Digg this topic Add to my del.icio.us Submit to SlashDot 3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> [project] PicoXP goes HoJoPE, Second step: Building setupreg.hiv from scratch.
Rating 5 V
psc
post Sep 29 2006, 03:53 PM
Post #21


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 3,152
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (Alexei @ Sep 29 2006, 05:28 PM) *
I completely disagree (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbdown.gif)
Everything must be created from scratch at each build. The reason is simple - realibility! If you make the build depend on results of previous ones (that's what "if necessary" actually means), you would end up with less reliable solution (regardless of how careful you're gonna track changes, analyze the situation, or whatever...)
If general statements do not work for you, here some examples: SP was applied to the source, user placed updated source to the same place, other scripts updated, whole PC restore from backup, experiments with cloned project, debugging/testing, and many other situations that you have to support (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)
Dealing with "system" stuff we should always prefer stability to timing issues. Yes, always (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Sorry, if it sounds too agressive/pushy/emotional...
(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Alexei
PS
However, if you want to save developer's time you may allow him to disable "preparation" script manually, which should lead to using already created files/scripts. That would be clean solution, kind of "you got what you asked for" (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif) , with possible error message "File *** does not exist, please enable *** script"


You completely misunderstood: (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/ohmy.gif)
The previously encoded setupreg.hiv, software and txtsetup.sif are now generated once depending on the install CD.
Whenever the user wants he can creating them again by clicking a button.

Of course every build starts with these standards, no dependency on a previous build! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/idea.gif)

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alexei
post Sep 29 2006, 04:15 PM
Post #22


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 533
Joined: 30-August 06
Member No.: 283



QUOTE (psc @ Sep 29 2006, 03:42 AM) *
If you have a look into txtsetup.ctl and setupreg.hiv.ctl you see what I mean. These .ctl files are substitutes for the options you mentioned.
So, how to get control over contents of the .ctl files? (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
What support you plan to offer to include/exclude "components"?
Somebody wants to boot from 1394 (txtsetup issue), what he should do?
Somebody wants to access exotic SCSI (setupreg issue), what he should do?
In general, let's make it modular (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
I mean having several .ctl files and giving user control over which to include into what (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
For example (not good example though): USB support choises: txtsetup/setupreg/drivers/ignore (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
How would you support such stuff otherwise?
If you mean developers would write updates to results of already processed .ctl, that's not good because: 1. to much work, 2. tends to duplications 3. changes in core (.ctl) may require changes in updating scripts. Not good (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)
What do you think?
(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Alexei
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Sep 29 2006, 04:26 PM
Post #23


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 3,152
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (Alexei @ Sep 29 2006, 06:15 PM) *
So, how to get control over contents of the .ctl files? (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
What support you plan to offer to include/exclude "components"?

No support scheduled! Once again: The files are used to generate the basic files which currently are encoded.
QUOTE (Alexei @ Sep 29 2006, 06:15 PM) *
Somebody wants to boot from 1394 (txtsetup issue), what he should do?
Somebody wants to access exotic SCSI (setupreg issue), what he should do?

Same way like it works now: He has to write a script, doing the necessary copies, registry entries etc.
QUOTE (Alexei @ Sep 29 2006, 06:15 PM) *
In general, let's make it modular (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
I mean having several .ctl files and giving user control over which to include into what (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)


Waiting for your detailed concept to be posted here.

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alexei
post Sep 29 2006, 04:41 PM
Post #24


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 533
Joined: 30-August 06
Member No.: 283



QUOTE (psc @ Sep 29 2006, 08:53 AM) *
Maybe (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
QUOTE (psc @ Sep 29 2006, 08:53 AM) *
The previously encoded setupreg.hiv, software and txtsetup.sif are now generated once depending on the install CD.
When they were ecoded, they were created (extracted from the script) at each build (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif) Does "generated once" means "generated by one of presious previous builds"?
QUOTE (psc @ Sep 29 2006, 08:53 AM) *
Whenever the user wants he can creating them again by clicking a button.
Do you mean "Run" button?

It may be just terminology, though (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif) I call "build" the process that is started by clicking "Run" button. It would be logical to call it "building", but "building" means the thing that was built (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif) ***ing english (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
So, to me, if something was created by clicking "Run" and then used after second click on "Run" means the Build uses results of previous Build. And that's what I meant in my previous post.
(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Alexei
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Sep 29 2006, 05:10 PM
Post #25


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 3,152
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


As one sample - for me the finish of this discussion

Attached Image

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alexei
post Sep 29 2006, 05:58 PM
Post #26


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 533
Joined: 30-August 06
Member No.: 283



QUOTE (psc @ Sep 29 2006, 10:10 AM) *
As one sample - for me the finish of this discussion

Attached Image

Peter

My bad (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif) (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif) (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif) (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif)
Alexei
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alexei
post Oct 2 2006, 12:05 PM
Post #27


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 533
Joined: 30-August 06
Member No.: 283



QUOTE (psc @ Sep 29 2006, 09:26 AM) *
No support scheduled! Once again: The files are used to generate the basic files which currently are encoded.

Same way like it works now: He has to write a script, doing the necessary copies, registry entries etc.
Waiting for your detailed concept to be posted here.

Peter


"detailed concept" will follow, just give me some time (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Alexei
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NOX
post Mar 29 2007, 07:05 PM
Post #28


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 19-March 07
Member No.: 4,500



dream: hojoPE on 32Mb usb-stick
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheHive
post Apr 8 2007, 07:41 AM
Post #29


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,887
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 5



The latest addons.
Administrative Tools dont look good on desktop. Links are already on Start menu.
The only tool giving an erros is DiskManagement.

Attached Image


Attached Image




Qemu seems to not be the default Test emulator selected to run. Virtual Box seems to be default.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MedEvil
post Apr 8 2007, 01:27 PM
Post #30


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,295
Joined: 29-December 06
Member No.: 2,192



QUOTE (TheHive @ Apr 8 2007, 09:41 AM) *
The latest addons.
Administrative Tools dont look good on desktop. Links are already on Start menu.
The only tool giving an erros is DiskManagement.

Attached Image


Attached Image

Qemu seems to not be the default Test emulator selected to run. Virtual Box seems to be default.

DiskManagement worked flawless in stadard model in WB052 with FBWF.
Maybe this givees someone a hint on where to look for the problem.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · Projects · Next Newest »
 

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic

Members Who Viewed Topic Today ()

 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th October 2007 - 11:15 AM

MKPortal ©2003-2006 mkportal.it