Digg this topic Add to my del.icio.us Submit to SlashDot 3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Release candidate of plop with USB support
ktp
post Oct 9 2007, 10:11 AM
Post #21


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 136
Joined: 16-February 07
Member No.: 3,365



QUOTE(jaclaz @ Oct 9 2007, 11:30 AM) *
Good! (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Can you post the command line you used to start them in Qemu?

CODE
qemu -M pc -fda plpbt50rc1.ima  -boot a -hda i:\outputiso\small_hdd.ima -m 256 -localtime -net nic -L .

The above command allows booting from the plop diskette then install it on the hard disk small_hdd.ima
Then the following command (-fda removed) allows booting from the small_hdd and experiment with plop (MBR written):
CODE
qemu -M pc -hda i:\outputiso\small_hdd.ima -m 256 -localtime -net nic -L .



QUOTE(jaclaz @ Oct 9 2007, 11:30 AM) *
Did ALL images boot?

I did not experiment all of them, but I "feel" that they should all work. :-)

QUOTE(jaclaz @ Oct 9 2007, 11:30 AM) *
Using grub4dos installed in the MBR of "main" virtual disk, right?

I did not remember exactly, but probably yes.

QUOTE(jaclaz @ Oct 9 2007, 11:30 AM) *
Also, and for the record, a HD image mapped to memory won't actually boot a NT based system, only DOS/W9x/Me/Linux ones.

OK, but a HDD image "normal" map (no --mem option) works. The image need to be contiguous though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jaclaz
post Oct 9 2007, 11:36 AM
Post #22


Finder
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 1,140
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 2


Italy


QUOTE(ktp)
OK, but a HDD image "normal" map (no --mem option) works. The image need to be contiguous though.


Are you sure? (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/hyper.gif)

Can you post the entry you used and some more details?

jaclaz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ktp
post Oct 9 2007, 12:39 PM
Post #23


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 136
Joined: 16-February 07
Member No.: 3,365



@jaclaz
Here it is:

CODE
fsz i:\outputiso\hdd_img.img 740275200

hdd_img.pln:
DRIVETYPE     ide
CYLINDERS     90
HEADS         255
SECTORS       63
ACCESS        "i:\outputiso\hdd_img.img" 0 1445850

ptedit32
0b-80-0-1-1-89-254-63-63-1445787

menu.lst (booting the HDD image inside another hard disk):
title boot HDD image
find --set-root /grldr
map (hd0,0)/hdd_img.img (hd0)
map --hook
chainloader (hd0)+1
rootnoverify (hd0)


Note: I used your spreadsheet smallimgs.xls to compute this HDD size around 705 MB.
I just retested once again under QEMU and all works perfectly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jaclaz
post Oct 9 2007, 02:58 PM
Post #24


Finder
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 1,140
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 2


Italy


Nice! (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

But what I meant was did you managed to install and boot a 2K or XP system on that image?

(I would have sworn that one would get a BSOD when the NT based system starts booting)

jaclaz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ktp
post Oct 9 2007, 03:12 PM
Post #25


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 136
Joined: 16-February 07
Member No.: 3,365



During my experimentation I put VistaPE on it and boots OK Vista OK until QEMU
causes problem with ql40xx.sys (QLogic SCSI miniport). I know this is only a problem with Vista
because I cannot boot VistaPE under QEMU (but VistaPE under VirtualPC 2007 is OK, or under vmware).

Note: all that are done under simulation, I did try on real laptop but then get grub4dos Error 30 read error
at the line:
chainloader (hd0)+1

No clue?

I then change to big floppy image format, and now it works. Refer to this topic:
http://www.911cd.net/forums//index.php?sho...mp;#entry137275

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jaclaz
post Oct 9 2007, 05:07 PM
Post #26


Finder
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 1,140
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 2


Italy


Yep, I saw it, but that is VISTA, that appears to have a rather different way of booting.

I was talking about 2K/XP/2003. (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/rolleyes.gif)

jaclaz

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ktp
post Oct 9 2007, 06:09 PM
Post #27


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 136
Joined: 16-February 07
Member No.: 3,365



@jaclaz

You are right. I retried with BartPE and got BSOD 0x6b process1_initialization_failed.
But could it be due to QEMU too, but I don't know how to test under VirtualPC2007 or VMware with diskimage.
I think I'd rather stop experimenting for the moment on the subject booting hard disk image :-).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic

Collapse

> Similar Topics

  Topic Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No New Posts Topic has attachmentsUSB build booting from RAM
with external applications on stick
1 edborg 644 6th October 2007 - 10:27 AM
Last post by: Xtremee
No New Posts USBDevice.script
Copy VISTA-PE to Any USB Device
1 DrZharn 481 25th September 2007 - 07:26 PM
Last post by: Xagend
No New Posts USB stick boots DOS but not Windows?
3 bwana 623 11th September 2007 - 03:26 PM
Last post by: DrZharn
No new Topic has attachmentsUSB mouse drivers for nativeEx
26 amalux 888 3rd August 2007 - 05:32 AM
Last post by: amalux
No New Posts USB Install XP (2 partitions)
4 vrocco 1,055 6th July 2007 - 07:01 AM
Last post by: TheHive


 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline


- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2007 - 01:18 PM

MKPortal ©2003-2006 mkportal.it