IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Recommended
BootDisk.com

Active Users

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Work while building with WB, tips to make WB more Multitasking friendly
ctmag
post Aug 19 2008, 01:42 PM
Post #1


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 362
Thank(s): 14
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 15,320


Germany


Hello all,

i often build with WB and i noticed that it is not always fun working on the PC while WB is building. I have a fast PC and still WB slows it down to a speed where i can hardly type.

I found two ways to solve this:

1. Start Winbuilder.exe with reduced priority

use the command "start /belownormal winbuilder.exe" to start WB

i use a cmd file called startwb.cmd with this line in it to start wb

2. make WB use only one CPU (it does not really use 2 CPUs anyway as Nuno told me)

this can be done by the imagecfg.exe tool you can find here

http://www.robpol86.com/pages/imagecfg.php

or here

http://www.reality-xp.com/support/knowledg...sc/imagecfg.zip

put imagecfg.exe in the same folder as winbuilder.exe and type

imagecfg -u winbuilder.exe

you can delete imagecfg. exe after this, but you need it again if you download a new winbuilder version.

maybe this helps some of you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ctmag For This Useful Post:
Lancelot, Nuno Brito, psc
psc
post Aug 19 2008, 06:56 PM
Post #2


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 5,404
Thank(s): 83
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (ctmag @ Aug 19 2008, 03:42 PM) *
Hello all,

i often build with WB and i noticed that it is not always fun working on the PC while WB is building. I have a fast PC and still WB slows it down to a speed where i can hardly type.

I found two ways to solve this:

...
2. make WB use only one CPU (it does not really use 2 CPUs anyway as Nuno told me)

this can be done by the imagecfg.exe tool you can find here

http://www.robpol86.com/pages/imagecfg.php

...

Thanks for your post, Markus!

I also sometimes am rather angry when I'm working in the Delphi IDE and waiting for the app to complete. IDE work in that time is rather impossible.

@All: Does anybody know whether the IDE (Delphi 7) can give the final exe some information like imagecfg does?

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
paraglider
post Aug 19 2008, 11:16 PM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 312
Thank(s): 19
Joined: 12-August 06
From: NC,USA
Member No.: 153


United States


You can use the SetProcessAffinityMask / SetThreadAffinityMask apis to force a process and its threads to run on specific processors or subsets of the available processors.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Following 1 Users Say Thank You to paraglider For This Useful Post:
psc
psc
post Aug 20 2008, 08:20 AM
Post #4


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 5,404
Thank(s): 83
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich
Member No.: 3


Germany


In the very begin of WinBuilder start I inserted this code:
CODE
hProcess := GetCurrentProcess();
GetProcessAffinityMask( hProcess, dwProcessAffinityMask, dwSystemAffinityMask );
SetProcessAffinityMask( hProcess, 1 );// use CPU 0 only

The 'Get' gives me already values #1 for both mask.
That means: Only CPU 0 is used and setting to 1 is unnecessary.

But maybe it depends on the fact that my machine is old and really has one CPU, one core.

I'll include this code in the beta 4 o (to upload soon).

Users with dual core etc.:

Please test and report.

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · WinBuilder · Next Newest »
 

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th October 2008 - 08:49 AM

W3C XHTML • © 2008 Boot Land • All rights reserved • W3C CSS