Digg this topic Add to my del.icio.us Submit to SlashDot 16 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> [tool] myNIC, Generate WB Script from you PC's network driver
psc
post Sep 1 2007, 02:09 PM
Post #1


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 3,336
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


The subtitle tells enough:

Here a screen shoot:
Attached Image


How it works:
  • Scan the registry for either
    • All network drivers
    • Ethernet only
  • Use corresponding *.inf to query files to copy
  • Write the script with the driver files attached
You can download it here

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheHive
post Sep 2 2007, 07:14 AM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,931
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 5



Tried it and when I tried to click on the create script it tells me Invalid Filename. I have it pointing to the same directory as the exe.

Name used is
Intel_PRO_100_VE_Ethernet_Driver
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Sep 2 2007, 10:05 AM
Post #3


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 3,336
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (TheHive @ Sep 2 2007, 09:14 AM) *
Tried it and when I tried to click on the create script it tells me Invalid Filename. I have it pointing to the same directory as the exe.

Name used is
Intel_PRO_100_VE_Ethernet_Driver


Thanks for the report. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)

I'll upload a new version which can write a log.
Please post the log and the *.inf file


Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Sep 2 2007, 02:21 PM
Post #4


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 3,336
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


Version 1.0.3 in on the nativeEx server.
  • Option to create Log (myNIC.log in the myNIC directory)
  • If the Script Path field is empty the script is generated in the myNIC directory
  • If the Source CD Path field is not empty and 'Use' is checked, files to encode are searched in this order
    • in \I386 as uncompressed file
    • in \I386 as compressed file
    • in \I386\SPx.cab
    • in \I386\Driver.cab
    • local Windows sub directory, depending on type
Attached Image


Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheHive
post Sep 2 2007, 06:15 PM
Post #5


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,931
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 5



Redownload from first post and ran the program in its own folder. I then just clicked on the Make Script button and get an error about "invalid filename".
Attached Image


Log file is blank.


The myNic.ini

CODE
[General]
Script=
Source=
EthernetOnly=True
Log=True
ShowLog=True
SourceCD=True
Level=4
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MedEvil
post Sep 2 2007, 08:28 PM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,404
Joined: 29-December 06
Member No.: 2,192



QUOTE (psc @ Sep 1 2007, 04:09 PM) *
How it works:
  • Scan the registry for either
    • All network drivers
    • Ethernet only
  • Use corresponding *.inf to query files to copy
  • Write the script with the driver files attached

Peter, why do you limit such an interesting program to just NICs?
Shouldn't work this just as weel with all other drivers?

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Sep 3 2007, 06:55 AM
Post #7


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 3,336
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (MedEvil @ Sep 2 2007, 10:28 PM) *
Peter, why do you limit such an interesting program to just NICs?
Shouldn't work this just as weel with all other drivers?

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)


It is just a program to give food for PENetwork.

Smiley is working on a generell solution to transfer the frivers during build time to registry.

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Sep 3 2007, 06:57 AM
Post #8


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 3,336
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (TheHive @ Sep 2 2007, 08:15 PM) *
Redownload from first post and ran the program in its own folder. I then just clicked on the Make Script button and get an error about "invalid filename".

Thanks, so the issue is appearing before the first log line.

I'll look for that, maybe encrease the log functionality.

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Sep 3 2007, 07:13 AM
Post #9


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 3,336
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


QUOTE (TheHive @ Sep 2 2007, 08:15 PM) *
Redownload from first post and ran the program in its own folder. I then just clicked on the Make Script button and get an error about "invalid filename".

I found it:

The script name is derived from the driver name.
And your driver name a slash, which are not valid in a file name.

Before use, I'll check the file name and change if necessary.

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nuno Brito
post Sep 3 2007, 09:06 AM
Post #10


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,332
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


Hi Peter - looks great! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbup.gif)

Downloaded the zipped file for testing (not sure if this was the latest binary)

TheHive mentions the "Invalid Filename" error because no values are set as default for "Script Path"

-----

I also subscribe to medEvil's request and scan other available drivers or create scripts for every available network device (on my case it only showed the wifi as default but I'd like to automatically create all these scripts)

-- Is it possible to include all drivers from the host machine? (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/huh.gif)

This would likely help to add all updated drivers that can effectively handle the hardware properly. (including a lot of network drivers not found on MS CD's - netXtreme Gigabit for example), of course it would help to disable the option to use source CD and just incorporate the drivers as default.




-----

Would it be possible to use the variable %target_sys%\Drivers instead of I386\System32\Drivers? (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/huh.gif) (defined under script.project on livexp)

This would make scripts project agnostic

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · Submit your program · Next Newest »
 

16 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic

Members Who Viewed Topic Today ()

 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th November 2007 - 02:40 PM

MKPortal ©2003-2006 mkportal.it