Hello dear guest!

Why not join our boot disk community? So do it. Life's short!

  - You get free access to our newsletter with all the interesting buzz about boot disks
  - We share publicity revenue with everyone who wishes to participate at the forums
  - Publicity is never, never, never displayed to members (along with many other cool things)
http://boot-land.net/register

7 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topic
post Oct 27 2008, 01:08 AM
Post #11
sanbarrow
Silver Member   ****
Group: Developer

  Joined: 13-October 06 From: Germany - Sauerland

Posts: 751
Thank(s): 40


another nice stunt rolleyes.gif

http://sanbarrow.com/latest-video-esxi-exe.html

I guess only ESX-users may understand what it is good for ....
Only works on latest hardware - the VM alone needs at least 1 Gb of RAM.

You can also read it as a an example for a procedure to access any filesystem ...
If you need to read Solaris - just boot a Solaris-VM then ...

+Quote Post
post Oct 27 2008, 03:26 AM
Post #12
TheHive
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 14-July 06
Posts: 3,093
Thank(s): 77


Cant you do something similar using Workstation.


--------------------
+Quote Post
post Oct 27 2008, 03:01 PM
Post #13
sanbarrow
Silver Member   ****
Group: Developer

  Joined: 13-October 06 From: Germany - Sauerland

Posts: 751
Thank(s): 40


QUOTE
Cant you do something similar using Workstation.



? - i am using Workstation - the ESX-VM I start then could also be a NT 4 VM, FreeBSD , Solaris or whatever ...

Using the ESX as a VM is just interesting because there is no driver for the VMFS-filesystem available that would run on Linux or Windows ...
So this is a workaround to access VMFS filesystems
+Quote Post
post Nov 23 2008, 08:45 PM
Post #14
sanbarrow
Silver Member   ****
Group: Developer

  Joined: 13-October 06 From: Germany - Sauerland

Posts: 751
Thank(s): 40


I just uploaded new moa.exe version 2.4.025 - it now supports VMware Workstation 6.5.1

Both 6.5.0 and 6.5.1 versions are buggy - I don't recommend to use them unless you must run ESX 3.5.* inside a VM.

(the bugs are in the VMware release itself - MOA port is ok)
1 user(s) said "Thank you!" to sanbarrow for this fantastic post:
Lancelot
+Quote Post
post Dec 24 2008, 03:15 PM
Post #15
sanbarrow
Silver Member   ****
Group: Developer

  Joined: 13-October 06 From: Germany - Sauerland

Posts: 751
Thank(s): 40


nothing new - just more consequent then ever:

MOA-kiosk mode
see http://sanbarrow.com/latest-video-kiosk-mode.html

boots from USB-disk - the piggy-packed VM starts to boot after maybe 2 minutes.

The user can NOT interact with the LiveCD - only with the Kiosk-VM.
Once the Kiosk-VM shutsdown - the LiveCD shuts down as well.
+Quote Post
post Dec 25 2008, 02:44 AM
Post #16
TheHive
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 14-July 06
Posts: 3,093
Thank(s): 77


celebrate14.gif smile.gif

Not bad.


--------------------
+Quote Post
post Jan 24 2009, 09:04 PM
Post #17
sanbarrow
Silver Member   ****
Group: Developer

  Joined: 13-October 06 From: Germany - Sauerland

Posts: 751
Thank(s): 40


almost there ....

http://sanbarrow.com/moa24/videos/kiosk/kiosk.html

more explanations here
1 user(s) said "Thank you!" to sanbarrow for this fantastic post:
TheHive
+Quote Post
post Jan 25 2009, 03:50 AM
Post #18
TheHive
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 14-July 06
Posts: 3,093
Thank(s): 77


NT, mmm! looks old. Very good demo. Window98, me anyone?


--------------------
+Quote Post
post Mar 9 2009, 06:52 PM
Post #19
Christian
Member   **
Group: Members

  Joined: 13-August 08
Posts: 56
Thank(s): 1


United States


Just wondering if VirtualBox will make it in the next build? This is a great tool and still learning... looking to make this into somewhat of a portable pc. (hopefully if all goes well.). When we use boot this in RAM is there a way to save your settings back to your usb device instead of c:\ ? Also, any issues running this from a flash device as far as a ton of writes back to the flash drive? Again, still learning this great piece of software.

Also, I'm getting this error when trying to "Create Development VM" under Test

===================================
Line 0 (File "C:\moa\moa24-setup.exe"):

if FileExists(&playerpath & 'vmplayer.exe') then run("moa24-dev-vm\moa24-dev.vmx")

Error: Unable to execute the external program.
===================================
+Quote Post
post Mar 9 2009, 07:11 PM
Post #20
sanbarrow
Silver Member   ****
Group: Developer

  Joined: 13-October 06 From: Germany - Sauerland

Posts: 751
Thank(s): 40


Virtual BOX is no problem - there is a LODR-pack for it - see http://sanbarrow.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1461

So the idea is - install Virtual BOX once and keep the files - next boot load it with the virtualbox-lodr.exe.

You can run Virtual BOX at the same time as VMware Workstation - just make sure you DO not start a virtual box VM with VT-support as this will crash all VMware VMs

Ulli

About saving your settings ...
read the MOA-roadpack post here http://sanbarrow.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1250

a setup like that allows to keep most settings - only the system-core itself will be untouched and clean at every boot
+Quote Post

7 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic ()





Collapse

  Topic Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No new Topic has attachmentsMOA 2.3
46 sanbarrow 11,251 4th January 2009 - 07:35 PM
Last post by: sanbarrow
No new Topic has attachments24-hour limit in LiveXP
18 funtik 2,238 20th November 2008 - 08:00 PM
Last post by: dera
No new Topic has attachmentsMOA 2.2
26 sanbarrow 9,891 25th March 2008 - 06:22 PM
Last post by: sanbarrow
No new MOA...why not use xp or vista.
107 sokolofskid 16,860 27th October 2007 - 07:45 PM
Last post by: sanbarrow


Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum