IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Recommended
BootDisk.com

Active Users

10 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
LiveXP Troubleshooting, Various questions and answers
JohnBug
post Apr 13 2008, 12:37 AM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 12-April 08
Member No.: 14,426


Canada


Hi,
I'm new to winbuilder, I followed your tutorial and everything worked first shot.
I really like that ramboot which makes PE run nice and smooth.
Thank you for writing a clear quick and easy tut (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)

The only thing I'm missing is a way to make this project boot from usb disk or memory stick.
I maybe off topic but can anyone explain how to do this?

BTW I used the smaller streamlined project from the tutorial.

Thanks again
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wanderer
post Apr 13 2008, 10:38 AM
Post #2


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 11-February 07
Member No.: 3,230



Hi JohnBug,

Get PeToUSB.

http://gocoding.com/page.php?al=petousb

Check "Enable LBA (FAT16X) and "Enable File Copy", set "Overwrite Always".


Point to C:\lx40308ln\Target\LiveXP


Greetz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnBug
post Apr 13 2008, 02:03 PM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 12-April 08
Member No.: 14,426


Canada


Hi Wanderer,

Thanks for the reply.
I tried what said and it doesn't work. The project is copied to the usb stick but when i try to boot from it all i get is a black screen with a blinking cursor(nothing).
i'm using a Sandisk cruzer 2Gb memory stick and the PC is HP pavillion dv6000 laptop.
Could it be that it doesn't work with all combinations?

(IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/merc.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wanderer
post Apr 13 2008, 02:14 PM
Post #4


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 11-February 07
Member No.: 3,230



Hi JohnBug,

I have also a Sandisk cruzer 2Gb,so that cant be the problem.
QUOTE
Could it be that it doesn't work with all combinations?

I donnt no for sure,but maybe the HP pavillion dv6000 is the problem?

Could you boot the stick with dos files from the HP pavillion dv6000?

Please tell what directory's and files are on the USB-stick after PeToUSB.

Greetz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
amalux
post Apr 13 2008, 04:22 PM
Post #5


bug-catcher
***

Group: Tutorial Writer
Posts: 758
Thank(s): 63
Joined: 1-February 07
From: California
Member No.: 2,966


United States


QUOTE (JohnBug @ Apr 13 2008, 07:03 AM) *
Hi Wanderer,

Thanks for the reply.
I tried what said and it doesn't work. The project is copied to the usb stick but when i try to boot from it all i get is a black screen with a blinking cursor(nothing).
i'm using a Sandisk cruzer 2Gb memory stick and the PC is HP pavillion dv6000 laptop.
Could it be that it doesn't work with all combinations?

(IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/merc.gif)

Hi JohnBug and welcome to the forum!

Glad you liked the tut and found it helpful (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif) As to your issue, you've already received top-notch advice from wanderer, I can only offer a couple other things to check; my experience has been this is usually due to files being left on the stick; either stuff you've put on there or that came with the stick. Make sure you backup anything you need on the stick and then re-format (wipes clean). Use the hp format tool here. Also, make sure your laptop's BIOS is setup to boot from USB; if you have a 'Hard disk boot priority', check that your USB stick is listed and make it the first boot device (top, 1); if not listed, 'Boot other device' might need to be enabled. Do you know how to go in and check your BIOS settings ('F2' at boot)? If you need guidance, just ask (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif) The stick needs to be plugged in for this check and should be plugged directly into a MB port, not a hub. Keep trying, ask more questions as needed and good luck! (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnBug
post Apr 14 2008, 07:45 PM
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 12-April 08
Member No.: 14,426


Canada


Hi Amalux,

I tried with a acommdata usb hdd and it works on some machines in fact 2 out of 4.
The Sandisk memory stick just won't work anywhere.
Someone told me not long ago that booting from usb was unknown and unstable ground.
Now I know what he meant (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/blink.gif)

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wanderer
post Apr 14 2008, 08:07 PM
Post #7


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 11-February 07
Member No.: 3,230



You could also try BootFlashDOS,to test DOS booting with this USB-stick.

http://gocoding.com/page.php?al=bootflashdos

This tool puts command.com, io.sys, msdos.sys on the stick.Works also on Vista,only a bit slower then on XP is my experience.

Try one of the F-keys (F8)to get a boot menu,so you can select the USB-stick directly,instead making changes in the BIOS.

Gretz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MadWoodsman
post May 30 2008, 04:00 PM
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 28-May 08
From: Texas
Member No.: 15,517


United States


I am a bit Corn-Fused!

I have been able to build the projects without SDI and boot them sucessfully into a VM (using the ISO) or physical PC (using the CD), but I am not sure what to do with the RAM folder when I build a project ussing the SDI. Where is this folder supposed to go?

- MadWoodsman

btw- This tutorial really helped me get up to speed on this. Your gift is much appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post May 30 2008, 04:20 PM
Post #9


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 5,535
Thank(s): 87
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (MadWoodsman @ May 30 2008, 06:00 PM) *
I have been able to build the projects without SDI and boot them sucessfully into a VM (using the ISO) or physical PC (using the CD), but I am not sure what to do with the RAM folder when I build a project ussing the SDI. Where is this folder supposed to go?

You have 4 possibilities to build a running PE
  • 'Classic'
    • In Fundamentals, chose 'Ram Drive Letter' B: or R: and 'Settings Drive' = RamDrive
    • Include a Ram Drive script, e.g. ImDisk
    • Use Create ISO script
  • 'BootSDI' w/o Ram Drive
    • In Fundamentals, chose 'Ram Drive Letter' --
    • Do not include a Ram Drive script
    • Use BootSDI script
  • 'BootSDI' with Ram Drive and 'Documents and settings' on the RAM drive
    • In Fundamentals, chose 'Ram Drive Letter' B: or R: and 'Settings Drive' = RamDrive
    • Include a Ram Drive script, e.g. ImDisk
    • Use BootSDI script
  • 'BootSDI' with Ram Drive and 'Documents and settings' on the system drive
    • In Fundamentals, chose 'Ram Drive Letter' B: or R: and 'Settings Drive' = SystemDrive
    • Include a Ram Drive script, e.g. ImDisk
    • Use BootSDI script
The last 2 options are rather 'academic'. When having BootSDI, you do not need a RAM drive

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MadWoodsman
post May 30 2008, 05:01 PM
Post #10


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 28-May 08
From: Texas
Member No.: 15,517


United States


QUOTE (psc @ May 30 2008, 11:20 AM) *
You have 4 possibilities to build a running PE
  • 'Classic'
    • In Fundamentals, chose 'Ram Drive Letter' B: or R: and 'Settings Drive' = RamDrive
    • Include a Ram Drive script, e.g. ImDisk
    • Use Create ISO script
  • 'BootSDI' w/o Ram Drive
    • In Fundamentals, chose 'Ram Drive Letter' --
    • Do not include a Ram Drive script
    • Use BootSDI script
  • 'BootSDI' with Ram Drive and 'Documents and settings' on the RAM drive
    • In Fundamentals, chose 'Ram Drive Letter' B: or R: and 'Settings Drive' = RamDrive
    • Include a Ram Drive script, e.g. ImDisk
    • Use BootSDI script
  • 'BootSDI' with Ram Drive and 'Documents and settings' on the system drive
    • In Fundamentals, chose 'Ram Drive Letter' B: or R: and 'Settings Drive' = SystemDrive
    • Include a Ram Drive script, e.g. ImDisk
    • Use BootSDI script
The last 2 options are rather 'academic'. When having BootSDI, you do not need a RAM drive

Peter


I was using option 3, but it is still not clear to me where I need to put the RAM folder. When I try to boot the ISO it reports that "Windows failed to open the RAMDISK image".

I just tried option 2, but got an error that my Settings Drive points to a non-existent RAM drive. Settings Drive was left as "RAM Drive" under Fundamentals. If I change the Settings Drive to "System Drive" I don't get an error during the verify script, but I am not sure what I will have when the build completes (still building).

Option 4 sounds interesting.

- MadWoodsman
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · nativeEx & LiveXP · Next Newest »
 

10 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2008 - 10:04 AM

W3C XHTML • © 2008 Boot Land • All rights reserved • W3C CSS