IPB

There is 3 page(s)  1 Page : 2 Page : 3 Next page 
 
> Use PEinst by BART, Install PE to HD
 
 curare
post Oct 4 2006, 04:00 AM
Post #1


Frequent Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 104
Joined: 25-August 06
Member No.: 226


Philippines


I used the plugin by Bart to install PE build by WinBuilder to HD and it went okay.
No error whatsoever...
I then booted to the HD and get a good result; the problem was it never went to boot the whole installation.
It showed the setup something and the windows bootscreen, then after that is a black screen. Nothing else but black window.
No command prompt or other stuff.

So I tested the build created from Bart PEBuilder, and the result was fine.
I got the command prompt and able to run all apps with the build.

What do you think is the problem?

By the way I used the Standard project for WinBuilder.
And the typical build and plugins that comes with Bart PEBuilder.

hmmm...

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/confused1.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 Alexei
post Oct 4 2006, 09:27 AM
Post #2


Silver Member
****

Group: .script developer
Posts: 674
Joined: 30-August 06
Member No.: 283



QUOTE (curare @ Oct 3 2006, 09:00 PM) *
I used the plugin by Bart to install PE build by WinBuilder to HD and it went okay.
No error whatsoever...
I then booted to the HD and get a good result; the problem was it never went to boot the whole installation.
It showed the setup something and the windows bootscreen, then after that is a black screen. Nothing else but black window.
No command prompt or other stuff.

So I tested the build created from Bart PEBuilder, and the result was fine.
I got the command prompt and able to run all apps with the build.

What do you think is the problem?

By the way I used the Standard project for WinBuilder.
And the typical build and plugins that comes with Bart PEBuilder.

hmmm...

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/confused1.gif)


Most probably, it's drive geometry issue.
To fix it you can repartition and reformat HD by doing "normal" NT installation from CD, which should fix drive geometry and make it "NT bootable" (NT is any of W2K/XP/2003).
You can try following (kinda overkill, though):
- disconnect other drives (safety reasons),
- start installation from CD,
- delete all existing partitions
- create partitions you need (be aware 1st one should be less then 1024cyl)
- continue installation
- wait till it reboots OK
- reconnect other drives
- delete all files in the partition
- copy PE files (don't forget to rename I386 to minint)
It should boot now (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Alexei
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 curare
post Oct 5 2006, 08:51 AM
Post #3


Frequent Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 104
Joined: 25-August 06
Member No.: 226


Philippines


QUOTE (Alexei @ Oct 4 2006, 09:27 AM) *
Most probably, it's drive geometry issue.
To fix it you can repartition and reformat HD by doing "normal" NT installation from CD, which should fix drive geometry and make it "NT bootable" (NT is any of W2K/XP/2003).
You can try following (kinda overkill, though):
- disconnect other drives (safety reasons),
- start installation from CD,
- delete all existing partitions
- create partitions you need (be aware 1st one should be less then 1024cyl)
- continue installation
- wait till it reboots OK
- reconnect other drives
- delete all files in the partition
- copy PE files (don't forget to rename I386 to minint)
It should boot now (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Alexei


I'll check this out by weekend and post my results afterwards... And maybe (???) I'll create a script for this one and post it.

It will be a bang if a build can be installed on HD...


cheers
(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 TheHive
post Oct 5 2006, 12:27 PM
Post #4


Platinum Member
******

Group: .script developer
Posts: 2,858
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 5



QUOTE (curare @ Oct 5 2006, 03:51 AM) *
I'll check this out by weekend and post my results afterwards... And maybe (???) I'll create a script for this one and post it.

It will be a bang if a build can be installed on HD...
cheers
(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif)

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbup.gif) if you can create the script.
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 Alexei
post Oct 5 2006, 11:28 PM
Post #5


Silver Member
****

Group: .script developer
Posts: 674
Joined: 30-August 06
Member No.: 283



QUOTE (curare @ Oct 5 2006, 01:51 AM) *
It will be a bang if a build can be installed on HD...

Yes, it can (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
However, making a script is not enough. HD should be partitioned and formatted with correct geometry, i.e. same as BIOS sees it. If you do partitioning from running windows, it assumes some default geometry that may be different (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)
With USB it's much more complicated (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Alexei
PS
Here is a script to prepare Build for booting from HD:
CODE
[main]
Title=Prepare to HDD
Selected=false
Level=9
Locked=false
Author=Alexei Chipovalov
Version=001
Contact=http://www.boot-land.net/forums
Date=09sept2006
Credits=
Description=This script converts output prepared in the Target directory to the form you need to run your build from hard drive. THIS SCRIPT IS INCOMPATIBLE WITH "Create ISO" AND "Run ISO in qEmu".

[process]
FileCopy,"%TargetDir%\I386\SETUPLDR.BIN","%TargetDir%\NTLDR"
FileCopy,"%TargetDir%\I386\NTDETECT.COM","%TargetDir%\NTDETECT.COM"
FileRename,"%TargetDir%\I386","%TargetDir%\minint"
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 curare
post Oct 9 2006, 01:53 AM
Post #6


Frequent Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 104
Joined: 25-August 06
Member No.: 226


Philippines


Hi all,

The plugin by Bart Lagerweij actually work!!!
(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/roll1.gif)

The only problem was that, it does not work on a Explorer shell (either invoked or not by PELoader). You'll need to use a different shell...

In my experiment, cmd.exe as a shell invoked by PELoader.
eeeer... I think I mess up there...

I used PELoader that invoked CMD.exe and from command line I launch Explorer.
Or better say, I used Explorer as a second shell… or third shell..

PELoader then CMD to Explorer…

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
curare
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 curare
post Oct 9 2006, 02:50 AM
Post #7


Frequent Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 104
Joined: 25-August 06
Member No.: 226


Philippines


Script is here...
if ever the HD don't boot properly ... I added additonal script to fix MBR.

Editted and replaced a new version of PEinst.script
Attached File(s)
Attached File  MBRFIX.script ( 217.55K ) Number of downloads: 65
Attached File  peinst.script ( 63.63K ) Number of downloads: 59
 
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 TheHive
post Oct 9 2006, 06:16 AM
Post #8


Platinum Member
******

Group: .script developer
Posts: 2,858
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 5



The peinst.script doesnt create the shorcuts.
It create the folder and the files in the x drive. When I launch it from the X Programs folder. The command promp with the options come up.
During boot up to the desktop i get this error.
(IMG:http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/365/installpepb1.th.jpg)


The MRB thing does create shortcuts. When would you use it.
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 curare
post Oct 9 2006, 06:39 AM
Post #9


Frequent Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 104
Joined: 25-August 06
Member No.: 226


Philippines


QUOTE (TheHive @ Oct 9 2006, 06:16 AM) *
The peinst.script doesnt create the shorcuts.
It create the folder and the files in the x drive. When I launch it from the X Programs folder. The command promp with the options come up.
During boot up to the desktop i get this error.
(IMG:http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/365/installpepb1.th.jpg)
The MRB thing does create shortcuts. When would you use it.

I did not actually enabled the create shortcuts on my build for Peinst.script to save space for ram.
Maybe I did something wrong with it.
I'm only a few days old with this stuff anyway..

I'll check that out.
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 Nuno Brito
post Oct 9 2006, 11:25 AM
Post #10


Platinum Member
******

Group: .script developer
Posts: 7,008
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


Very good work curare!

This can be solved using the variable %PEdrive%, wich is usually setup to "X:"

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
 
 
 

There is 3 page(s)  1 Page : 2 Page : 3 Next page
 
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Collapse

>

  Topic Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No New Posts Use linux dd prog to create USB Image - need some help
7 Zozel 160 31st January 2009 - 08:01 PM
Last post by: Zozel
No New Posts Topic has attachments use BSexplorer
boot directly to bsexplorer
11 twindude 192 30th January 2009 - 03:33 PM
Last post by: twindude
No New Posts Use TFTP32 with another DHCP Server
I dont want to use the included DHCP...
1 Bona 2,193 5th January 2009 - 09:44 AM
Last post by: duratia
No New Posts BartPE-Win XP Pro with XPE Desktop
Will not run in Ramdisk
1 tepot 234 30th November 2008 - 06:02 AM
Last post by: jaclaz
No new Posts Topic has attachments BartPECore
Preinstallation Environment Melting Pot
65 thunn 21,877 24th November 2008 - 07:13 AM
Last post by: thunn


 
menu_build_menu( "topicreferrals", new Array( img_item + " peinst   10 clicks", img_item + " peinst   6 clicks", img_item + " http://search.live.com/re...ts.aspx?q=topic   2 clicks", img_item + " peinst usb   1 clicks", img_item + " peinst mbr fix   1 clicks", img_item + " bart peinst   1 clicks", img_item + " peinst ntldr   1 clicks", img_item + " http://search.msn.com/res...ts.aspx?q=topic   1 clicks", img_item + " run fixmbr from freedos...s command shell   1 clicks", img_item + " bart plugins   1 clicks", img_item + " how to use peinst   1 clicks", img_item + " what is peinst   1 clicks", img_item + " peinst help   1 clicks", img_item + " pebuilder peinst   1 clicks", img_item + " st for dos   1 clicks", img_item + " using peinst to make bootable hdd   1 clicks" ) );

RSS "Boot-Land.net", "WinBuilder" Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th February 2009 - 04:34 PM