Hello dear guest!

Boot Land is a community driven site established since 2006 and focused on data recovery/backup boot disks, research of Windows 2000/XP/2003/Vista/7 install/deployment/antivirus tools, customizing Windows PE systems and even learning how to recover from disaster situations.

How about joining our boot disk community? So do it. Life's short!

  - You get free access to our newsletter with all the interesting buzz about boot disks
  - We share publicity revenue with everyone who wishes to participate at the forums
  - Publicity is never, never, never displayed to members (along with many other cool things)
http://boot-land.net/register

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topic
 [project]64-bit XP as source, almost done
post Sep 9 2006, 12:04 PM
Post #1
smiley
Gold Member   *****
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 11-August 06
Posts: 1,047
Thank(s): 4


Greece


I have created a new project that uses xp-64 pro as source .My only problem is that the ramdisk is 32 bit and so incompatible with the 64 bit os.Do you know any 64 bit ramdisk? I will release the projet only if i find one ,because curently explorer needs a read-write media(hard disk or SDI image) and any other shell are 32 -bit


--------------------
www.ReactOS.org - ReactOS, the free Windows-compatible Operating System





+Quote Post
post Sep 10 2006, 11:14 AM
Post #2
Nuno Brito
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 13-July 06 From: Pittsburgh

Posts: 7,857
Thank(s): 342


Portugal


Good going smiley!! thumbup.gif

SDI suppor *should* be possible to add, and this is likely a good time to do it. Perhaps using the same method from the winrar discussion topic - downloading the package from MS, unpacking it and then placing all the contents of the target onto this SDI file..

There is also the possibility of recompiling Qsoft's free Ramdisk - the author provides the source code and it can be likely recompiled for 64bit, here's the link:
http://home.scarlet.be/~tsd59392/RAMDisk/ramdiskfree.htm

I don't use the compilers in wich the code is provided, so my experience is limited..

smile.gif


--------------------
http://f0rums.com - grab a free forum to include inside your site.
+Quote Post
post Sep 10 2006, 11:40 AM
Post #3
smiley
Gold Member   *****
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 11-August 06
Posts: 1,047
Thank(s): 4


Greece


Thanks Nuno! I'll give it a try cheers.gif


--------------------
www.ReactOS.org - ReactOS, the free Windows-compatible Operating System



+Quote Post
post Sep 10 2006, 07:52 PM
Post #4
smiley
Gold Member   *****
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 11-August 06
Posts: 1,047
Thank(s): 4


Greece


I don't know how to compile it. Can someone do it? sad.gif This is esntial for the project


--------------------
www.ReactOS.org - ReactOS, the free Windows-compatible Operating System



+Quote Post
post May 29 2007, 09:31 PM
Post #5
muratkars
  
Group: Members

  Joined: 8-May 07 From: Los Angeles

Posts: 4
Thank(s): 0


United States


QUOTE (smiley @ Sep 10 2006, 07:52 PM) *
I don't know how to compile it. Can someone do it? sad.gif This is esntial for the project


Hi Smiley,

I just saw your entry and decided to join this great forum. I'm new on Winbuilder and trying to understand how to use 64bit XP or Server 2003 as source and create a 64-bit Live CD. Which script should I use for it? I will really appreciate your suggestions.

Actually my real question was how to support more than 4GB on WinPE mode. I have tried everthing (/PAE switch and renaming kernel files) and could not find any real solution for 32bit OS to support above 4GB. That is why I decided to try 64-bit version. By the way, if you are still looking someone to compile 64-bit version of ramdisk, i can do it.

Thanks in advance.
+Quote Post
post May 30 2007, 08:42 AM
Post #6
Nuno Brito
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 13-July 06 From: Pittsburgh

Posts: 7,857
Thank(s): 342


Portugal


I think there are more conditions to update this project.

Sherpya has just compiled a 64bit version of imdisk: http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=2289

Holger also mentions that vmware supports x64 emulation: http://www.boot-land.net/forums/WinBuilder...work-t2126.html

smile.gif


--------------------
http://f0rums.com - grab a free forum to include inside your site.
+Quote Post
post May 30 2007, 12:27 PM
Post #7
hooovahh
Newbie   *
Group: Advanced user

  Joined: 20-July 06
Posts: 26
Thank(s): 1


QUOTE (Nuno Brito @ May 30 2007, 04:42 AM) *
I think there are more conditions to update this project.

Sherpya has just compiled a 64bit version of imdisk: http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=2289

Holger also mentions that vmware supports x64 emulation: http://www.boot-land.net/forums/WinBuilder...work-t2126.html

smile.gif

Slightly unrelated to 64-bit XP, but I know that VMWare also supports having more than one virtual processor. So like if my host is a quad core computer, I can have the virtual machine have 1 to 4 cores virtualized.

I don't own a 64-bit computer but hope you make progress in using 64-bit XP as the source good luck to you.


--------------------
"If I wanted to hear mindless droning I would befriend an air conditioner"
"Now make like my pants, and split"
"Oh my life is wasted"
"There is no emoticon, for what I am feeling"
+Quote Post
post May 30 2007, 06:56 PM
Post #8
muratkars
  
Group: Members

  Joined: 8-May 07 From: Los Angeles

Posts: 4
Thank(s): 0


United States


QUOTE (hooovahh @ May 30 2007, 12:27 PM) *
Slightly unrelated to 64-bit XP, but I know that VMWare also supports having more than one virtual processor. So like if my host is a quad core computer, I can have the virtual machine have 1 to 4 cores virtualized.

I don't own a 64-bit computer but hope you make progress in using 64-bit XP as the source good luck to you.


Hi everybody,

I'm new in this forum, but i really liked your WB project and it helped me a lot. I just want you to know that I have all kind of hardware (32bit, 64bit newest CPU's and different brand controllers, motherboards, etc.) and I'll be happy to help you to test your projects. Just send me a link for your project and write me the system configuration that you want to test it on. I'll test it and let you know the result. I really want to be part of this project.

Thanks.
+Quote Post
post May 30 2007, 10:40 PM
Post #9
Holger
Frequent Member   ***
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 4-August 06 From: Munich

Posts: 401
Thank(s): 55


Germany


I think it's not (easy) possible cause I saw on their website that 64bit is only possible to use in the 'Enterprise' version of this Ram driver.
Comment/link form their website:
"A fully free , but unsupported version for the 32-bit OS's ( with source code ) is available at : www.freeramdisk.com"
So, the QSoft-Ramdrv will not help here...
Another 64bit ramdrv I don't know at the moment...don't know if it is possible to use the ramdrv from MS itself...


--------------------
Main site: http://holger.winbuilder.net/
Backup: http://holger.orgfree.com/
Current PENetwork versions:
- PE Network Manager itself: 0.56 (Updated: 05.08.2009)
- WB script for LiveXP: 37 (Updated: 15.07.2009)
- WB script for VistaPE/Win7PE: 5 Beta (Updated: 02.08.2009)
+Quote Post
post May 31 2007, 12:11 AM
Post #10
Holger
Frequent Member   ***
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 4-August 06 From: Munich

Posts: 401
Thank(s): 55


Germany


I recompiled the Microsoft WinDDK-sample-ramdriver for 64bit.
The changed inf is not really needed.
Just did a small test under XP64 and it works here.
The biggist problem is the ramsize which is limited to 31,999 MB (so 32MB are to much wink.gif )
However, maybe you can something do with it - maybe it's enough to start the 64bit env.

Some infos:
the possible parameters are in the screenshot.


More infos here:
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=257405

Greets smile.gif
Holger
Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
 

Attached File(s)
Attached File  ramdisk64.zip ( 6.36K ) Number of downloads: 146
 


--------------------
Main site: http://holger.winbuilder.net/
Backup: http://holger.orgfree.com/
Current PENetwork versions:
- PE Network Manager itself: 0.56 (Updated: 05.08.2009)
- WB script for LiveXP: 37 (Updated: 15.07.2009)
- WB script for VistaPE/Win7PE: 5 Beta (Updated: 02.08.2009)
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic ()


  

Collapse

  Topic Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No new Topic has attachmentsXP styles in PE
176 MedEvil 14,412 1st February 2010 - 05:50 PM
Last post by: Lancelot
No new Topic has attachmentsXP hanging at boot screen for ages
29 doveman 754 26th January 2010 - 08:40 PM
Last post by: doveman
No New Posts XPFIX
Another list of crap services
1 Wonko the Sane 224 23rd January 2010 - 10:05 PM
Last post by: Nuno Brito
No new XP Mode in Windows 7 without Hardware Virtualization
39 agni 7,391 21st January 2010 - 11:19 PM
Last post by: Formula84
No New Posts xpe_directx.script error and fix
8 online 755 1st November 2009 - 10:34 PM
Last post by: online


Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum