Digg this topic Add to my del.icio.us Submit to SlashDot 3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> [project] PicoXP goes HoJoPE, Second step: Building setupreg.hiv from scratch.
Rating 5 V
TheHive
post Sep 28 2006, 08:36 AM
Post #11


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,887
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 5



QUOTE (psc @ Sep 27 2006, 04:37 PM) *
@TheHive,

Many thanks for your careful tests. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
(Sometimes I have the opinion: If you do not post, everything is ok (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbup.gif) )
I'm glad: Your post shows me that with my HoJoPE delivering everything seems to be ok.
(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/1st.gif)


QUOTE
The error in the log is caused by the version of WinBuilder you have.
It is supposed to be a 'feature' of the currently released WinBuilder version. Nuno already posted a beta version which handles this issue correct. I think that this version will become the official version soon.

I was testing with latest beta 4 version. But the version you linked to, seems to build without reporting any errors in the log. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smart.gif) .


QUOTE
Is there anything German (would be dreadful)?

Not dreadful. Just wont be able to understand all of it very well. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/blush.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alexei
post Sep 28 2006, 10:29 AM
Post #12


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 533
Joined: 30-August 06
Member No.: 283



QUOTE (TheHive @ Sep 28 2006, 01:36 AM) *
(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/1st.gif)
I was testing with latest beta 4 version. But the version you linked to, seems to build without reporting any errors in the log. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smart.gif) .
Not dreadful. Just wont be able to understand all of it very well. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/blush.gif)

Same happend with me (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
BTW, WinBuilder needs to show full version id in the title (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Unfortunately, still doesn't look good, see attached (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)
But it works (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Alexei
Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
Attached Image
Attached Image
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nuno Brito
post Sep 28 2006, 10:38 AM
Post #13


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,279
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


It doesn't look good indeed.. I wonder why? (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/blink.gif)

Full version on title should provide better info on the currently used beta, I'll add it! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)


I've also noticed that you're using a system font and no XP themes, can you describe a little the specs of your machine and OS to get a better idea on the differences from my own?

Perhaps this way I can figure where to adapt the interface..

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alexei
post Sep 28 2006, 12:09 PM
Post #14


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 533
Joined: 30-August 06
Member No.: 283



QUOTE (Nuno Brito @ Sep 28 2006, 03:38 AM) *
It doesn't look good indeed.. I wonder why? (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/blink.gif)

Full version on title should provide better info on the currently used beta, I'll add it! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
I've also noticed that you're using a system font and no XP themes, can you describe a little the specs of your machine and OS to get a better idea on the differences from my own?

Perhaps this way I can figure where to adapt the interface..
(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

It's 2003, "Large Size(120DPI)", 1280x768-32bit,
Modified "Windows Classic style" theme:
ActiveTitleBar[20] - Microsoft Sans Serif[9,B]
Message Box[20] - MS Sans Serif[8]
Menu[20] - MS Sans Serif[8,B]
Icon[32] - Microsoft Sans Serif[8,B]
Caption Buttons[20]
Icon Spacing H=50 V=50
Scroll Bar[20]
Active Window Border[1]
, where in Item[S] - Font[N,B] S-size, N-font size, B-bold

Another one is similar, but it's W2K, 1152x864, 120DPI, size 22-10, large fonts
another - 1260x768, sizes 8-10 and 20-11, small fonts
another - 1024x768, sizes 18-10 and 22-12, small fonts

When you say it's ready I would test on all of them (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif)

It's rather unusual way of doing this, but you can adjust font size to fit window (also on "resize"-event). That would eliminate the problem (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif) However, max font N should be defined, to avoid comic look after "Maximize" (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Sorry, bothering you with my custom settings (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Alexei

Also:
Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image

Attached Image
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nuno Brito
post Sep 28 2006, 02:40 PM
Post #15


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,279
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


Thanks for the details!!

I'll work on them.. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbup.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smiley
post Sep 28 2006, 04:24 PM
Post #16


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,020
Joined: 11-August 06
Member No.: 149


Greece


Doeas this copy all the contents of the ***hive.inf in the hives?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Sep 28 2006, 05:30 PM
Post #17


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 3,152
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (smiley @ Sep 28 2006, 06:24 PM) *
Doeas this copy all the contents of the ***hive.inf in the hives?


No.
It first copies setupreg.hiv and deletes unnecessary keys.
Then it includes only those keys from hivesys.inf and dmreg.inf which are necessary to build a new setupreg.hiv suited to run PicoXP.

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smiley
post Sep 29 2006, 10:06 AM
Post #18


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,020
Joined: 11-August 06
Member No.: 149


Greece


Can you make one to aork for the standard project like tihis?
-The script will tell to the program which .inf files to open
-The script will have the option to copy all the contents of the inf files
-The hives.script will have advanced options to select some parts of the infs not to include.


Smiley
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Sep 29 2006, 10:42 AM
Post #19


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 3,152
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (smiley @ Sep 29 2006, 12:06 PM) *
Can you make one to aork for the standard project like tihis?
-The script will tell to the program which .inf files to open
-The script will have the option to copy all the contents of the inf files
-The hives.script will have advanced options to select some parts of the infs not to include.
Smiley


Step bys Step ...
First I'll finish the PicoXP part:
- The software hive is still encoded.
- The logical flow of the project has to be tuned: Generate hives, txtsetup.sif etc. only when necessary (after a install CD change or with a new version of the script). In the other cases just do a copy of the existing files.

Next will be the Standard project. But that will be done by only adding several @2 lines to the existing control files, no logic or program changes..

If you have a look into txtsetup.ctl and setupreg.hiv.ctl you see what I mean. These .ctl files are substitutes for the options you mentioned.

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alexei
post Sep 29 2006, 03:28 PM
Post #20


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 533
Joined: 30-August 06
Member No.: 283



QUOTE (psc @ Sep 29 2006, 03:42 AM) *
- The logical flow of the project has to be tuned: Generate hives, txtsetup.sif etc. only when necessary (after a install CD change or with a new version of the script). In the other cases just do a copy of the existing files.
I completely disagree (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbdown.gif)
Everything must be created from scratch at each build. The reason is simple - realibility! If you make the build depend on results of previous ones (that's what "if necessary" actually means), you would end up with less reliable solution (regardless of how careful you're gonna track changes, analyze the situation, or whatever...)
If general statements do not work for you, here some examples: SP was applied to the source, user placed updated source to the same place, other scripts updated, whole PC restore from backup, experiments with cloned project, debugging/testing, and many other situations that you have to support (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)
Dealing with "system" stuff we should always prefer stability to timing issues. Yes, always (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Sorry, if it sounds too agressive/pushy/emotional...
(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Alexei
PS
However, if you want to save developer's time you may allow him to disable "preparation" script manually, which should lead to using already created files/scripts. That would be clean solution, kind of "you got what you asked for" (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif) , with possible error message "File *** does not exist, please enable *** script"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · Projects · Next Newest »
 

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic

Members Who Viewed Topic Today ()

 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th October 2007 - 11:14 AM

MKPortal ©2003-2006 mkportal.it