Digg this topic Add to my del.icio.us Submit to SlashDot 2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> [project] Testing WinBuilder, Strictly designated to upcoming testing project.
smiley
post Sep 4 2006, 08:12 AM
Post #11


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,020
Joined: 11-August 06
Member No.: 149


Greece


QUOTE (___ @ Sep 4 2006, 11:03 AM) *
I diasagree. As WinBuilder supports creation of process it has to terminate it when "Stop" pressed.
In another words, "Stop" button doesn't work when script hangs up. If compiler/debugger/IDE/OS hangs up on program(script) that has a bug we don't consider it OK (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)

Alexei


I completely agree with alexei.The same heppends with the autoUPX script.If you press the stop button it won't stop.Generally the stop button doesn't work when an external program is executed.

@Nuno: Can you fix this?


Smiley
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheHive
post Sep 4 2006, 08:32 AM
Post #12


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,887
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 5



QUOTE (___ @ Sep 4 2006, 03:03 AM) *
In another words, "Stop" button doesn't work when script hangs up.
Alexei

I agree with this because I experienced it first hand, when Testing the final Build. Also when testing Martin 'draugen' Anderse beta ModPE. It makes WinBuilder unstable and freezes. The only fix, is to restart Winbuilder.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nuno Brito
post Sep 4 2006, 10:31 AM
Post #13


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,279
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


When the application starts, winbuilder will wait for it to finish. The stop button will wait for this program to be terminated before exiting.

I think it can be added, thanks for detailing this unpleasant behavior - the only downside I predict is that the unresponsive application won't stop and will keep consuming resources on memory. Likely in the future a more efficient solution that correctly asks for the application to finish can be added.

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Martin 'drau...
post Sep 4 2006, 11:17 AM
Post #14


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 135
Joined: 17-July 06
From: South of Heaven
Member No.: 31



QUOTE (Nuno Brito @ Sep 4 2006, 12:31 PM) *
When the application starts, winbuilder will wait for it to finish. The stop button will wait for this program to be terminated before exiting.

I think it can be added, thanks for detailing this unpleasant behavior - the only downside I predict is that the unresponsive application won't stop and will keep consuming resources on memory. Likely in the future a more efficient solution that correctly asks for the application to finish can be added.

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)


I think what is meant is that pressing the 'stop' button in WinBuilder will force the process launched by winbuilder to stop. no asking nicely (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif) just kill it! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif)

when you put it that way, this is a bug. Winbuilder should not lock up when processes are launched. (which it does - even when something happens [i.e., not just an empty cmd.exe])
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alexei
post Sep 4 2006, 12:46 PM
Post #15


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 533
Joined: 30-August 06
Member No.: 283



QUOTE (Martin 'draugen' Anderse @ Sep 4 2006, 04:17 AM) *
I think what is meant is that pressing the 'stop' button in WinBuilder will force the process launched by winbuilder to stop. no asking nicely (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif) just kill it! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif)

when you put it that way, this is a bug. Winbuilder should not lock up when processes are launched. (which it does - even when something happens [i.e., not just an empty cmd.exe])


I usually terminate child process as:
PostMessage WM_SYSCOMMAND,SC_CLOSE.
Wait and if still running, call TerminateProcess.

It should be OK in most cases (as I remember, SDK doesn't say how to kill process in a 100% correct way).

Alexei
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · Projects · Next Newest »
 

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic

Members Who Viewed Topic Today ()

 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th October 2007 - 11:11 AM

MKPortal ©2003-2006 mkportal.it