Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )
Digg this topic Add to my del.icio.us Submit to SlashDot 2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Networking solved by not autostarting PENetwork
pepo
post Oct 10 2007, 04:17 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 5-October 07
Member No.: 11,063


United Kingdom


Using Winbuilder 072a to build LiveXP and XP+SP2 to build from

I have been trying to build a LiveXP CD which installed networking.
At first I selected the autostart option under PENetwork.
When I booted from the CD networking was started but my network card appeared to be installed twice
(the name of the card appeared once and then falshed up very briefly a second time)
PE Network Manager did not list any network cards
I could not then access the network and Device Manager showed the following error for the network card
- Windows cannot load the device driver for the hardware because a previous nistance of the driver is still in memory.

After a lot of frustration I have just tried the following.
Build LiveXP but with the autostart option for PENetwork not selected.
Include in the build the drivers for the network card by providing a path in the 'Add drivers from this directory' textbox
Create a CD from the ISO file.
Boot from the CD
When boot has finished open a command prompt
Enter the following command 'startnet -l -c p -i ms_tcpip -pnp'
Networking then starts without any problems and the network is visible
Running PE Network Manager from the desktop icon now displays the expected network info, i.e. ip addresses, and also showed the correct netwrok card.

Note: startnet is in the System32 folder of the build. Entering 'startnet' at the command prompt gives a list of possible options. Other options you might need are -wg to chage the workgroup and -cn to change the computer name.

Looks like PE Network Manager has a problem but at least I have finally found a workround!
Hopefully Holger will rectify the problem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Oct 10 2007, 04:28 PM
Post #2


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,396
Thank(s): 15
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (pepo @ Oct 10 2007, 06:17 PM) *
Using Winbuilder 072a to build LiveXP and XP+SP2 to build from

Hi Pepo!
Welcome in our forum.

Sorry that you have troubles with PENetwork.
With your constellation (exactly like mine) I'v had never such issues you are speaking about.

Therefore there must be a difference.

Did you define a configuration in PENetwork.Script?

It would be helpful, if you post the log.html here

If not yet familar, how-to:
  • Build your project
  • Click the 'Log' tab
  • Click 'Save as log.html'
  • With explorer, go to %BaseDir% (the folder where WinBuilder.exe resides)
  • Zip 'log.html' and post here
Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Oct 10 2007, 04:56 PM
Post #3


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,396
Thank(s): 15
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


Sorry, Pepo,

The first time I did not read your post carefully enough.

So, forget my previous post, the issue seems to be more specific.
(would be nice if you post the .log inspite)

Suggestion:

In the PENetwork.Script there is a checkbox 'Debug' (very bottom)

Check this, and post the PENMDebug.txt, generated in you PE's %Temp%

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JusGellin
post Oct 11 2007, 10:05 AM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 30-August 07
Member No.: 10,355


United States


QUOTE
Enter the following command 'startnet -l -c p -i ms_tcpip -pnp'
Networking then starts without any problems and the network is visible


I tried this on a Dell laptop that won't connect with its Broadcom driver. See my previous problem:
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?...ic=3102&hl=

But when I try this, it says:

Detecting devices...
Try to instll component: ms_tcpip
InstallResult -> 0x00000000

And it still doesn't connect! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/confused1.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pepo
post Oct 11 2007, 12:47 PM
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 5-October 07
Member No.: 11,063


United Kingdom


Attached are the driver files I used - a zipped folder
(My card is a Broadcom NetExtreme Gigabit Ethernet)
Also attached is the PENMDebug.txt generated when
manually running PENetwork to start networking
(i.e. autostart not selected in the build)

Looking at the log file its shows the following two lines in two different places
IN: DeviceFound: Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
IN: DeviceDriverFile: x:\i386\inf\b57win32.inf

The second time these lines are logged an ER (error?) line follows.

This suggests, as previously thought, that the driver is being installed twice by PENetwork
(The problem does not arise when starting the network with startnet)
Attached File(s)
Attached File  NIC.zip ( 156.97K ) Number of downloads: 29
Attached File  PENMDebug.txt ( 17.32K ) Number of downloads: 20
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pepo
post Oct 11 2007, 01:03 PM
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 5-October 07
Member No.: 11,063


United Kingdom


JusGellin - The log file you posted on your post shows you have get a very similar problem to me - but not identical

The relevant lines from your log file are
23.09.2007;18:49:21 -> IN: DeviceFound: Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
23.09.2007;18:49:21 -> IN: DeviceDriverFile: x:\i386\inf\oem8.inf
23.09.2007;18:49:27 -> OK: UpdateDriverForPlugAndPlayDevicesA
23.09.2007;18:49:28 -> OK: SetupDiEnumDriverInfoA
23.09.2007;18:49:28 -> OK: SetupDiGetDriverInfoDetailA
23.09.2007;18:49:28 -> OK: SetupDiGetDriverInfoDetailA
23.09.2007;18:49:28 -> OK: SetupDiGetINFClassA
23.09.2007;18:49:28 -> IN: DeviceFound: Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controller
23.09.2007;18:49:28 -> IN: DeviceDriverFile: x:\i386\inf\oem8.inf
23.09.2007;18:49:28 -> OK: UpdateDriverForPlugAndPlayDevicesA
23.09.2007;18:49:28 -> ER: SetupDiEnumDriverInfoA: 259

This is the same as my log file except the second 'DeviceFound' line in my log file is the same as the first
i.e. both say 'IN: DeviceFound: Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet'
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Holger
post Oct 11 2007, 10:50 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 258
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Munich
Member No.: 120


Germany


QUOTE (pepo @ Oct 11 2007, 03:03 PM) *
JusGellin - The log file you posted on your post shows you have get a very similar problem to me - but not identical

The relevant lines from your log file are
23.09.2007;18:49:21 -> IN: DeviceFound: Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
23.09.2007;18:49:21 -> IN: DeviceDriverFile: x:\i386\inf\oem8.inf
23.09.2007;18:49:27 -> OK: UpdateDriverForPlugAndPlayDevicesA
23.09.2007;18:49:28 -> OK: SetupDiEnumDriverInfoA
23.09.2007;18:49:28 -> OK: SetupDiGetDriverInfoDetailA
23.09.2007;18:49:28 -> OK: SetupDiGetDriverInfoDetailA
23.09.2007;18:49:28 -> OK: SetupDiGetINFClassA
23.09.2007;18:49:28 -> IN: DeviceFound: Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controller
23.09.2007;18:49:28 -> IN: DeviceDriverFile: x:\i386\inf\oem8.inf
23.09.2007;18:49:28 -> OK: UpdateDriverForPlugAndPlayDevicesA
23.09.2007;18:49:28 -> ER: SetupDiEnumDriverInfoA: 259

This is the same as my log file except the second 'DeviceFound' line in my log file is the same as the first
i.e. both say 'IN: DeviceFound: Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet'


The driver install parameters are the same: in the script and in startnet.
The install procedure looks for the 'best' driver.
Hmmm...the more I think about it the more I also think that is not really logical....
Yesterday I finished my machine-reinstalling (mainboard was damaged, now replaced) so far so I can do some scripting on saturday again (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Finally (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
One week ago I started to replace some commands/functions cause of some Autoit-changes.
Will keep you up to date in the other topic...
So long...and thanks for testing so much (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Holger

Edit: I will make a change that if the first installation was successfull the driver installation loop for this device exists...making some brainstorming...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jaclaz
post Oct 12 2007, 07:12 AM
Post #8


Finder
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 1,910
Thank(s): 18
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 2


Italy


Cannot say if it would apply to this case (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/unsure.gif) , but as a general rule when we are talking about auto-start items of any kind, very often the cause can be some timing problems, in a number of cases introducing a small delay or changing the order in which autostart items are loaded can solve problems like this.

jaclaz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Holger
post Oct 13 2007, 04:35 PM
Post #9


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 258
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Munich
Member No.: 120


Germany


Pepo was right.
There is a small difference between my "startnet" and the 'internal' script-commands in PENetwork.
I will change it later - at the moment I study again these driver-install-steps and think about these again...
Maybe tomorrow I can publish a new version with these bug solved and some others too.
So long...
Holger
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JusGellin
post Oct 25 2007, 01:58 PM
Post #10


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Thank(s): 0
Joined: 30-August 07
Member No.: 10,355


United States


QUOTE (pepo @ Oct 10 2007, 10:17 AM) *
Using Winbuilder 072a to build LiveXP and XP+SP2 to build from

I have been trying to build a LiveXP CD which installed networking.
At first I selected the autostart option under PENetwork.
When I booted from the CD networking was started but my network card appeared to be installed twice
(the name of the card appeared once and then falshed up very briefly a second time)
PE Network Manager did not list any network cards
I could not then access the network and Device Manager showed the following error for the network card
- Windows cannot load the device driver for the hardware because a previous nistance of the driver is still in memory.

After a lot of frustration I have just tried the following.
Build LiveXP but with the autostart option for PENetwork not selected.
Include in the build the drivers for the network card by providing a path in the 'Add drivers from this directory' textbox
Create a CD from the ISO file.
Boot from the CD
When boot has finished open a command prompt
Enter the following command 'startnet -l -c p -i ms_tcpip -pnp'
Networking then starts without any problems and the network is visible
Running PE Network Manager from the desktop icon now displays the expected network info, i.e. ip addresses, and also showed the correct netwrok card.

Note: startnet is in the System32 folder of the build. Entering 'startnet' at the command prompt gives a list of possible options. Other options you might need are -wg to chage the workgroup and -cn to change the computer name.

Looks like PE Network Manager has a problem but at least I have finally found a workround!
Hopefully Holger will rectify the problem



Wow! everyone else must be successful in making the xp builds work with networking. I'm still stuck in making them work on my Dell Lattitude D620 with Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet NIC. Does anyone else have problems like this?

It works with the VistaPE and BartPE as well as normally on XP.

I've tried all the things that were suggested to me without success. I tried pepo's fix with preventing penetwork from starting and then just using startnet. It finds the driver and installs it but when it tries to install ms_tcpip it gives "InstallResult -> 0x00000000, which seems to prevent the networking from working.

I sure would like to solve this. This prevents me from doing anything else that everyone else is doing as indicated by this forum. So if anyone could help me get over this hump, I would most greatly appreciate it so I can go on to better things with this.

Thanks for all the support I have had on this.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic

Members Who Viewed Topic Today ()

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 11th May 2008 - 03:20 AM

MKPortal ©2003-2008 mkportal.it