Digg this topic Add to my del.icio.us Submit to SlashDot  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Fresh Install of XP without Fresh Install of XP.., Which keys to leave alone?
Moon Goon
post Aug 13 2007, 04:36 PM
Post #1


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 223
Joined: 1-August 06
Member No.: 95



This isn't a new idea by any means..

My intention is to take an existing install of XP and make it like a "fresh" install again.

So far I've made a list of files that a fresh install has. The next thing I do is copy *just* those files and folders to a new directory say:
C:\makenew\Documents and Settings
C:\makenew\Windows
C:\makenew\Program Files

I leave the root files alone to continue to use them for booting.

Next, I move the old OS folders aside and swap out the contents of the makenew folder.

The last problem is the registry. I need to keep the old driver information and serial number and WPA information. Most of the SOFTWARE section probably needs to be restored to the default except for the Microsoft key.

My question is: What keys do you think I need to keep (i.e. not restore to a default value)

So far I think I must keep:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\HARDWARE
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SECURITY
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM (especially \WPA)


Thanks for any feedback (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MedEvil
post Aug 13 2007, 04:57 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,822
Joined: 29-December 06
Member No.: 2,192



As far as i know there is a inf file in windows that resets the registry.
Of course it would be way easier to use the registry backup that was created after the first successful boot.

Else the problem with setting up a mixed old/new system is, that one usually does it because the system became instable. So one would need to know what registry entries make problems. But if one knew that, one wouldn't need to reinstall the whole os, wouldn't one? (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Moon Goon
post Aug 13 2007, 05:02 PM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 223
Joined: 1-August 06
Member No.: 95



Thanks for the feedback MedEvil!

What .INF file do you speak of? I've tried a Google search on ".inf to reset registry" with no good result. As the Windows folder has many .inf files a manual search sounds pretty tedious. Can you tell me which filename it is? If I knew what keys it changed it would be good progress!

The idea is to reset the files and registry to fresh install status without actually doing a fresh install. I would reset (back to fresh install defaults) almost every registry entry except those for the WPA and drivers and license key. The problem registry entries would be a moot point since I'd overwrite them with the fresh install defaults.

FRESH INSTALL
TEMPLATE REGISTRY
\/
\/
LEAVE OLD WPA
DRIVERS & S/N
\/
\/
NEW "FRESH"
REGISTRY
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MedEvil
post Aug 13 2007, 07:12 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,822
Joined: 29-December 06
Member No.: 2,192



QUOTE (Moon Goon @ Aug 13 2007, 07:02 PM) *
Thanks for the feedback MedEvil!

What .INF file do you speak of? I've tried a Google search on ".inf to reset registry" with no good result. As the Windows folder has many .inf files a manual search sounds pretty tedious. Can you tell me which filename it is? If I knew what keys it changed it would be good progress!

The idea is to reset the files and registry to fresh install status without actually doing a fresh install. I would reset (back to fresh install defaults) almost every registry entry except those for the WPA and drivers and license key. The problem registry entries would be a moot point since I'd overwrite them with the fresh install defaults.

FRESH INSTALL
TEMPLATE REGISTRY
\/
\/
LEAVE OLD WPA
DRIVERS & S/N
\/
\/
NEW "FRESH"
REGISTRY

Well you might want to check out this too:
QUOTE
System File Checker Utility

Win2000 has introduced some great new features to help enhance stability. One of those features is a great utility called the System File Checker. It can be run from the command prompt, and it will scan the system's protected operating system files, and replace them with the correct/original version if they've been changed (or corrupted). Here is the syntax and usage:

C:\>sfc /?

Microsoft® Windows 2000 Windows File Checker Version 5.00
© 1999 Microsoft Corp. All rights reserved

Scans all protected system files and replaces incorrect versions with correct Microsoft versions.

SFC [/SCANNOW] [/SCANONCE] [/SCANBOOT] [/CANCEL] [/ENABLE] [/PURGECACHE] [/CACHESIZE=x] [/QUIET]

/SCANNOW Scans all protected system files immediately.
/SCANONCE Scans all protected system files once at the next boot.
/SCANBOOT Scans all protected system files at every boot.
/CANCEL Cancels all pending scans of protected system files.
/QUIET Replaces all incorrect file versions without prompting the user.
/ENABLE Enables Windows File Protection for normal operation
/PURGECACHE Purges the file cache and scans all protected system files immediately.
/CACHESIZE=x Sets the file cache size

Had to search too. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
The file is called shell.inf

Hope this helps. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Moon Goon
post Aug 14 2007, 01:01 PM
Post #5


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 223
Joined: 1-August 06
Member No.: 95



Thanks for the extra clues (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

I tried removing all but the default files that come with a fresh XP Home install from an existing 2003 install.. it didn't work so well (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

My guess is either:

A. There are critical files in 2003 that are not present in XP Home.
B. My program didn't copy all the proper files due to permissions.

Maybe I should try the technique on an existing XP Home install first - might have jumped the gun so to speak.

In any case, I've been learning more about how Windows is set up thanks to my experimentation. Also learning from my futile attempts to reinstall XP from the strangely incomplete i386 folder on Dell PCs (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/blink.gif) Got to love those "MSTASK.INI is missing" errors!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smiley
post Aug 14 2007, 01:27 PM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,032
Joined: 11-August 06
Member No.: 149


Greece


shell.inf isn't the only one that resets the registry. shell.inf is called by syssetup.inf.

This file controls what start menu entries should be added in the instalation, what dlls should be registered , what devices should be installed and it also calls many other infs that install other os components (including shell.inf).

So after a new instalation of windows, the registry contains the information from:
1.setupreg.hiv
2.hive????.inf
3.syssetup.inf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MedEvil
post Aug 14 2007, 03:41 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,822
Joined: 29-December 06
Member No.: 2,192



QUOTE (smiley @ Aug 14 2007, 03:27 PM) *
shell.inf isn't the only one that resets the registry. shell.inf is called by syssetup.inf.

This file controls what start menu entries should be added in the instalation, what dlls should be registered , what devices should be installed and it also calls many other infs that install other os components (including shell.inf).

So after a new instalation of windows, the registry contains the information from:
1.setupreg.hiv
2.hive????.inf
3.syssetup.inf

Have you ever tryed to run syssetup.inf from within windows? Does it work?

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smiley
post Aug 14 2007, 03:55 PM
Post #8


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,032
Joined: 11-August 06
Member No.: 149


Greece


QUOTE (MedEvil @ Aug 14 2007, 06:41 PM) *
Have you ever tryed to run syssetup.inf from within windows? Does it work?

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)


No , it won't work because it is meant to be read only by syssetup.dll
Instead you can run all the sections mentioned in the [Infs.Always] section
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · Boot Methods and various OS support · Next Newest »
 

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic

Members Who Viewed Topic Today ()

 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 3rd March 2008 - 08:22 AM

MKPortal ©2003-2006 mkportal.it