Digg this topic Add to my del.icio.us Submit to SlashDot  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Interface, Component overwritten by new one
psc
post Oct 27 2006, 10:28 AM
Post #1


Guru
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 3,042
Joined: 14-July 06
From: Korschenbroich, Germany
Member No.: 3


Germany


I have an interface like
CODE
[Interface]
pButton1="Save Options",1,8,12,40,90,27,Save-Options
pButton2="Restore Options",1,8,12,136,90,27,Restore-Options
pTextLabel1="Save your options after you have changed them.",1,1,12,13,372,18,9,Bold
pTextLabel2="Restore your options after you switched to a different project, or after download of scripts.",1,1,12,91,330,33,9,Bold
pCheckBox5="Merge Options of all Scripts",1,3,138,127,200,18,True
pCheckBox1="Merge WinBuilder.ini Main Section *",1,3,138,148,200,18,True
pCheckBox2="Merge WinBuilder.ini Variables *",1,3,138,166,200,18,True
pCheckBox3="Merge Project's Paths *",1,3,138,184,200,18,True
pCheckBox4="Merge Project's Variables *",1,3,138,205,200,18,True
...

and it looks:



Then I add a checkbox and get



with
CODE
[Interface]
pButton1="Save Options",1,8,12,40,90,27,Save-Options
pButton2="Restore Options",1,8,12,136,90,27,Restore-Options
pTextLabel1="Save your options after you have changed them.",1,1,12,13,372,18,9,Bold
pTextLabel2="Restore your options after you switched to a different project, or after download of scripts.",1,1,12,91,330,33,9,Bold
pCheckBox5=pCheckBox5,1,3,12,40,200,18,True
pCheckBox1="Merge WinBuilder.ini Main Section *",1,3,138,148,200,18,True
pCheckBox2="Merge WinBuilder.ini Variables *",1,3,138,166,200,18,True
pCheckBox3="Merge Project's Paths *",1,3,138,184,200,18,True
pCheckBox4="Merge Project's Variables *",1,3,138,205,200,18,True
...


The new pCheckBox5 overwrotes the old one! (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbdown.gif)

Peter
Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
Attached Image
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nuno Brito
post Oct 27 2006, 11:50 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,203
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


Try this:

CODE
[Interface]
...
pCheckBox1="Merge WinBuilder.ini Main Section *",1,3,138,148,200,18,True
pCheckBox2="Merge WinBuilder.ini Variables *",1,3,138,166,200,18,True
pCheckBox3="Merge Project's Paths *",1,3,138,184,200,18,True
pCheckBox4="Merge Project's Variables *",1,3,138,205,200,18,True
pCheckBox5="Merge Options of all Scripts",1,3,138,127,200,18,True
...


In numeric sequence it *should* work fine, you can also change "pCheckBox" to any other name to avoid override.

I initially coded the interface to be handled only by GUI, not in a manual fashion (still needs to predict this behavior) so winbuilder by default will always work with them in sequence. If you add pCheckBox5 and then it finds pCheckBox1 on the next line it will continue the numeration incrementing from this last number.


The complete checkbox object interface syntax is as follows:

CODE
pCheckBox5="Merge Options of all Scripts",1,3,138,127,200,18,True



pCheckBox5: name of variable
Merge Options of all Scripts": title
1: 1=enabled 0=disabled (visible or not..)
3: type of object (3=checkbox, 8=button..)
138,127,200,18: coordinates (x,y,xx,yy)
True: state of the checkbox (true/false)


I hope this works, I try to fix it quickly once I get some more time (but I've copied this onto my to'do list..) (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbup.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smiley
post Oct 28 2006, 09:28 AM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 1,014
Joined: 11-August 06
Member No.: 149


Greece


QUOTE(Nuno Brito @ Oct 28 2006, 02:50 AM) *

I initially coded the interface to be handled only by GUI, not in a manual fashion (still needs to predict this behavior) so winbuilder by default will always work with them in sequence. If you add pCheckBox5 and then it finds pCheckBox1 on the next line it will continue the numeration incrementing from this last number.
The complete checkbox object interface syntax is as follows:


I had the same problems but using Winbuilder gui. The strange thing is that if I manually edit the script it works OK but sometimes when adding controls, some are overwriten.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nuno Brito
post Oct 28 2006, 10:16 AM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,203
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


Ok, will work on this! (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pedrole15
post Nov 1 2006, 10:00 AM
Post #5


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 224
Joined: 18-August 06
Member No.: 183


France


QUOTE(Nuno Brito @ Oct 28 2006, 11:16 AM) *

Ok, will work on this! (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif)

I rename object in an other editor like this and it is more esay to understand the code
pTextBox1 -----> TextBoxScriptName
pFileBox1 ------> FileBoxLogo

In MakeScript
[Interface]
TextBoxScriptName="Script Name",1,0,33,30,198,21,IrfanView2
FileBoxSourceProgram=E:\WB_Source\Applications\IrfanView\i_view32.exe,1,13,109,82,372,28,file
CheckBoxEncode="Encode files in Script",1,3,513,13,123,18,True
CheckBoxAddShortcut="Add ShortCut",1,3,514,34,96,18,True
CheckBoxAddRunFromCD="Add option ""Run from CD""",1,3,515,55,147,18,False
CheckBoxCleanTargetCD="Cleanup TargetCD in : %BaseDir%\CDPrograms",1,3,12,538,261,18,True
CheckBoxAsso1=1,1,3,341,179,40,18,True
TextBoxAsso1=,1,0,382,178,100,18,.bmp
TextBoxAsso2=,1,0,382,200,100,18,
CheckBoxNoLink="Don't make Link and save in %ProjectDir%\Test",1,3,12,487,258,18,True
FileBoxLogo=E:\WB_Source\Applications\IrfanView\i_view32.ico,1,13,110,119,372,28,file
FileBoxMenu2=,1,13,616,157,201,27,file
FileBoxMenu3=,1,13,615,192,201,27,file
FileBoxMenu4=,1,13,615,228,201,27,file
FileBoxMenu5=,1,13,615,264,201,27,file
FileBoxMenu6=,1,13,615,300,201,27,file
RadioButtonAssociation1="All for menu 1",1,11,523,397,90,21,true
RadioButtonAssociation2="8 / 7 ",1,11,523,418,60,21,false
RadioButtonAssociation3="8 / 4 / 3",1,11,524,439,78,18,false
RadioButtonAssociation4="4 / 4 / 4 / 3 ",1,11,524,459,78,21,false
TextBoxMenu2="Menu 2",1,0,510,161,100,21,
TextBoxMenu3="Menu 3",1,0,510,197,100,21,
TextBoxMenu4="Menu 4",1,0,510,233,100,21,
TextBoxMenu5="Menu 5",1,0,510,269,100,21,
TextBoxMenu6="Menu 6",1,0,510,305,100,21,
CheckBoxShowAssociation="Show in Interface",1,3,341,511,144,18,True
CheckBoxMkscript="Don't make Mkscript.txt ( So you can edit it )",1,3,502,511,273,18,False
CheckBoxShowOtherMenu="Show in Interface",1,3,582,130,117,18,True
CheckBoxRWMksCvrt="Rewrite the ""MksCvrt.au3""",1,3,162,514,159,18,True
CheckBoxDelTemp="Delete Temp folder",1,3,12,514,117,18,False
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
edborg
post Nov 16 2006, 12:00 PM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 259
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 4



I don't want to make any more pressure on this subject, but the interface problem is quite annoying when dealing with complex interfaces, and can't be solved with the workarounds described above. (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)
Even avoiding to alter the numeric sequence when adding boxes (not so convenient, though), if one simply tries to make an almost correctly displayed script more readable by resizing the boxes, everything gets mixed up (see attachment). (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbdown.gif)
The same happens (sometimes!?) if a certain number of boxes are flagged/unflagged.
Looking into the code and comparing the scripts before and after with WinMerge I noticed that many location entries like:
CODE
pCheckBox30="Show shadows under menus",1,3,350,445,200,18,True

are arbitrarily and noticeably changed, not only adjusted, thereby causing the overwriting. (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)
edborg
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Explorer_shell_TWEAKS_and_SETTINGS.script ( 30.16k ) Number of downloads: 15
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nuno Brito
post Nov 16 2006, 12:07 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: .script developer
Posts: 4,203
Joined: 13-July 06
From: Azores
Member No.: 1


Portugal


It's not pressure - I see it as part of the code that needs to be completely debugged to reach a much more stable behavior on these "complex" scripts..

The idea is to treat this script is a more effective way, at this moment the code was not ready for such intensive use, but this can be solved with all this feedback - thanks for reporting!! (IMG:../forums/style_emoticons/default/cheers.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
« Next Oldest · Support and Bug reporting · Next Newest »
 

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic

Collapse

> Similar Topics

  Topic Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No New Posts [WB Bug] Loading image into interface element does not work
6 booty#1 217 24th September 2007 - 11:13 AM
Last post by: booty#1
No New Posts Server interface
Can't choose my second NIC interface
1 Alain13 263 18th September 2007 - 10:46 AM
Last post by: Alain13
No New Posts GUI interface issue
Special character handling
3 psc 321 12th June 2007 - 07:33 PM
Last post by: Nuno Brito
No new Creating shortcuts using interface
Help needed
17 h7se 726 8th June 2007 - 10:00 PM
Last post by: Nuno Brito
No New Posts Topic has attachmentsSome more tweaking to gui interface
2 TheHive 520 7th June 2007 - 06:07 PM
Last post by: TheHive


 

Display Mode: Standard · Switch to: Linear+ · Switch to: Outline

Track this topic · Email this topic · Print this topic · Subscribe to this forum

- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th October 2007 - 10:44 PM

MKPortal ©2003-2006 mkportal.it