> Ways to Install Windows XP through network
romsempire
post Apr 11 2007, 01:10 PM
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 30-December 06
Member No.: 2,210



Hi all,

I would want to install windows xp through network.

I have read many posts about matter, so I have understant that it is possible with tftpd32.
So I have made this post in this section.

This is my problem.

I have a LAN with inside two PC (pc1 server and pc2 client) in workgroup, no domain.
I have a shared folder on pc1 I have named "share". Inside share there is my customed Windows XP cd.

Now on pc2 I would install my customed windows cd.
I know it is possible with PXE, but on pc1 and pc2 there aren't PXE compatible NIC, but the NIC is integrated on motherboards.
PC1 and PC2 are in a LAN with DHCP integrated in a router, so I cannot enable it in tftpd32 and insert linuxpxe.0


What are the ways to install windows XP on pc2?
By Win PE with winnt32 command? If yes, how?

If I want to use tftpd32 on pc1, how I can load a boot sector that contains a menu where I can chooose what I want to install or what I want to run like a multiboot menu?
For example I know that I can run Win PE on clients through pxe.
What is it possible with my network configuration?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Digg this topic Add to my del.icio.us 2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 9)
jaclaz
post Apr 11 2007, 02:03 PM
Post #2


Finder
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 1,247
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 2



Maube it's not what you need, but, not being at all an expert with RIS/PXE, etc., I found this to solve the problem I had once for a friend:
http://winner.windowsdream.com/

jaclaz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
romsempire
post Apr 11 2007, 02:34 PM
Post #3


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 30-December 06
Member No.: 2,210



QUOTE (jaclaz @ Apr 11 2007, 04:03 PM) *
Maube it's not what you need, but, not being at all an expert with RIS/PXE, etc., I found this to solve the problem I had once for a friend:
http://winner.windowsdream.com/

jaclaz



Thx jaclaz for your reply.
I have tried winner one year ago, but it didn't work.

I will retry.

Grazie.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Moon Goon
post Apr 11 2007, 03:22 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 196
Joined: 1-August 06
Member No.: 95



This might be an alternative:

http://davehope.co.uk/Projects/Miscellaneous-Bootdisk/

Advantage: Just need a properly set up share - no PXE
Disadvantages: Murky licensing. Probably need to install as FAT32. Need to find proper NIC drivers.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bilou_gateux
post May 12 2007, 05:46 PM
Post #5


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 52
Joined: 1-August 06
Member No.: 97



If you can run VMware Server (free) on the PC1 (which acts as a server), you can use Ultimate Deployment Alliance
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Aman Agarwal
post May 13 2007, 11:11 AM
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 13-May 07
Member No.: 7,025



needed some help...cause really confused....

i have 5 systems in my office in workgroup mode on lan...

at present i m using manual config on the systems,,,2,,access shares between pcs...

1 which is acting as a server has vista ultimate installed....rest has xp pro sp2...

i need 2 format all my 4 pcs and reinstall xpsp2 on all the 4.... via network....

since my server has a dvd writer,,,,so i want 2 use it 2 install xp on all 4....via lan.

when i checked my mobo bios,,, it supports boot from lan... when i enabled and restarted....

it said xpe started.... and it started 2 search dhcp...

but when it didnt find any dhcp server...it failed........

i have my own custom xpsp2 cd....whic i want 2 install.......

my lan cards are onboard....

so wot should i do for proper steps...2..installl xpsp2...

help needed...urgent...

thanx

aman agarwal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Artur
post Oct 18 2007, 12:55 AM
Post #7


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-October 07
Member No.: 11,328



People! Use Acronis Snap Deploy + Acronis Disk Director. There is built in PXE server.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Artur
post Oct 18 2007, 12:59 AM
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-October 07
Member No.: 11,328



Ppl. Use Acronis Snap Deploy server + Acronis Disk Director . It has built in PXE server.

cheers (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbup.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kloudfreak
post Oct 18 2007, 02:10 AM
Post #9


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 16-October 07
Member No.: 11,279



QUOTE (Artur @ Oct 18 2007, 12:55 AM) *
People! Use Acronis Snap Deploy + Acronis Disk Director. There is built in PXE server.

or save yourself $19.99 + $499.00 and use TFTPD32. There is a built in PXE server there as well. (IMG:http://www.boot-land.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jaclaz
post Oct 18 2007, 05:41 AM
Post #10


Finder
***

Group: Advanced user
Posts: 1,247
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 2



@Artur

If I may, not the best 2 first posts (second one was in a new thread titled "urgent" wich I deleted).

Are you a shareholder of Acronis?

If you have nothing constructive to do, you could take your time reading the Rules:
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.php?act=boardrules

jaclaz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · Tftpd32 · Next Newest »
 

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic

Members Who Viewed Topic Today ()

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th November 2007 - 02:03 AM

MKPortal ©2003-2006 mkportal.it