Digg this topic Add to my del.icio.us Submit to SlashDot 2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Which image format is better to use?, For mounting a file as read/write from read only media.
Oleg_II
post Jul 7 2007, 06:35 PM
Post #1


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 270
Joined: 15-October 06
From: Somewhere in the East
Member No.: 787



Have a question:
I'd like to have a separate image file, say Appz.img, with some programs that need read/write access to disk during their operations. The image will be with compressed NTFS partition. If this image is mounted from CD/DVD will it have this ability? Which format on image file suits this purpose the best?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheHive
post Jul 8 2007, 06:29 AM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 2,124
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 5



Thats a good question.
I know you wont be able to write to the CD/DVD even if its an writable img I think.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Oleg_II
post Jul 8 2007, 06:51 AM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 270
Joined: 15-October 06
From: Somewhere in the East
Member No.: 787



I read somewhere that wdmk images can be used from read-only medea?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheHive
post Jul 8 2007, 10:05 AM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 2,124
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 5



You must mean "vmdk" image. It would be nice if it did.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Olof Lagerkvist
post Jul 8 2007, 12:09 PM
Post #5


Advanced Member
***

Group: Developer
Posts: 120
Joined: 27-April 07
From: Borås, Sweden
Member No.: 6,234


Sweden


QUOTE (Oleg_II @ Jul 7 2007, 08:35 PM) *
Have a question:
I'd like to have a separate image file, say Appz.img, with some programs that need read/write access to disk during their operations. The image will be with compressed NTFS partition. If this image is mounted from CD/DVD will it have this ability?

Only if it is created as a Virtual Memory type disk (that is a kind of RAM-disk). In that case you can specify the image file as filename and ImDisk will create a RAM-disk and load your image file to the new disk. With this method the driver is working with a memory copy of the image and therefore it is writable.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Oleg_II
post Jul 8 2007, 12:36 PM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 270
Joined: 15-October 06
From: Somewhere in the East
Member No.: 787



TheHive
Sorry, my fault (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)

Olof Lagerkvist
Yes, I can uderstand that. But if I use Boot in RAM method I'd like not to load another image in memory as I already have one there (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/rolleyes.gif) The computer memory could be just not enough for both images. In this case mounting an image with read/write access from any media (USB, HDD, CD/DVD) could help. And as I understand mounting it from CD/DVD may have problems with read/write access for some (or maybe all) formats?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Olof Lagerkvist
post Jul 8 2007, 12:54 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: Developer
Posts: 120
Joined: 27-April 07
From: Borås, Sweden
Member No.: 6,234


Sweden


QUOTE (Oleg_II @ Jul 8 2007, 02:36 PM) *
Olof Lagerkvist
Yes, I can uderstand that. But if I use Boot in RAM method I'd like not to load another image in memory as I already have one there (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/rolleyes.gif) The computer memory could be just not enough for both images. In this case mounting an image with read/write access from any media (USB, HDD, CD/DVD) could help. And as I understand mounting it from CD/DVD may have problems with read/write access for some (or maybe all) formats?

Okay I see. Yes any kind of image will have problems on read-only media, the virtual disk will be read-only because it cannot modify the image file.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jaclaz
post Jul 8 2007, 01:28 PM
Post #8


Finder
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 1,581
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 2


Italy


But you can use VDK to mount a VMDK image with UNDO/REDO, search for posts by sanbarrow on the 911CD board, and/or check his forum:
http://sanbarrow.com/phpBB2/
he is the expert on this.

jaclaz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Oleg_II
post Jul 8 2007, 01:41 PM
Post #9


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 270
Joined: 15-October 06
From: Somewhere in the East
Member No.: 787



jaclaz
Unfortunately I can't search on the 911CD board - I registered but my account is not working and one can't use search there without login in (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)

But it it is possible with VDK maybe it is possible with ImDisk? (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/rolleyes.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Olof Lagerkvist
post Jul 8 2007, 01:45 PM
Post #10


Advanced Member
***

Group: Developer
Posts: 120
Joined: 27-April 07
From: Borås, Sweden
Member No.: 6,234


Sweden


QUOTE (Oleg_II @ Jul 8 2007, 03:41 PM) *
But it it is possible with VDK maybe it is possible with ImDisk? (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/rolleyes.gif)

Sorry, not without copying the entire image to memory. There is no redo/undo delta-storage system of that kind in ImDisk. But maybe sometime in the future as usual (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · ImDisk · Next Newest »
 

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic

Members Who Viewed Topic Today ()

 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th February 2008 - 05:20 PM

MKPortal ©2003-2006 mkportal.it