Hello dear guest!

Why not join our boot disk community? So do it. Life's short!

  - You get free access to our newsletter with all the interesting buzz about boot disks
  - We share publicity revenue with everyone who wishes to participate at the forums
  - Publicity is never, never, never displayed to members (along with many other cool things)
http://boot-land.net/register

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topic
 [PortableApps] photoshop 5.5 Trial, reduction - simmer un till portable
post Aug 10 2008, 02:24 PM
Post #1
rawral
Frequent Member   ***
Group: Members

  Joined: 7-October 06
Posts: 129
Thank(s): 25


photoshop release-history
& http:// appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=application&iId=17

INFO
file's photoshop needs to run :

AGM.dll
CoolType.dll
Photos01.dll
Photos02.dll
Photoshp.exe
photos55.ini <---- of not found this is created !!

the above 5/6 files are the minimum
*ther may be some loss of function (eg no plugins) with 'just' thes files but ! it works!!
the total size of minimum files is 10.4 mb

the ps55try.exe -(photoshop 5.5 Trial) install is 70mb (compresed )
un compresed (installed) its closer to over 100mb

photoshop 5.5 was the first photoshop to include ImageReady

the files ImageReady needs to run :

ImageReady.exe
AGM.dll <---- photoshop also uses
CoolType.dll <---- photoshop also uses
JS32.dll
\Required\ADMPlugin.apl
\Required\ADMUI3.fon

----------------
to get the files from
ps55try.exe -(photoshop 5.5 Trial)
note**to extract the demo files with uniextract

1st) extracting \ps55try.exe to \ps55try\
2nd) extracting \ps55try\data1.cab to \ps55try\data1\

after folowing the above steps all files can be found within \ps55try\data1\

the information above was gained through trial and error process
----------------
adobe PhotoShop v5.5 Trial & Full, :> why not, only 9 mb [App Script] (Lancelot)

------------------


3 user(s) said "Thank you!" to rawral for this fantastic post:
amalux, Lancelot, TheHive
+Quote Post
post Aug 10 2008, 05:36 PM
Post #2
TheHive
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 14-July 06
Posts: 3,093
Thank(s): 77


I remember carrying Photoshop in my Zip Disk. lol!


--------------------
+Quote Post
post Aug 15 2008, 05:48 PM
Post #3
rawral
Frequent Member   ***
Group: Members

  Joined: 7-October 06
Posts: 129
Thank(s): 25


strange enough .. the first time i got to use photoshop(5.5) it was stored on zip
i had (with pc) from sk8er who got a web design job in sum caribian island rolleyes.gif
shure it might still around sumplace ..
laugh.gif almost forgot about that niceone!
+Quote Post
post Aug 15 2008, 07:14 PM
Post #4
Nuno Brito
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 13-July 06 From: Coimbra

Posts: 7,685
Thank(s): 311


Portugal


Good results.. laugh.gif

Have you also tried using UPX compression?

If you're keen on command line apps, try the UPX GUI from Damian: http://damian666.boot-land.net/downloads.html

Hope this shaves out some Mb's from disk size.. smile.gif


--------------------
+Quote Post
post Aug 15 2008, 09:50 PM
Post #5
rawral
Frequent Member   ***
Group: Members

  Joined: 7-October 06
Posts: 129
Thank(s): 25


yahoo.gif as it goes i hav had in the back of my mind to test out upx with this n that & also link2 this

[How to] UPX compress all files in subfolder
thanx thumbsup.gif

iv been trying to perfect my cmd/batch 4 this sort of situation
also upx via cmd looks graphicly kind of smooth all ready

-rawral






+Quote Post
post Aug 16 2008, 07:29 AM
Post #6
Lancelot
Frequent Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 8-May 08 From: Turkiye/Izmir

Posts: 3,520
Thank(s): 380


Turkiye


Everyday learning a new thing smile.gif

Here is a link
ftp://ftp.adobe.com/pub/adobe/magic/photo...5.x/ps55try.exe

Also:
Openin a folder named
Plugins
and writing these lines to photos55.ini
[Photoshop]
PLUGINDIRECTORY=.\Plug-Ins\

stops Photoshp.exe ask plugins directory at startup smile.gif

I also tried image ready 5.5 and photoshop 5.5 trial under LiveXP
Image ready v2.0 (from ps55try.exe) works nicely under LiveXP
but
Photoshop 5.5 trial insists on Giving "There is not enough memory (RAM) to launch Photoshop" under LiveXP
(i tried fbwf 512mb, also bootsdi with 193mb free space, also some other trials )


Thanks rawral, thumbup.gif cheers.gif


Nuno: may i ask is it legal to distrubute ps55try.exe ?
i read ReadMe.wri, sorry if i missed sth.


--------------------
1 user(s) said "Thank you!" to Lancelot for this fantastic post:
amalux
+Quote Post
post Aug 16 2008, 09:09 AM
Post #7
rawral
Frequent Member   ***
Group: Members

  Joined: 7-October 06
Posts: 129
Thank(s): 25



thanx for testing
QUOTE
"There is not enough memory (RAM) to launch Photoshop"

i think this is a criptic way of photoshop leting you know
it needs to have a 'page file' set ! huh.gif
thanx to paraglider
who has made this easy enough with SetPageFile Plugin
paraglidernc.com/Files/SetPageFile1008.cab


-legal to distrubute
i have found the same files @- mirrorservice.org/sites/ftp.adobe.com/pub/adobe/
so at least it can be downloded from non adobe site

also im not shure how or if this will work under 'live' enviroment ect,ect
but ... i have just found in the readme.wri

Multiprocessor Extension-MThread.8bx 'provides support for systems with multiple processors' smile.gif








+Quote Post
post Aug 16 2008, 11:37 AM
Post #8
Nuno Brito
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 13-July 06 From: Coimbra

Posts: 7,685
Thank(s): 311


Portugal


QUOTE (Lancelot @ Aug 16 2008, 07:29 AM) *
...
Nuno: may i ask is it legal to distrubute ps55try.exe ?
i read ReadMe.wri, sorry if i missed sth.


Let's read and understand what their license restricts or not regarding redistributing their software.

Would you send me by email their license file?

I can only find this page here: http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/license.html

But it's too generic, think there might be some other license exclusively for photoshop.

smile.gif


--------------------
+Quote Post
post Aug 16 2008, 11:59 AM
Post #9
Lancelot
Frequent Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 8-May 08 From: Turkiye/Izmir

Posts: 3,520
Thank(s): 380


Turkiye


Nuno Brito

Sorry, i should send these before
http://www.filefactory.com/file/7fe108/n/licensefiles_rar

in us.txt file there is this expression:
4. ....... You may, however, transfer all your rights to use the Software to another person or legal entity provided (1) that you transfer this Agreement.....

also Portugal.txt in it smile.gif

i hope these helps.


--------------------
+Quote Post
post Aug 16 2008, 04:01 PM
Post #10
Nuno Brito
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 13-July 06 From: Coimbra

Posts: 7,685
Thank(s): 311


Portugal


Thank you for the license.

It is not explicit about distribution by third party on a public site but assuming the same spirit of the law that they imply for home server I'd say that hosting them elsewhere is not seen with good eyes from Adobe (unfortunately).

But nevertheless, this download can be automated from their FTP site which should work almost as good and uniextract along with other UPX features can also be scripted if required.

smile.gif


--------------------
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic ()





Collapse

  Topic Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No New Posts PortableApps mit Alberich verwenden
Integration portabler Applikationen mit Windows PE-Systemen
1 Alberich 435 11th October 2009 - 11:17 AM
Last post by: Loisi
No New Posts Trial XP virtual machine to test IE
Straight from the MS site for testing purposes..
6 Nuno Brito 2,160 16th April 2007 - 03:09 PM
Last post by: Nuno Brito


Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum