Digg this topic Add to my del.icio.us Submit to SlashDot  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> TFTPD32 stops responding
kryten
post Jul 5 2007, 03:03 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 5-July 07
From: Central UK
Member No.: 9,419


United Kingdom


Hi folks,
Have started using TFTPD32 on an XP Professional machine as a psuedo-server for running a boot-time application on network connected laptops (diagnostic software).
Works fine however after the first set of laptops are finished (normally do 3/4 at a time) it no longer assigns IP's or transfers the menu file as necessary - it receives the DHCP request but doesn't offer the client an address.
Fairly sure it's a simple setting to remedy this but can't figure out what that setting should be. Someone has previously mentioned something about ACK timeout but don't entirely understand the meaning of that.

Any clues? Much appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kryten
post Jul 6 2007, 11:00 AM
Post #2


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 5-July 07
From: Central UK
Member No.: 9,419


United Kingdom


Further to yesterday's message, a little update :
If I keep throwing connections at it, it happily trundles along fine with no problems until the allocated IP pool runs out (I have it set to 100) - it doesn't seem to disconnect non-current IP's even after an hour of being physically removed from the network. Hitting "delete" on the connection tends to just hang the program.

I normally do 3 laptops at a time, the process takes me 10-15 minutes typically, after which time TFTPD32 no longer responds - it proposes an IP address but goes absolutely no further.

Small addition with the log of when this happens :

TIMEOUT waiting for Ack block #1 [06/07 14:15:45.406]
Rcvd DHCP Discover Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:D0:59:94:A0:DC [06/07 14:16:14.234]
DHCP: proposed address 10.0.20.10 [06/07 14:16:16.359]

Nothign from there, just after the proposed address message, client says it hasn't been offered the details therefore tries to boot elsewhere.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
thasan
post Aug 30 2007, 01:41 AM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 23-March 07
Member No.: 4,625



QUOTE(kryten @ Jul 6 2007, 07:00 AM) *
Further to yesterday's message, a little update :
If I keep throwing connections at it, it happily trundles along fine with no problems until the allocated IP pool runs out (I have it set to 100) - it doesn't seem to disconnect non-current IP's even after an hour of being physically removed from the network. Hitting "delete" on the connection tends to just hang the program.

I normally do 3 laptops at a time, the process takes me 10-15 minutes typically, after which time TFTPD32 no longer responds - it proposes an IP address but goes absolutely no further.

Small addition with the log of when this happens :

TIMEOUT waiting for Ack block #1 [06/07 14:15:45.406]
Rcvd DHCP Discover Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:D0:59:94:A0:DC [06/07 14:16:14.234]
DHCP: proposed address 10.0.20.10 [06/07 14:16:16.359]

Nothign from there, just after the proposed address message, client says it hasn't been offered the details therefore tries to boot elsewhere.


@kryten, I have the same issue. I have to close tftpd and restart it.

On a long sided note, do you use your XP to do PXE boot (like running XP installs)? If so, I would like to know what tweaking you had to do to connect to a share on it using no username/password. I had little problem doing this on Windows 2000 but I can't get all tweaking right on XP/2003.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kryten
post Aug 30 2007, 07:27 AM
Post #4


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 5-July 07
From: Central UK
Member No.: 9,419


United Kingdom


QUOTE(thasan @ Aug 30 2007, 02:41 AM) *
@kryten, I have the same issue. I have to close tftpd and restart it.

On a long sided note, do you use your XP to do PXE boot (like running XP installs)? If so, I would like to know what tweaking you had to do to connect to a share on it using no username/password. I had little problem doing this on Windows 2000 but I can't get all tweaking right on XP/2003.



Ah, I forgot I had posted this.
I've fixed this issue by replacing the hub I was using. I originally had a small 4 port Linksys hub - replaced it with a 24 port switch (3com Superstack) and all the problems solved. Also works properly with the same make and size unmanaged hub (Superstack II PS Hub 40).

I'm not sure what would have caused it to fail on the small unit, but it's eliminated the program/server as an issue.

I don't use it to run installs from PXE yet but my colleague has been working on that (he's got more time than me!)
Eventually we intend to merge our efforts so we have our 2 home-brew programs booting (secure data wiping and Eurosoft's PC Check) with OEM installations AND Ghost image installations of set systems. I'll let you know how it gets on.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Collapse

> Similar Topics

  Topic Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No New Posts TFTPD32 with Cisco 6509
Access denied Error 32 Problem
3 Peter H 626 9th October 2007 - 10:00 AM
Last post by: Jonathan Hall
No New Posts TFTPD32 with Cisco Phones (Option 150)
0 strangel 1,500 27th April 2007 - 09:33 PM
Last post by: strangel
No New Posts TFTPD32 forum added!
0 Nuno Brito 837 27th March 2007 - 08:32 PM
Last post by: Nuno Brito


 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline


- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th October 2007 - 04:18 AM

MKPortal ©2003-2006 mkportal.it