1
Joined: 8-March 07
From: Braunschweig, Germany
Member No.: 4,049


Germany


QUOTE (psc @ Aug 26 2008, 10:17 AM) *
By changing the title, the file is re-written completely.
Did you try to change back to the original title?
Is it then still not shown?

Before posting, I did change the title back to ImgBurn. The script disapperead. Changing back to ImgBurn_ here again.

QUOTE
Maybe, but not very propably that the Vista project treates this title specially.

I started to download LiveXP project (still running, 200 MB to go). Will see what happens there.

Many Greetings
MichaelZ
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Galapo
post Aug 26 2008, 09:56 AM
Post #5


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,783
Thank(s): 86
Joined: 16-July 06
From: Sydney
Member No.: 11


Australia


QUOTE (Nuno Brito @ Aug 26 2008, 07:48 PM) *
On liveXP we have a script called "ImgBurn ISO"

And also ImgBurn.

Regards,
Galapo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Following 1 Users Say Thank You to Galapo For This Useful Post:
Nuno Brito
dera
post Aug 26 2008, 10:15 AM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 173
Thank(s): 22
Joined: 17-January 07
Member No.: 2,603


Hungary


QUOTE (MichaelZ @ Aug 26 2008, 08:55 AM) *
I wanted to add the program ImgBurn to my VistaPE project, but that script never showed up in Win Builders project tree

I had also similar issue in VistaPE beta 12 with WB075 beta4
and that was the strange with WB075 beta3 my new script was showed
didn't remember right but as if had to completely retype the section [Main]
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Following 1 Users Say Thank You to dera For This Useful Post:
psc
MichaelZ
post Aug 26 2008, 10:21 AM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 124
Thank(s): 1
Joined: 8-March 07
From: Braunschweig, Germany
Member No.: 4,049


Germany


This seems to be an interesting problem. If this is a project specific affair, what project specific stuff is done inside Win Builder at this early stage when the project tree is created? Why is this necessary?

Many Greetings
MichaelZ

P.S. I cann not check another project yet, LiveXP is still loaded...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Aug 26 2008, 10:32 AM
Post #8


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 5,404
Thank(s): 83
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (dera @ Aug 26 2008, 12:15 PM) *
I had also similar issue in VistaPE beta 12 with WB075 beta4
and that was the strange with WB075 beta3 my new script was showed
didn't remember right but as if had to completely retype the section [Main]

In beta 4 the 'linked folder' functionality is introduced.
That made it possible to point to a BartPE plugin folder and add the plugins to the project.

The link is defined by something like
CODE
[Links]
  V:\UBCD4Win\plugin\File\*.*

in folder.project.

And now a rule to avoid duplicated scripts
If there is a title which is already in the current project, this file is not added to the project.

Maybe anywhere inside the vista project there is already a script ImgBurn and this script is invisible, e.g. by setting the level to 11 or 0.

@dera, MichaelZ:
Can you check this?

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dera
post Aug 26 2008, 10:53 AM
Post #9


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 173
Thank(s): 22
Joined: 17-January 07
Member No.: 2,603


Hungary


My problem happened not with the ImgBurn script.
It was a new keyboard and localization script made from an existing script by duplicating and changing it
and I am sure was care about not to have the same filename and same title
but wih something similar form: e.g. keyboard and keyboard_2 and Keyboard Layout Changer and Keyboard Layout Changer myown - not remember correctly
now i cannot reproduce the problem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MichaelZ
post Aug 26 2008, 12:07 PM
Post #10


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 124
Thank(s): 1
Joined: 8-March 07
From: Braunschweig, Germany
Member No.: 4,049


Germany


QUOTE (psc @ Aug 26 2008, 11:32 AM) *
Maybe anywhere inside the vista project there is already a script ImgBurn and this script is invisible, e.g. by setting the level to 11 or 0.

@dera, MichaelZ:
Can you check this?


I did a find/grep on the VistaPE-Core project directory in all files and looked for the string imgburn. It occured only in my script file.

The download of LiveXP is finished and I copied Galapo's imgburn.script into my application directory of VistaPE-Core. And now it's getting so strange that it's unbelievable. In directory A my script is not displayed having the Title=ImgBurn, but in directory B Galapo's script having the same file name and title is displayed.

Then I copied my script into an app directory of LiveXP (alphebetically before CD&DVD). To make it even more mysterious here my script behaves the same as in VistaPE. Not displayed having ImgBurn as title but displayed if title is changed.

The script in question is attached, but I consider it is correct...

Many Greetings
MichaelZ
Attached File(s)
Attached File  ImgBurn.script ( 530bytes ) Number of downloads: 10
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · Support and Bug reporting · Next Newest »
 

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th October 2008 - 08:51 AM

W3C XHTML • © 2008 Boot Land • All rights reserved • W3C CSS