Digg this topic Add to my del.icio.us Submit to SlashDot 5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> [project] ALPHA!!! ModPE scriptpack ALPHA!!!, the ScriptPack formerly known as MicroPE
Nuno Brito
post Aug 31 2006, 09:27 AM
Post #21


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,279
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


QUOTE (Martin 'draugen' Anderse @ Aug 31 2006, 07:45 AM) *
All your runs fail when trying to download txtsetup.sif. You also need to have an internet connection active for modpe to work.


Why not including a txtsetup.sif encoded on a script?

With a few extra coding you could also check if the user is online, and if so, download txtsetup - otherwise - use the one that is included.. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psc
post Aug 31 2006, 09:35 AM
Post #22


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 3,152
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


I tried it right now. (Built a Reatogo CD first)

When running the script I got a lot of errors. I looked into the first one and found a typo.

In hardware.script there is
CODE
IniWrite,"%ProjectDir%\modpe.ini","ramdrive","driveletter","%pTextBox2%"

In hw_ramdrive.script.txt you want to read
CODE
If,%use%,Equal,1,IniRead,"%ProjectDir%\modpe.ini","ramdrive","$driveletter","%driveletter%"

driveletter <> $driveletter (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/frusty.gif)

I did not want to look for all other errors; therefore I attach the log.

But a different issue (when looking for the FileCopy of floppy.sys error: There is no floppy.sys, only a flpydisk.sys):

You do a filecopy of about 230 files, all of them from the Reatogo CD.
Currently is the $winshare (defined in the initial setup) a WriteOnly variable.
Why do you not use the original windows setup CD to copy such files?

Peter


Attached File  log.zip ( 8.1K ) Number of downloads: 21
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheHive
post Aug 31 2006, 12:09 PM
Post #23


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,887
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 5



In
Location of your Windows Install Share
Pointed to
N:\
where my XP CD contents are.

In Paths - Source directory
L:\OPEN BUILDER\WinBuilder050_B3\BARTPE
I selected the BartPE folder with no plugins

found NE2000.SYS in the BartPE folder and put the file NE2000.SYS in my Nic Folder within the WinBuilder Source Folder

There are alot of inf files. Dont know which one to use.

In the choice Configure Network I pointed to
L:\OPEN BUILDER\WinBuilder050_B3\Source\NetworkDrivers\qemu_nic

I get the same error as before
Downloading TXTSETUP.SIF

Im guessing since you didnt tell me what inf file to choose, this wont work.


Target File List
Attached File  fileList.txt ( 6.15K ) Number of downloads: 9



Log
Attached File  Info_log.htm ( 24.56K ) Number of downloads: 10



found this thread and found a link to the RTL8029(AS). It didnt work. Just noticed it was the wrong one.lol!
http://qemu.dad-answers.com/viewtopic.php?...ca0e7fcc13e4f36
http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downlo...p;Software=True

So went for the hunt again for RTL8139 driver. Found this one.

http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downlo...eyword=RTL8139+
Downloaded the one that says. Its a 4.77MB download.
RTL8139(A/B/C/D/8130)/810X PCI series [Auto installation program(support WinXP 64/Win98SE/WinME/Win2K/WinXP ,ver 649)(Submission ID: 1205366)]

I extracted it and got the WinXP folder inside. It contains these files.
Netrtlx.inf
Rtnic64.sys
Rtnic.sys
Rtnicxp.sys
netrtl.cat

So people wont have to download such a big file.
RTL8139 driver - WINXP - Attached File  RTL8139_driver___WINXP.zip ( 174.34K ) Number of downloads: 25


On my first test I Selected the files
Rtnic64.sys
Netrtlx.inf

Based this selection on your statement on what files where needed.

I tried to rebuild and the TXTSETUP error that I was getting earlier doesnt show up. Looking good so far.
Then it continues to build the Project.
So it seems to copy all the files now. So Qemu launches and then the Bad new comes in.
I get the following error.
(IMG:http://img416.imageshack.us/img416/2026/qemugw5.th.jpg)

New File list for Target folder. It would nice to have an auto delete Target contents .
Attached File  Better_fileList.txt ( 15.38K ) Number of downloads: 13


Log FIle
Attached File  New_log.htm ( 83.6K ) Number of downloads: 18




Better results so far. See explanations do help. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nuno Brito
post Aug 31 2006, 12:59 PM
Post #24


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,279
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


Martin, have these scripts worked for you?

Here's a possible reason for the errors reported in the log:

QUOTE
#005 [Failed] FileDelete - Failed to find and delete files in directory: [%BaseDir%\Target\*]

Try checking if the folder exists and then deleting using DirDelete,"DirToDelete" - to avoid this error message. (or check the makedirs script code)

QUOTE
#259 [Failed] INIRead - Failed to read value from: [%BaseDir%\Projects\ModPE\modpe.ini] Section: [ramdrive] Key: [$driveletter] to variable: [%driveletter%]

psc has already mentioned this as a typo.

QUOTE
#305 [Failed] IniWrite - Failed to write INI file: [%BaseDir%\Target\i386\TXTSETUP.SIF]

Should perhaps add a check to see if this file already exists - I've suggested to add an encoded txtsetup.sif to avoid this..

QUOTE
#315 [Failed] FileCopy - Failed to copy [%BaseDir%\BARTPE\i386\system32\drivers\floppy.sys] to: [%BaseDir%\Target\i386\system32\drivers]

psc also mentioned this as an issue since some sources don't have this file..

QUOTE
#359 [Failed] IF - unrecognized clause: [%BaseDir%\target\win51ip]. Evaluated string: [If,"FileExists","%TargetDir%\WIN51IP",Run,"FileCopy-XP"] #360 [Failed] IF - unrecognized clause: [%BaseDir%\target\win51ic]. Evaluated string: [If,"FileExists","%TargetDir%\WIN51IC",Run,"FileCopy-XP"]


If commands won't recognize "FileExists" only FileExists

QUOTE
#376 [Failed] IniWrite - Failed to write INI file: [%BaseDir%\Projects\ModPE\modpe.ini%]

Another typo on modpe.ini% ?


Looking forward for an alpha 002 with these fixed! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Martin 'drau...
post Aug 31 2006, 02:57 PM
Post #25


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 135
Joined: 17-July 06
From: South of Heaven
Member No.: 31



QUOTE (Nuno Brito @ Aug 31 2006, 11:27 AM) *
Why not including a txtsetup.sif encoded on a script?

With a few extra coding you could also check if the user is online, and if so, download txtsetup - otherwise - use the one that is included.. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

In my local edit, txtsetup.sif is now an encoded file. i had some trouble encoding is all.

QUOTE (psc @ Aug 31 2006, 11:35 AM) *
I tried it right now. (Built a Reatogo CD first)

When running the script I got a lot of errors. I looked into the first one and found a typo.

In hardware.script there is
CODE
IniWrite,"%ProjectDir%\modpe.ini","ramdrive","driveletter","%pTextBox2%"

In hw_ramdrive.script.txt you want to read
CODE
If,%use%,Equal,1,IniRead,"%ProjectDir%\modpe.ini","ramdrive","$driveletter","%driveletter%"

driveletter <> $driveletter (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/frusty.gif)

I did not want to look for all other errors; therefore I attach the log.

But a different issue (when looking for the FileCopy of floppy.sys error: There is no floppy.sys, only a flpydisk.sys):

You do a filecopy of about 230 files, all of them from the Reatogo CD.
Currently is the $winshare (defined in the initial setup) a WriteOnly variable.
Why do you not use the original windows setup CD to copy such files?

Peter
Attached File  log.zip ( 8.1K ) Number of downloads: 21

A reatogo CD is not neccesary - just a regular bartpe will do the trick. Shouldn't make a difference though (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif) . And feel free to use a windows cd as $winshare. I do not need write access. It is, however, important that the OS and service pack level is the same. Thus, the file box.

And i'll fix those errors. Sometimes i type too fast (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/happy.gif)

The non-existent floppy.sys is simply a brainfart.

QUOTE (TheHive @ Aug 31 2006, 02:09 PM) *
In
Location of your Windows Install Share
Pointed to
N:\
where my XP CD contents are.

In Paths - Source directory
L:\OPEN BUILDER\WinBuilder050_B3\BARTPE
I selected the BartPE folder with no plugins

found NE2000.SYS in the BartPE folder and put the file NE2000.SYS in my Nic Folder within the WinBuilder Source Folder

There are alot of inf files. Dont know which one to use.

In the choice Configure Network I pointed to
L:\OPEN BUILDER\WinBuilder050_B3\Source\NetworkDrivers\qemu_nic

I get the same error as before
Downloading TXTSETUP.SIF

Im guessing since you didnt tell me what inf file to choose, this wont work.
Target File List
Attached File  fileList.txt ( 6.15K ) Number of downloads: 9

Log
Attached File  Info_log.htm ( 24.56K ) Number of downloads: 10

found this thread and found a link to the RTL8029(AS). It didnt work. Just noticed it was the wrong one.lol!
http://qemu.dad-answers.com/viewtopic.php?...ca0e7fcc13e4f36
http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downlo...p;Software=True

So went for the hunt again for RTL8139 driver. Found this one.

http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downlo...eyword=RTL8139+
Downloaded the one that says. Its a 4.77MB download.
RTL8139(A/B/C/D/8130)/810X PCI series [Auto installation program(support WinXP 64/Win98SE/WinME/Win2K/WinXP ,ver 649)(Submission ID: 1205366)]

I extracted it and got the WinXP folder inside. It contains these files.
Netrtlx.inf
Rtnic64.sys
Rtnic.sys
Rtnicxp.sys
netrtl.cat

So people wont have to download such a big file.
RTL8139 driver - WINXP - Attached File  RTL8139_driver___WINXP.zip ( 174.34K ) Number of downloads: 25


On my first test I Selected the files
Rtnic64.sys
Netrtlx.inf

Based this selection on your statement on what files where needed.

I tried to rebuild and the TXTSETUP error that I was getting earlier doesnt show up. Looking good so far.
Then it continues to build the Project.
So it seems to copy all the files now. So Qemu launches and then the Bad new comes in.
I get the following error.
(IMG:http://img416.imageshack.us/img416/2026/qemugw5.th.jpg)

New File list for Target folder. It would nice to have an auto delete Target contents .
Attached File  Better_fileList.txt ( 15.38K ) Number of downloads: 13


Log FIle
Attached File  New_log.htm ( 83.6K ) Number of downloads: 18

Better results so far. See explanations do help. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)

TheHive, drivers for the RT8139 NIC can be found in your BartPE source. But youhave to enable network in Qemu first. I'm unsure as how to to go about that. For qemu's networking to work, one both needs additional qemu parameters (easy) as well as the NIC drivers (also easy, but.. read on). If one does not have a RT8139 network adapter, then the drivers are unneccesary. And unneccesary = bloat.

Proposed solution: I 'fix' qemu's parameters to also use the rt8139 adapter as NIC. It will then be up to the user to put the drivers in - if he/she wants them. Any thoughts?


QUOTE (Nuno Brito @ Aug 31 2006, 02:59 PM) *
Martin, have these scripts worked for you?

Here's a possible reason for the errors reported in the log:
Try checking if the folder exists and then deleting using DirDelete,"DirToDelete" - to avoid this error message. (or check the makedirs script code)
psc has already mentioned this as a typo.
Should perhaps add a check to see if this file already exists - I've suggested to add an encoded txtsetup.sif to avoid this..
psc also mentioned this as an issue since some sources don't have this file..
If commands won't recognize "FileExists" only FileExists
Another typo on modpe.ini% ?
Looking forward for an alpha 002 with these fixed! (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)


The scripts have worked for me, yes.

will release a fixed version later tonight.

//martin
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheHive
post Aug 31 2006, 03:27 PM
Post #26


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,887
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 5



QUOTE (Martin 'draugen' Anderse @ Aug 31 2006, 09:57 AM) *
Proposed solution: I 'fix' qemu's parameters to also use the rt8139 adapter as NIC. It will then be up to the user to put the drivers in - if he/she wants them. Any thoughts?

//martin

I didnt find the drivers you said for the realtek drivers in the BartPE, thats why I went to search for them.

If you can implement a tick to enable and add these temp Network drivers for testing under Quemu then that will allow the user to test the Network thing with Qemu. Untick that option when a person wants to include the other Real Hardware Drivers in his final Burned CD.

How would it work with VMware. Do we use our Real Hardware Drivers. If so then we can just use the Configure Network to point to the real Harware drivers. If I can find them. lol!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Martin 'drau...
post Aug 31 2006, 06:24 PM
Post #27


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 135
Joined: 17-July 06
From: South of Heaven
Member No.: 31



QUOTE (TheHive @ Aug 31 2006, 05:27 PM) *
I didnt find the drivers you said for the realtek drivers in the BartPE, thats why I went to search for them.

If you can implement a tick to enable and add these temp Network drivers for testing under Quemu then that will allow the user to test the Network thing with Qemu. Untick that option when a person wants to include the other Real Hardware Drivers in his final Burned CD.

How would it work with VMware. Do we use our Real Hardware Drivers. If so then we can just use the Configure Network to point to the real Harware drivers. If I can find them. lol!


for the rtl8139 NIC, use netrtsnt.inf and rtl8139.sys (sorry, typo). I do not want to complicate things by adding an 'unneccesary' option. Less is more!

For VMWare, you have to use the VMWare drivers. They should be available from the VMWare page (sorry, i have NO idea (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif) )

@all: i'm working on a bugfix release. stay tuned (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheHive
post Sep 1 2006, 12:16 AM
Post #28


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,887
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 5



Well! we are going to be doing our main testing on our Virtual Machines so that option is not really a waist. Its more of a time saver. And the more options the more the user will be feeling like he can make changes to the final build.

Ok! I was able to find the netrtsnt.inf and rtl8139.sys this time in BartPE. Thanks!

Ill test with these drivers when you realease the update.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Martin 'drau...
post Sep 1 2006, 01:14 AM
Post #29


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 135
Joined: 17-July 06
From: South of Heaven
Member No.: 31



alpha2 released!
get it here

changes:
- only error messages which are inevitable should be left
- fixed a lot of typos
- network autostart works. But not hidden.
- rambooting is SERIOUSLY farked up at the moment. sorry guys! And help is appreciated.
- added regedit
- modpe.ini now saved to %targetdir% instead of %projectdir%. This gives a nice log for troubleshootig (in theory anyway)
- plenty of other things i can't quite remember cuz i'm tired and its late.

regarding network autostart: i use hidec to hide the network start scripts. hidec by itself (i.e. not as shell) works fine. but when i use hidec to call netstart.cmd, i get an lsass.exe error and a reboot loop (which means the shaell failed to start). Any thoughts as to why this happens?

networking and qemu/other VMs: i have not had success with qemu and enabling the rtl8139 nic yet. will try and figure it out for 0.0.3. The NE2000 card IS implemented by default in qemu, i just cant find the inf file.

and TheHive, you are wrong regarding more options. too many options is confusing and overwhelming (yes, i am stating this as fact, not opinion). Of course, options are neccesary (boring world otherwise), but in computing/programming/ui design, they also need to be relevant. And supporting every VM known to geekdom with network drivers IS irrelevant.

Sorry if I come across a little bit hard, TheHive. This is not intentional (i'm actually not ranting (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif) ). Just stating a fact and explaining my decision based on that fact. I know you are a designer, not a programmer, so no hard feelings (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)

//martin
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheHive
post Sep 1 2006, 03:07 AM
Post #30


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,887
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 5



QUOTE (Martin 'draugen' Anderse @ Aug 31 2006, 08:14 PM) *
changes:
- network autostart works. But not hidden.

For beta testing that is ok.

QUOTE
- rambooting is SERIOUSLY farked up at the moment. sorry guys! And help is appreciated.

Im not testing that yet. Not until a more stable ModPE is released.

QUOTE
- added regedit

Cant see, but ill take your word.

QUOTE
networking and qemu/other VMs: i have not had success with qemu and enabling the rtl8139 nic yet. will try and figure it out for 0.0.3. The NE2000 card IS implemented by default in qemu, i just cant find the inf file.

So i shoulnt expect Internet access Qemu right now.

QUOTE
and TheHive, you are wrong regarding more options. too many options is confusing and overwhelming (yes, i am stating this as fact, not opinion). Of course, options are neccesary (boring world otherwise), but in computing/programming/ui design, they also need to be relevant. And supporting every VM known to geekdom with network drivers IS irrelevant.
Have to disagree with that comment. Its not a fact. I agree with the gui needs to be relevant and usefull. I wasnt asking to support every VM Network driver. Just to implement the option to have the Network Driver option to wether to use the Nic Drivers for Qemu or not. Since Qemu is the VM we are mainly using to test all our projects. I was just asking what drivers I could use for VMware. My real hardware ones or some others. I had the impression that your network stuff was working on your side.

Actually more options are good. The thing is that the default options that the author makes to his program or Gui options should work out of the box. This is not possible sometimes with this type of Project because the user just needs 3 things to really configure to get these thing going. The Correct XP CD location, the BartPE folder, and the Network Drivers. The rest is on auto and should work.

But authors should include more options for those that like to tweak things even more. So far you have added alot of options to tweak things. So thats why im not asking for too many options to be added. Just 1 or 2 so far I think.

QUOTE
Sorry if I come across a little bit hard, TheHive. This is not intentional (i'm actually not ranting (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif) ). Just stating a fact and explaining my decision based on that fact. I know you are a designer, not a programmer, so no hard feelings (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
//martin


Well you can come acrross hard (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/whip.gif) . Its not a big deal. I will still test the Scripts (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/tabletalk.gif) . As long as you explain things and the direction your taking this project, it should be ok if we have a differece of points (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/starwars.gif) . Your facts are not always true (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/loleverybody.gif) .

(IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)

Now for some testing of the new release.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · Projects · Next Newest »
 

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic

Members Who Viewed Topic Today ()

 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th October 2007 - 11:10 AM

MKPortal ©2003-2006 mkportal.it