Digg this topic Add to my del.icio.us Submit to SlashDot 2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> MMC links in control panel, No longer missing Administrative Tools link
Galapo
post Oct 7 2007, 11:15 PM
Post #11


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 205
Joined: 16-July 06
From: Sydney
Member No.: 11


Australia


Hi Peter,

Thanks for testing. Unfortunately, I only have an English source for XP, so I am unable to test other languages.

Strangely, nativeEx_barebone English XP source worked for me with icons showing, whereas you reported that this was not the case for you. Not sure what's different.

Attached is a new version which adds the following registry entry.
CODE
RegWrite,HKLM,0x2,"Tmp_software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders","Common Administrative Tools","#$pALLUSERSPROFILE#$p\%startmenufolder%\%programsfolder%\%admintoolsfolder%"


See if it makes a difference.

Regards,
Galapo.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  MMC.script ( 35.03K ) Number of downloads: 12
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaemonForce
post Oct 8 2007, 06:23 AM
Post #12


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 29-August 07
From: SEA
Member No.: 10,328


United States


Don't listen to my posts about anything to do with start menu icons. My XPPE is developed with hard-set icons that are present prior to launch in an English release. In my current 03PE build I don't have an issue with icons because I run my PE with a straight command line. There is a reason for this.

I'm unfamiliar with the way WinBuilder creates the icons using your script. What strikes me as odd is a language boundary in MUI releases. This should not happen.

EDIT: If users are having conflicts with icon creation in your script, it's best advised to post what build of XP(version, language, modification) was used.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Oct 9 2007, 02:56 PM
Post #13


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 3,190
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


@Galapo!

The latest version works with English and German source - sometimes (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/frusty.gif)

Do not worry, the 'sometimes' is not your fault:

If Explorer.Script installs it's DLLs at boot time, it works.
If Explorer.Script DLLs are installed at build time, it does not work (no 'Administrative Tools' in the Control Panel).

Some regisrtry tweak seems to be missing in this case, but which one ????

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Galapo
post Oct 10 2007, 06:58 AM
Post #14


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 205
Joined: 16-July 06
From: Sydney
Member No.: 11


Australia


QUOTE (psc @ Oct 10 2007, 12:56 AM) *
@Galapo!

The latest version works with English and German source - sometimes (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/frusty.gif)

Do not worry, the 'sometimes' is not your fault:

If Explorer.Script installs it's DLLs at boot time, it works.
If Explorer.Script DLLs are installed at build time, it does not work (no 'Administrative Tools' in the Control Panel).

Some regisrtry tweak seems to be missing in this case, but which one ????

Peter

Hmmm. Interesting. Build time install of dlls works for English. But not for other languages.

What I was attempting to do here was to not have an annoying empty 'Administrative Tools' folder. So the script may seem to work when the folder is there, but not when the folder isn't there, which is fine (unless it is specifically desired that there be an 'Administrative Tools' folder in the Control Panel.

Thanks for testing.

Regards,
Galapo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Oct 10 2007, 07:57 AM
Post #15


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 3,190
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (Galapo @ Oct 10 2007, 08:58 AM) *
Hmmm. Interesting. Build time install of dlls works for English. But not for other languages.


You misunderstood me
With Explorer boot time install both languages work, with build time install none.

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Galapo
post Oct 10 2007, 08:21 AM
Post #16


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 205
Joined: 16-July 06
From: Sydney
Member No.: 11


Australia


But the thing is: it's working for me, which is why I stated what I did in my previous post. English build time install is working, well at least for LiveXP. Will have to test nativeEx...

Regards,
Galapo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Oct 10 2007, 08:26 AM
Post #17


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 3,190
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (Galapo @ Oct 10 2007, 10:21 AM) *
But the thing is: it's working for me, which is why I stated what I did in my previous post. English build time install is working, well at least for LiveXP. Will have to test nativeEx...

Regards,
Galapo.

Once again it s coming up:
My famous Voodoo (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Galapo
post Oct 10 2007, 08:37 PM
Post #18


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 205
Joined: 16-July 06
From: Sydney
Member No.: 11


Australia


I wonder whether it has something to do with the addition of the explorer "tweaks and settings" script in LiveXP which makes the difference?

Galapo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · nativeEx & LiveXP · Next Newest »
 

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic

Members Who Viewed Topic Today ()

 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd November 2007 - 11:34 PM

MKPortal ©2003-2006 mkportal.it