Hello dear guest!

Boot Land is a community driven pc software site established since 2006 and focused on recovery/backup boot disks, research of Microsoft Windows 2000/XP/2003/Vista/7 install/deployment/lease/antivirus/antispam tools, customizing Microsoft Windows PE administration systems and even learning how to recover computer data from disaster situations!

How about joining our boot disk community? So do it. Life's short!

  - You get free access to our newsletter with all the interesting buzz about boot disks
  - We share publicity revenue with everyone who wishes to participate at the forums
  - Publicity is never, never, never displayed to members (along with many other cool things)
http://boot-land.net/register


 
Reply to this topic
 ShellExecute - cmd problem
post May 15 2010, 09:00 PM
Post #1
MedEvil
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 29-December 06
Posts: 5,146
Thank(s): 145


I have a little problem getting a command to work. Something's wrong.
It is suppose to work with and without spaces in the pathname.
So far i can only have one or the other. Below is the one i thought should work regardless.

ShellExecute,open,"cmd.exe","/k #$q%ProjectDir%\Read.exe#$q > #$q%ProjectDir%\parameters.txt#$q"

Also tryed:

ShellExecute,open,"#$q%ProjectDir%\Read.exe#$q","> #$q%ProjectDir%\parameters.txt#$q"

Same result. Nothing is written to parameters.txt.

cheers.gif


--------------------
NaughtyPE - The Multimedia PE!
Requirements: WinBuilder080, XPSP2/W2k3SP1 source, Pentium CPU, 128MB RAM (256MB to use video players)


+Quote Post
post May 15 2010, 09:06 PM
Post #2
psc
Guru   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 14-July 06 From: Korschenbroich

Posts: 9,611
Thank(s): 637


Germany


Please tell me: Which WB version?

Peter


--------------------
Build the house starting with the basement rather than with the roof! But always have in mind how the roof should be made!

There are very rarely problems, in most cases there are issues.

There are never stupid questions, there can be only stupid answers.

It does not make much sence to heal the symptoms of an illness. You must heal the illness!
+Quote Post
post May 15 2010, 09:10 PM
Post #3
MedEvil
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 29-December 06
Posts: 5,146
Thank(s): 145


WB080SP3

cheers.gif


--------------------
NaughtyPE - The Multimedia PE!
Requirements: WinBuilder080, XPSP2/W2k3SP1 source, Pentium CPU, 128MB RAM (256MB to use video players)
+Quote Post
post May 15 2010, 09:14 PM
Post #4
psc
Guru   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 14-July 06 From: Korschenbroich

Posts: 9,611
Thank(s): 637


Germany


QUOTE (MedEvil @ May 15 2010, 10:10 PM) *
WB080SP3

cheers.gif

Allow me to check tomorrow. Now it's late enough (and I'm viewing TV about Bayern / Werder etc. ...)

Peter cheers.gif


--------------------
Build the house starting with the basement rather than with the roof! But always have in mind how the roof should be made!

There are very rarely problems, in most cases there are issues.

There are never stupid questions, there can be only stupid answers.

It does not make much sence to heal the symptoms of an illness. You must heal the illness!
+Quote Post
post May 15 2010, 09:22 PM
Post #5
MedEvil
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 29-December 06
Posts: 5,146
Thank(s): 145


[german]
Wenn's denn sein muß. laugh.gif
[/german]

ok.

cheers.gif


--------------------
NaughtyPE - The Multimedia PE!
Requirements: WinBuilder080, XPSP2/W2k3SP1 source, Pentium CPU, 128MB RAM (256MB to use video players)
+Quote Post
post May 16 2010, 08:53 AM
Post #6
psc
Guru   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 14-July 06 From: Korschenbroich

Posts: 9,611
Thank(s): 637


Germany


Sorry, for me this seems NOT to be a WinBuilder issue.

Execute manually the command ShellExecute processes (use your paths):

CODE
cmd /k "V:\wb\wb debug !\Projects\nativeEx_barebone\Read.exe" > "V:\wb\wb debug !\Projects\nativeEx_barebone\parameters.txt"


Billy the Door has some concerns when the path contains a space.

Peter


--------------------
Build the house starting with the basement rather than with the roof! But always have in mind how the roof should be made!

There are very rarely problems, in most cases there are issues.

There are never stupid questions, there can be only stupid answers.

It does not make much sence to heal the symptoms of an illness. You must heal the illness!
+Quote Post
post May 16 2010, 09:30 AM
Post #7
psc
Guru   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 14-July 06 From: Korschenbroich

Posts: 9,611
Thank(s): 637


Germany


This works in 081 with your intended result: roll1.gif
CODE
StrFormat,LEFT,%ProjectDir%,2,%Drive%
Set,%cmd%,%Drive% &CD #$q%ProjectDir%#$q &Read.exe > parameters.txt
ShellExecute,open,cmd.exe,/k %cmd%"

in 080 you have to use quotes where necessary.
Peter


--------------------
Build the house starting with the basement rather than with the roof! But always have in mind how the roof should be made!

There are very rarely problems, in most cases there are issues.

There are never stupid questions, there can be only stupid answers.

It does not make much sence to heal the symptoms of an illness. You must heal the illness!
+Quote Post
post May 16 2010, 11:06 AM
Post #8
MedEvil
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 29-December 06
Posts: 5,146
Thank(s): 145


So it's like i said, i need to have one command working with spaces and another one to work without spaces. No way to have one command covering both?

Any idea, why the command works regardless of space / no space, when run from a bat file?

cheers.gif


--------------------
NaughtyPE - The Multimedia PE!
Requirements: WinBuilder080, XPSP2/W2k3SP1 source, Pentium CPU, 128MB RAM (256MB to use video players)
+Quote Post
post May 16 2010, 02:39 PM
Post #9
psc
Guru   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 14-July 06 From: Korschenbroich

Posts: 9,611
Thank(s): 637


Germany


QUOTE (MedEvil @ May 16 2010, 01:06 PM) *
No way to have one command covering both?

The code I gave above, works for BOTH cases! smart.gif

Peter


--------------------
Build the house starting with the basement rather than with the roof! But always have in mind how the roof should be made!

There are very rarely problems, in most cases there are issues.

There are never stupid questions, there can be only stupid answers.

It does not make much sence to heal the symptoms of an illness. You must heal the illness!
+Quote Post
post May 16 2010, 05:14 PM
Post #10
MedEvil
Platinum Member   ******
Group: .script developer

  Joined: 29-December 06
Posts: 5,146
Thank(s): 145


It was unfortuanete, that i over simplyfied the problem in the example. The exe and the txt file are not in the same folder or i would need to write to the tools folder.

cheers.gif


--------------------
NaughtyPE - The Multimedia PE!
Requirements: WinBuilder080, XPSP2/W2k3SP1 source, Pentium CPU, 128MB RAM (256MB to use video players)
+Quote Post

Reply to this topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic ()



Collapse

  Topic Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No New Posts Problem installing FiraDisk on xp-sp3
7 ccuappz 394 1st June 2010 - 05:52 AM
Last post by: ccuappz
No new Topic has attachmentsProblem loading MBR with TrueCrypt Loader
18 admit 4,556 26th May 2010 - 10:30 AM
Last post by: sebus
No New Posts Problem compiling under windows xp
6 stonesonnow 446 25th May 2010 - 10:43 AM
Last post by: stonesonnow
No New Posts Problem booting a Win XP image with MEMDISK (almost there)
4 jmoutinho 835 6th April 2010 - 10:30 AM
Last post by: jmoutinho
No New Posts Problem with LAN
3 dzihao 400 26th March 2010 - 12:52 PM
Last post by: Wonko the Sane







  
Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum