Rating 5 V
post Sep 19 2007, 02:56 PM
Post #21

Advanced Member

Group: Members
Member No.: 9,829

Italy

QUOTE(psc @ Sep 19 2007, 10:23 AM) *
Download autoKeyboard.Script and autoLocalization.Script.

If you compare these scripts with yours, they write the same items into the PE.
The difference is that your items are hardcoded; the items of my scripts are dynamically taken from the actual environment.

Independent of the source CD's language they transfer keyboard and international settings from your local PC.

That means: These script are valid for every language.

If the KBD??.DLL is not on the source CD, it is copied from your local PC.

Peter

As always, very interesting and workable! (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbsup.gif)

Generally my very personal approach (at all, not only in IT) is inclined in order to avoid automatisms, where it is possible.
Actually I've learned (about WB & scripts) more than two months ago (at that moment I was a newbie of WB, and I'm still so...) thanks to you and now almost I can reply to you. (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/tongue.gif)
Generally I prefer a manual setting because of its predictability (therefore I like domesticate Vista!) and "my" script is myself oriented, that's all! (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)
You know, when I've tested for the first time your AutoDetect I didn't know the how and the why and it for some reason didn't work as it must.
The reason, maybe, was that my Regional and Language Options in Vista are mixed (for reasons too long to descibe): Italian for keyboard and formats, English for locale and non-Unicode programs.
Then: simply, my script came in useful to bypass this occurrence, and to install "surely" all Italian User/System Keyboard, formats, locale and other independently of my OS real settings.